We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Altwienerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altwienerhof
Ranked #146 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Been there 2 nights in July 2012. The hotel is located outside from the old city, but it can be easily reached by bus ride or subway. Subway line is 50 meters from hotel, but the subway line there not passing via center of city.
Bus was a great ride: 15-20 minutes and you close to Opera. Bus stop is aside from the subway station.
Rooms are big and have charm. Clean. Wi-fi was in the lobby only, to oget signal to room on 2 floor was impossible.
Breakfast was included. Good touch to start the day.
Best part is a reception stuff. Guy from reception solved all issues we had. Very good job

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is quite unique being decorated in an old fashioned style that really gives you a taste of what life in Vienna used to be like. I've rated each key point separately on a 1-10 scale and explained my thoughts:
-Location: 9/10
The hotel is located in the center of Vienna, at about 5-10 minutes walking distance from Mariahilfer Str.. There's also a subway station at 2 minutes walking distance so you can get pretty much anywhere very easily.
-Accommodation: 9.5/10
As soon as you walk into the hotel you will be very pleasantly surprised by the old fashioned but very stylish interior design and decorations. Rooms are very spacious and clean and each of them is somewhat unique being decorated with genuine antiquities that really give the place a great vintage feeling. If you like experiencing cities with tradition as they once were you are going to love this place. Bathrooms are very clean and well equipped with everything you need. Also there is free wireless internet both in the lobby and the rooms.
The hotel also has a small interior yard with a beautiful garden where you can relax and enjoy a beer or a glass of wine.
-Staff: 10/10
The hotel staff is simply great. The manager is a very open and friendly guy that will gladly help you with anything you need, give you advice regarding tourist objectives, restaurants, bars and anything else you might need. If you somehow do manage to ask him something he doesn't know he will gladly look it up online for you (or you can use the computer in the lobby to do it yourself). He speaks english, german, french, italian and romanian and usually handles the reception. The other receptionists are very open and helpful as well and from what i've seen speak at least 3 languages (english, german and french). Overall very professional yet very friendly staff that won't disappoint you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VictorNeamtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel provided what its name suggests. The decoration and furniture were old fashioned and stylish. The hotel seemed to be run by a family, which gave it an extra friendly touch. We were very warmly welcomed. Breakfast was good. As someone already noted here, they are very eager to fill you with information about Austrian wines.

The hotel is outside the Gürtel which means that travel to city centre will take some time even if there are metro and bus stops near by. The wireless did not work in the rooms. In any case, the hotel provided really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeppoTulppu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good location, very close to the tube, large rooms, tidy and nice. Great staff! If you have to spend a weekend in wien this hotel is perfect! And the prices are very good too!!!!We spent a very nice time there!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriagrancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hotels in the Inner Ring are very expensive so we chose the Altwienerhof, located in the city's 15th district, as a more modest alternative, knowing that Vienna's excellent transport system would quickly get us anywhere we wanted in the centre.

It was a great surprise when we first entered the hotel, it being much better than I expected. It's a two-minute walk from a Metro stop and the lobby is very bright and airy. Our room on the second floor (a deluxe double for Euro 77/night including breakfast) was absolutely enormous, more like a suite. There was a living room with sofa and table, then the bedroom with air-conditioning and cable TV, and the huge bathroom had both a shower stall and a large bathtub. We had a view from the window down to the pretty garden where breakfast is served in good weather (unfortunately it was rainy and grey all three nights we stayed and breakfast was served indoors).

Breakfast was very good, with juices, yoghurt, cereals, excellent coffee, boiled eggs, yummy fresh breads, jams and fruit. The front desk was very helpful with maps and directions, and they were kind enough to give us a late check-out as our flight wasn't until the evening.

The transport system is really fantastic and so we could get to all sights in the Ring in about 15 minutes or so. Buy a 72-hour or weekly pass (Euro 14) which is great value and can be used for the metro, trams and buses. We liked the Altwienerhof very much and think it should be ranked much higher, though if you want to stay only in the centre this is not your place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelGTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

staff were very friendly, helpful and a great source of tourist information. our Suite was very large and extremely comfortable. the breakfast was good. lovely communal courtyard to eat breakfast in and generally relax at any time. extremely close to train station.
10-15 minute walk to main shopping strip (Mariahilfer Strasse)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetters000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Absolutely everything about our two nights in this hotel was wonderful. We were greeted by the owner who offered us a glass of wine after our long day. The long day turned into a long night when we met another guest in the comfortable lobby and chatted with him and the owner late into the evening. When we all grudgingly went back to our rooms, the bed was so comfortable and the decor so beautiful... we really felt spoiled.
Breakfast was lovely and the morning front-desk worker was very friendly (and spoke excellent English, along with the rest of the staff), helping us to navigate our way through what to do in such a short time in Vienna. We followed her and the owner's recommendations and had a great time. That evening the owner showed us his beautiful wine cellar before we collapsed happily into our comfortable bed.
We had to leave very early in the morning, and the owner arranged (without our request) to have breakfast ready for us at 5. This was truly unexpected and we were very grateful.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and hope to go back someday. When we someday return to Vienna, this will be the only hotel we'll stay at.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
631 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#113 of 359 in Vienna
907 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#149 of 359 in Vienna
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,146 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#93 of 359 in Vienna
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altwienerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altwienerhof

Address: Herklotzgasse 6, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Vienna
#56 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £54 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altwienerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Altwienerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altwienerhof Hotel Vienna
Altwienerhof Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing