We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
243
490
263
90
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
490
263
90
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwelcome drinkshopping streetconvenient locationexcellent locationvienna airportvisiting viennacity centrewienmariahilferstrassereachablestopsconveniencereceptionistconcertkettleeuros
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hmmm...I thought to start with 2*, but finally decided to top it up with an additional star. Been here several times on business trips and with the family, and finally I have a solid opinion!

The pros:
- Breakfast is rich and the decor of the dining room is nice
- Collection of nights on A club
- 5 minutes walk from the underground (U Bahn), 7 minutes walk from the Mariahilfer (shopping district)

The cons:
- No connected rooms for families
- Corridors are smelly
- Internet connection breaks, in some of the rooms there is no internet
- Rooms facing the main road (Guertel) are noisy
- Lack of staff in the reception (1-2 max), you always wait
- The bar is right at the entrance of the hotel and often very noisy in the reception area
- Very old lift with a long journey to get to it and 4 stairs (you need to lift your luggage)
- The area for families with young children is not that great (hookers in the area of the hotel)
- No gym
- No irons in the rooms, there is a funny ironing room some where in the hotel

So the bottom line, if it would not be for our corporate account I have, surely I would not stay here. It will certainly NOT destroy your visit in Vienna if you choose to stay here, but I think we should just expect more from a stay if for business or pleasure.

If you do vote to stay to give it a try, ask for the rooms in the 5th floor, which are less noisy and try to get the one facing the internal garden.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristoffSeibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Mercure Hotel Wien Westbahnhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristoffSeibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChristoffSeibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel is conveniently located close to U3 metro station, Westbahnhof and Mariahilferstrasse which makes it good choice for tourists.
Rooms are not very big, but have been recently refurbished and are clean and comfortable with all neccessary amenities. Unfortunately there is no free WiFi.
Breakfast is ok, however it tends to get quite busy in the restaurants due to tourist groups that are often staying in this hotel.
If you are coming by car, hotel garage is available at 15 EUR charge per day.
All in all, hotel offers good value of money and I would recommend it especially for tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank January27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristoffSeibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Booking online has several advantages: benefit from the Mercure best-price guarantee, collect Le Club Accorhotels points and save money with our special offers and promotions. Try it now. And whenever you like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It was our second trip to Vienna, so we knew this hotel had the perfect location for us. We just got off the airport bus, crossed the street and entered the reception hall.
Mercure Wesbahnhof is also very close to metro and only a twenty minutes walk along Mariahilferstrasse from the historical center of Vienna.
The check in was fast and easy. The pretty girl at the reception desk gave us a room with a view towards the boulevard, as we demanded. She was worried we'd be bothered by the noise, but told her we really don't mind it, we are used to it :)
The room was pretty and spacious enough, the bathroom was very well equipped and our superior room provided tea and coffee facilities, which I very much enjoyed. The wardrobe is not big enough for two persons with heavy winter cloths, but we managed.
We absolutely loved the breakfast. We had so much to choose from, including champagne(!!!) and everything was fresh and delicious. I haven't eaten so much apfelstrudel in my life. Actually, I never liked it too much until now. Great recipe they've got there! Also admired the women that took care of the breakfast room. They were so fast and helpful and always with a smile upon their friendly faces.
I can't end this review without telling about the unpleasant part of our holiday at Mercure.
Although we had free wi-fi in our superior room, we did not use it much, as it did not work well enough in our room on the second floor. We asked the man at the reception desk for help, but we only god rude answers. We also complained about the tv set which only worked for a few minutes, each time we turned it on and then just froze. But the problem was not solved before our check out. So we had a... bitter tehnical experience at Mercure Wesbahnhof.
But I would like to end it in a positive tone, because all in all, we had a positive experience there. The elder man at the reception desk was absolutely great. He was surrounded by people demanding something, checking in or checking out like we did. He solved everything smiling and very politely, speaking about four languages at the same time :)

Room Tip: Don't be worried if you get a room with a boulevard view. The window keeps the noise outside.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristoffSeibert, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Elena!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Mercure Wien Westbahnhof

Booking online has several advantages: benefit from the Mercure best-price guarantee, collect Le Club Accorhotels points and save money with our special offers and promotions. Try it now. And whenever you like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews