We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altwienerhof
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Vienna(Vienna)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
202
202
59
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
202
59
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationgumpendorfer strassecourtyard gardenold world charmsitting roomspacious roomcity centrethe hotel managerreception areahotel is locatedenjoyed our stayminute walkpublic transportan upgradeyogurtbreakfast was excellentfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although the location was somewhat rundown the hotel was only 3 minutes or so from the underground which had an excellent service to the city centre - about 10 to 15 minutes away. The hotel was very clean, our room and ensuite bathroom spacious and the manager very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hil321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent five nights at this hotel at the end of October. The location is great for those who want to avoid crowded and noisy streets yet still have all the major attractions in close proximity. The subway stop is right across the street, about a 3 minute walk. In 10-15 minutes, you are at St. Stephan or at Hofburg or at Schonbrunn. If you want to go to Salzburg, you can take the subway and in just one stop (!) you are at the railway station (Westbanhof). Our double room on the third floor was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The manager/receptionist Sorin Panus was extremely helpful and gracious. He answered our numerous questions with such a deep knowledge of Vienna and its cultural attractions that we saved a lot of time and money. For instance, he arranged a cab to the airport for a very reasonable fixed price. We paid much more for a ride to the hotel. Mr. Panus told us that we could have called/emailed him and the same arrangement for a fixed rate was available. Overall, we are very happy with our stay in this charming, quiet and comfortable place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was surprised to see some negative reviews regarding this hotel on TripAdvisor because we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here last week. We had stopped over in Vienna for just one evening en route to Prague from Budapest. On our arrival we were greeted by the hotelier who was very efficient, professional and extremely helpful.
When we asked him what he would suggest we did for one afternoon/evening in Vienna as a family and he pretty much designed us a mini itinerary, including a map and directions. Armed with this map and information, we dumped our bags and headed straight out to explore, hopping on to the Gumpendorfer metro stop, about 150 yds along the street, where we enjoyed a cracking night out in the city.
The rooms were huge which meant the kids slept in one side of it whilst we were able to watch TV/relax in the other side. The bathroom was fully tiled with corner bath, separate shower, toilet, sink, etc and very clean.
The breakfast wasn't the most extensive I've seen but very tasty, plenty of it and the first time in a LONG time I'd had champagne with my warm bread and cold meats & cheese! The dining area was comfortable and well presented and the staff very pleasant.
Yes, the hotel doesn't have great views but it's in the city!
My wife and I both agreed - it was the customer service that pushed it from a 'Very Good' to an 'Excellent' because we both felt welcomed and at home during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trippingtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Let me start by saying that the manage-owner? of this hotel, Mr. Panos- couldn't be nicer. Unfortunately, it ends there as the property is a hard sell. We booked this on Trip Advisor reviews, but we were very disappointed. (We moved to another hotel as soon as we could.) The rooms were huge - even by US standards, with a huge bedroom and an huge adjoining sitting area that included a couch, chairs, and dining table. However , the furniture looked like bad castoffs, and the room had a Wuthering Heights feel to it with old massive curtains and a morbid feel. There was no quaintness. The door was a key lock, and you had to lock yourself in to close the door at night - which made me think that might be the best option in a fire. The outlet and hair dryer in the bathroom didn't work, so a mirror was placed by the dining area so my wife could dry her hair. The room was noisy as it was on the first floor- we had requested the courtyard when booking, but didn't get it. Breakfast buffet was marginal. There was a charming courtyard, and unfortunately the weather prevented its use. Lastly, the area leaves much to be desired, as the neighborhood surrounding the hotel was marginal, and the metro stop - which was very near the hotel - was horrific. I think you get the picture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank attolug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here after reading the reviews on here and liked it. I think some of the photographs are different to how the hotel is now (e.g. reception and gardens), but generally the same. It's well located, with only 3-5 stops between most of the main tourist attractions, which makes it an ideal base for seeing Vienna. On arrival the manager was extremely helpful in planning our short stay, which we really appreciated. We didn't realise until we were leaving that the wine cellar (which in fairness we had forgotten was one of the photos that made us book the hotel) had to be booked - so this is something that we would do on a second visit.

The rooms were spacious and the decor was nice, but needing update or repair (e.g. lamp shade falling apart, one curtain missing), a fridge and kettle would be nice too. We arrived late (with about 20-30 mins left) for breakfast some days, but whilst there were plenty of drink choices there was little hot food left by this time. The food that was there was nice and again the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raistrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews