We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in a great location.”
Review of Altwienerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altwienerhof
Ranked #151 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The room (303) was practically a suite with a separate living room area, a large corner bath, multi-headed shower unit, twin basins, separate WC and comfortable beds. The room and indeed the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with Viennese charm.
The buffet breakfast which was served in a beautiful dining room was first class with a fine selection of bread, cereal, cold meats, cheeses, wieners, boiled eggs, yogurts etc. What was particularly impressive was the selection of leaf tea although I stuck with the excellent coffee.
The hotel is in a great location about half way between the old town and the Scheonnbrun palace, both of which we walked to and took a leisurely half hour stroll but an underground station is just at the end of the street and due to the very efficient transport system we reached both places in ten minutes.
Finally a word for Panus, the proprietor/owner, a very friendly, helpful and charming host. He is obviously proud of his hotel and rightly so. We spent a couple of evenings when we returned from our excursions chatting with him in the delightful reception area over a glass of wine, he even gave me a glass of home made schnapps...for medicinal purposes.
All in all, a fully deserved five star review.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotel we have stayed for the nice , big, clean rooms, good Food, excelent personnel, great location, good parking places around, beautiful garden and so on.
We stayed here first time in April 2009 and then we continue to came almost each year.
Highly recommend for all, young, older and family with kids!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libella14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel a very short walk from metro station. On first view thought "oh no" it looks not so good. However, when met by the owner with a glass of wine and great bonhommie we grew to like it. Room large airy and light but furniture tired. Very clean. Free safe for valuables. Staff very friendly. Breakfast good. Garden sitting out area a peach. Lovely plants eg acer bush. Mein host serves wine and beer in said garden very reasonable price.

Would we go there again...maybe just for the atmosphere and the host. Not a chain hotel but great charm. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandTanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here Apr 5-6, 2014. The hotel is easily accessed by airport shuttle bus, including a short walk (with luggage) from the bus terminal. We should have taken a taxi to the hotel from the terminal, but taxi drivers assured us that it was just around the corner. I'd recommend those with suitcases to take the short taxi drive (5 Euros). The hotel is off the main street one block. It is unassuming at first glance, but once inside our spirits lifted. The manager is a friendly fellow who speaks good English.

The room (101) is on the first floor above the entrance, overlooking an intersection, with windows on two sides. It was spacious with two rooms and a bathroom. The room was a bit warm during the day (no air conditioning) and we had to open the windows for fresh air in the evenings. Traffic noise at the intersection was considerable (delivery vans) during the day and into the evening, but died down around 10 pm. We were awakened early by more traffic noise, but overall had two good nights rest. The bedroom was spacious with a large wardrobe. A separate sitting room with table and chairs was also included. The bathroom was small but with a large sink and fair-sized shower, whereas the toilet was in a separate small room. TV was flat-screen with a fair number of stations.

Breakfast was in a nice and spacious street-level room. There was a good variety of cereals, eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruits, and champagne.

There is also a pleasant ground-level garden sitting area.

Plenty of good restaurants are within easy walk of the hotel and a train station is one block away providing easy access to the entire city.

We had originally booked three nights, including April 4, but a flight cancellation caused us to arrive a day late. We called ahead 1 day asking that they cancel our April 4 reservation. They were unable to give us credit for that night. Also, upon checkout, our Visa credit card would not work in their reader, so we had to come up with cash to pay our bill. As we were loading our luggage in the taxi, the manager came out and offered to forgive the entire bill. We refused to accept his generous offer and assured him that we enjoyed our stay.

Despite the little problems, we enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to return. It is a fine hotel and a good bargain in the expensive city of Vienna.

Room Tip: If traffic noise is a problem with you, choose a room away from the corner intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room was pleasantly large, nicely decorated and had a very nice bathroom. The entire hotel and courtyard were beautiful. The owner was helpful when we wanted to know about the metro system and getting around the city. It was SO convenient to the city transportation routes... we could get anywhere in the city by walking a half block. The price was reasonable, and we were within walking distance of a huge street shopping area.

It was noisy from traffic, sirens and people if the windows were open, but was pleasantly quiet when closed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classypiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Nice property just outside metro station. Large rooms with neat bathroom. Helpful manager & owner. Excellent breakfast. Must opt for the same.

Area around hotel bit shabby but pretty safe. Further all good spots just few stations away.
We felt hotel more of a lucky find!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank compvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

stayed here for four nights in may and i must say we were well pleased. got off the plane and headed straight for the CAT which takes you from the airport to the central station non stop in 16 minutes for 13 euros. there we got the tube to gumpendorfer straase. walked across the road and there is the hotel really good location. the rooms were huge and the bathroom was beautiful really well decorated and all in good condition. we were on the third floor overlooking the street which can get noisy at night so you would have to shut the windows. breakfast was good plenty of fresh rolls, meats, cheese, sausages and boiled eggs. fruit juice,tea coffee etc. service from staff excellent always willing to help. there are a few chinese restaurants nearby but we used the kebap cafe on the corner and had a scnitzel sandwich and chips it was huge and really tasty. prices reasonable. i would advise anyone staying in vienna to get a vienna card which gives you free travel on tube tram train and bus within the viennna area, real value for money, we bought one each for a week which cost about 15 euros each and we certainly got our monies worth. if you want a decent hotel within easy reach of main attractions then this is the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 358 in Vienna
386 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#102 of 358 in Vienna
415 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#52 of 358 in Vienna
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#69 of 358 in Vienna
824 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altwienerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altwienerhof

Address: Herklotzgasse 6, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Vienna
#55 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £50 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altwienerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Altwienerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altwienerhof Hotel Vienna
Altwienerhof Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing