We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£63
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Mar
Mercure
£72
ZenHotels.com
£55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveller rating
327
587
325
111
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
587
325
111
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station shopping street convenient location excellent location minute walk public transport wien city mariahilferstrasse kettle supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The hotel is located close to the Westbanhoff railway station which is easily reached by bus from the airport (45 minutes 6euro50). It is a comfortable 20~30 minute walk to most of Vienna's attractions. Local restaurants offer great value for money. Rooms are comfortable and the A/C actually works quite well.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkHuber, Manager at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Gordon W,

thank you very much for sharing your comment on your stay to our Mercure Wien Westbahnhof.
We are delighted that you gave us the highest ratings in almost all categories. It is always a pleasure to receive complimets our guest's.

My Team and I are looking forward to welcome you again soon on your next visit to Vienna.

Best regards,
Mark Huber
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

The staff is nice and kind, very helpful on recommendations and directions.
Room was clean and roomy, the bed wasn't very comfortable. Not all rooms has air condition, be sure to order a room with air condition in the summer.
One minute walk from the urban train.

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank 63mayag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkHuber, Manager at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear 63mayag,

thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you have liked us. I hope your next visit will be also such good as this one.

I am looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Mark Huber
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

This hotel gives you good basic comfort and value for money, without going through the roof. Rooms are ok but the elevator could'nt take more than 3 or 4 people at a time. Staff is very friendly and helpful but quality of the restaurant (incl breakfast buffet) is good but othing special.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TomCarnewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkHuber, Manager at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Tom C,

thank you for sharing your comments. I am glad to hear that, all in all, you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you as well for telling us about the things we could improve - especially the breakfast which is of course a key element to start a day - doesn't matter if business or pleasure.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely yours,
Mark Huber
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I'm a big fan of Mercure Hotels in Europe, UK Mercures are too expensive, but European ones are good value.
This one is in a very good location, very handy for Vienna's excellent public transport system.
Staff are superb, the room was very clean and comfortable. The menu was rather basic but plenty of places nearby to eat.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkHuber, Manager at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear Pete S,

thank you very much for your feedback I am very happy to read that you liked us. Your word are the best motivation for us. I hope your next visit will be even better than this one.

I am looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,
Mark Huber
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

...good in parts.

It's easy to find, only 200 yards from the airport coach stop outside the Westbahnhof railway station. (Find the bus number 1 outside the terminal, at 13 euros for a return ticket. Busses every half hour. Travel time around 45 minutes inbound, but a little longer outbound). Very close to train, tram and underground stops.

The staff are welcoming, and the reception area is clean and pleasant. Check in was fast and efficient. We (couple with 11 year old daughter) had booked a "superior room" for a week, but were upgraded to a "privilege room" on our gold card. Sounds good, however the downside is that standard, superior and privilege rooms seem to be all the same size: small to claustrophobic! By the time you fit in a child bed there is virtually no room to move. A one foot gap between the bed and the wall, and no gap between the bed and the child bed, or the child bed and the wall! The hotel's photographs are deceptive, and the second bedside table has to be removed as there is no space for it.

The room and fittings are past their sell by date: furniture is a little worn, and the chair had a frayed arm. Generally in need of a refit. One small window (which could be opened fully, but needed to be locked for security as there is a fire escape outside), with a view of the backs of other rooms. The bathroom is surprisingly a decent size, and in better condition. Hair dryer, shaving mirror, a decent shower over the bath, plenty of towels, plenty of products. Empty minibar fridge, and two free bottles of mineral water.

One dangerous and stupid aspect of the room's design is the safe. The bottom of the door to the cupboard which houses the safe is just above eye level, and when left open covers the whole of the narrow corridor past the end of the beds. Each one of us walked into it on several occasions, as well as other close shaves. It would have been so easy to locate the TV on an arm on the wall, and have the safe cupboard at a sensible height. Plenty of TV channels, but news only in English. Cleaning routines good, with friendly staff.

Breakfast was reasonable, if repetitive, but included in our room rate. Decent coffee from automatic machines. Good fruit juices. Hot eggs (scrambled or boiled), sausages, bacon and noodles. Cold cheeses, fruits, various vegetables, yoghurts, breads and cakes. Efficient staff. It pays to take note of the advertised busy times.

Two incidents rather soured our opinion of this hotel. I asked for a late checkout, which is complimentary with a gold card. When we returned to our room on the last day the key cards didn't work. Reception reprogrammed our cards, but didn't apologise for their earlier failure to do this when the late check out was booked. In my book poor staff training isn't excused by covering for colleagues: explain, apologise, correct.

The second incident suggests that the hotel's management has some work to do. My wife and daughter decided to use the sauna, and had brought swimming costumes. After a few minutes in the sauna, they were joined by a man who, upon seeing them, removed his towel, leaving himself naked. My wife and daughter quickly left. When we asked reception what the dress code was for the sauna, we were told there was none. We then asked why there were not notices warning guests of the possible issues surrounding the lack of a dress code, but there was no meaningful response. Some concern was shown, and we were told management were involved, but we never received any further answer. Very poor guest relations.

Room tip: Street views may be noisy.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIKRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarkHuber, Manager at Hotel Mercure Wien Westbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear WIKRoberts,

Thank you for giving such a detailed report on your stay at Mercure Wien Westbahnhof. I am sorry that we did not meet all your expectations during your time of stay. Thank you for pointing out were we can still improve. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures.

Truly, it is common in Austria, there is no dresscode in the sauna. However, you are right we could have an infomation on that. I am sorry for the inconveniences.
Let me use this opportunity to express my apologies to your wife and doughter.

Altough what you describe does not reflect the quality of service we stand for and what you may well expect from us. Please be sure that we will use your comment to address the described together with our department heads and teams so that something like this will not occur again.

I hope you will give us one more chance to prove we could be better.

I am looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerelly,
Mark Huber
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews