We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but worth it”
Review of Altwienerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altwienerhof
Ranked #143 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here based on previous reviews of this hotel. Without a doubt, I would stay here again-that's why I gave it five stars. The hotel is a two minute walk to the Gumperdorferstrasse train station. In just a few stops, you're at the heart of Vienna. We stayed in June, but it was cool and rainy so we didn't need the a/c. The concierge was so helpful, he gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the neighborhoods surrounding Vienna's city center. I thought the room was rather large for European style hotel room-the two of us and our large suitcases fit quite comfortably. There is WiFi for free, which we occasionally used. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The free breakfast was good. For the price we paid, I truly have no complaints. While it's not in the city center, the metro station is so close that it's worth the walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location is excellent: near a subway station, 10 min by walking to Mariahilfer Straße, friendly staff, very good breakfast, but no air conditioning and no refrigerators (not recommended to come here during hot summers). But otherwise, an old style hotel with a special charm.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manuela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Near to metro and central street. There are many markets and cafes around hotel. Hotel rooms are very clean and comfortable, but there is no AC. WiFi connection is free. Breakfast is good, especially sausages :) You can also save your money and documents in security box, it is free of charge

Room Tip: Select rooms with private bathroom/toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashid_Mammadzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked this hotel for a short break while visiting family in the UK. We chose it for the local character and not being part of a global chain. We were not disappointed! Of course we had to choose a time when a heat wave had hit Vienna so the lack of aircon had us sweating for the duration of our stay but the lovely garden area where you could take your breakfast or just enjoy a good coffee more than made up for the discomfort at night.
Our host was extremely helpful with recommendations of local eateries and also with the very efficient U- Bahn which was only 50 metres away from the hotel and with few changes took us to the hectic centre of Vienna ( being the height of the tourist season).
We loved it. Thanks Panus!

Room Tip: Our room faced west so when we returned from our outings in the late afternoon our room was like an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyColoundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This beautiful hotel had bags of character (painted ceilings in the breakfast room, beautiful marble floors, large pleasant rose garden, old Viennese furniture). I stayed here with my daughter on a trip to celebrate her 18th. We had a large double room with shower room (great shower) and separate toilet, all very clean and neat, comfortable and we certainly didn't find it noisy.
This hotel is a little way out as some have said, but very easy to get to - Airport bus to Westbahnhof and then one stop on the brown tube line (U6) south to Gumpendorferstrasse. Don't get out of the bus too early, at Meidling, as we did - as you will have to get the tube from a different direction. When you get out of the tube make sure you exit the station on the correct side to save yourself walking a long way up the wrong road like we did! You should be able to see a zebra crossing with a small pizza shop opposite and to the right of that a bar boasting of its "schattiger Garten".
The only problems were very small - we couldn't get the wi-fi to work and also the tv didn't seem to come on at all - we did mention the tv to the host but he told us it should be fine and we thought it was probably just us. Same with the wi-fi which we didn't mention as it could have been us being untechnical - and anyway wasn't that important - who needs tv and wi-fi on holiday in Vienna?!
The room was not airconditioned so if you arrive during a heatwave like we did, you're going to be too hot. That wasn't the hotel's fault of course, but we weren't expecting to escape the English weather to that extent!. But in the evening it was lovely to come back to a complementary glass of wine as we did, apparently there is a great wine cellar there and wines are available for sale at this hotel although I didn't have time to check it out/buy any.
Had a fabulous time, saw everything we wanted to - Vienna is compact and easy to get around although quite hard to find places among the little streets - we had a terrible time locating the Spanish Riding School and had to ask about 5 people for directions when we were only 30 yards away! I recommend the Schoenbrunn, the Riding School, Belvedere ( very rude waiter who could have done with a lesson in politeness from the lovely Altwienerhof staff) the Kapuziner crypt and the St Stefan's tower. Fantastic, and thoroughly recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Might be good to ask for a twin room if you want one - my daughter and I didn't mind having a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaSanseverina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The hotel was okay. Lovely old-fashioned furniture and decoration. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff really friendly! My room for one person was very, very small but it was clean and the bathroom was of a good size. Only thing I didn't like about the room was that the walls seemed very thin, I could hear noises from the next rooms very clearly.

Best part about the hotel was the location. Even though it's not near the city center it's right next to a U-bahn station and a walking distance from Schönbrunn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Once you get to know the u-bahn and the tram system, this hotel comes into its own. e.g. By jumping on the 57A tram you're taken straight to the Museum Quarter.
The hotel itself is in need of some sprucing but I hope not modernisation as it is this which provides lots of charm. We had 3 rooms including 2 suites and a single. The single was tiny & compact but as it was only being used for sleeping and was far cheaper this was no problem. The suites were great for being able to just relax and enjoy being in the city - a real home from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juvejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#150 of 359 in Vienna
384 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 359 in Vienna
650 reviews
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#65 of 359 in Vienna
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#106 of 359 in Vienna
414 reviews
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#98 of 359 in Vienna
916 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altwienerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altwienerhof

Address: Herklotzgasse 6, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Vienna
#55 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#59 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £47 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altwienerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Altwienerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altwienerhof Hotel Vienna
Altwienerhof Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing