We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altwienerhof
Nearby Hotels
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$160
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$346
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Renaissance Wien Hotel(Vienna)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$146
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$289
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveller rating
201
202
59
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
202
59
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationgumpendorfer strassecourtyard gardenold world charmsitting roomspacious roomcity centrethe hotel managerreception areahotel is locatedenjoyed our stayminute walkpublic transportan upgradeyogurtbreakfast was excellentfurniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 482 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked this hotel for a short break while visiting family in the UK. We chose it for the local character and not being part of a global chain. We were not disappointed! Of course we had to choose a time when a heat wave had hit Vienna so the lack of aircon had us sweating for the duration of our stay but the lovely garden area where you could take your breakfast or just enjoy a good coffee more than made up for the discomfort at night.
Our host was extremely helpful with recommendations of local eateries and also with the very efficient U- Bahn which was only 50 metres away from the hotel and with few changes took us to the hectic centre of Vienna ( being the height of the tourist season).
We loved it. Thanks Panus!

Room Tip: Our room faced west so when we returned from our outings in the late afternoon our room was like an oven!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyColoundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This beautiful hotel had bags of character (painted ceilings in the breakfast room, beautiful marble floors, large pleasant rose garden, old Viennese furniture). I stayed here with my daughter on a trip to celebrate her 18th. We had a large double room with shower room (great shower) and separate toilet, all very clean and neat, comfortable and we certainly didn't find it noisy.
This hotel is a little way out as some have said, but very easy to get to - Airport bus to Westbahnhof and then one stop on the brown tube line (U6) south to Gumpendorferstrasse. Don't get out of the bus too early, at Meidling, as we did - as you will have to get the tube from a different direction. When you get out of the tube make sure you exit the station on the correct side to save yourself walking a long way up the wrong road like we did! You should be able to see a zebra crossing with a small pizza shop opposite and to the right of that a bar boasting of its "schattiger Garten".
The only problems were very small - we couldn't get the wi-fi to work and also the tv didn't seem to come on at all - we did mention the tv to the host but he told us it should be fine and we thought it was probably just us. Same with the wi-fi which we didn't mention as it could have been us being untechnical - and anyway wasn't that important - who needs tv and wi-fi on holiday in Vienna?!
The room was not airconditioned so if you arrive during a heatwave like we did, you're going to be too hot. That wasn't the hotel's fault of course, but we weren't expecting to escape the English weather to that extent!. But in the evening it was lovely to come back to a complementary glass of wine as we did, apparently there is a great wine cellar there and wines are available for sale at this hotel although I didn't have time to check it out/buy any.
Had a fabulous time, saw everything we wanted to - Vienna is compact and easy to get around although quite hard to find places among the little streets - we had a terrible time locating the Spanish Riding School and had to ask about 5 people for directions when we were only 30 yards away! I recommend the Schoenbrunn, the Riding School, Belvedere ( very rude waiter who could have done with a lesson in politeness from the lovely Altwienerhof staff) the Kapuziner crypt and the St Stefan's tower. Fantastic, and thoroughly recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Might be good to ask for a twin room if you want one - my daughter and I didn't mind having a very large double bed, but you might if you were just friends! The website we booked on (Otel.com) did not offer that option.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaSanseverina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel was okay. Lovely old-fashioned furniture and decoration. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff really friendly! My room for one person was very, very small but it was clean and the bathroom was of a good size. Only thing I didn't like about the room was that the walls seemed very thin, I could hear noises from the next rooms very clearly.

Best part about the hotel was the location. Even though it's not near the city center it's right next to a U-bahn station and a walking distance from Schönbrunn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Once you get to know the u-bahn and the tram system, this hotel comes into its own. e.g. By jumping on the 57A tram you're taken straight to the Museum Quarter.
The hotel itself is in need of some sprucing but I hope not modernisation as it is this which provides lots of charm. We had 3 rooms including 2 suites and a single. The single was tiny & compact but as it was only being used for sleeping and was far cheaper this was no problem. The suites were great for being able to just relax and enjoy being in the city - a real home from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juvejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is old but very clean and very well appointed. The staff is extraordinarily helpful. The location is a bit out of the way but very close to the U-Bahn. It only takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the Ringstrasse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews