We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #67 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 June 2011

As they say (in brochure) - 3 stars hotel, with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm :-)
Indeed, there are many tiny things in the hotel, which make you feel very pleasant and welcome!
Very good location, only 4 tram stops from the Inner City. We were lucky to have refurbished room with completely new furniture and bathroom and with a courtyard view, so we didn't have any problem with street noise.
Breakfast was excellent with variety of everything. Really, it's much more than basic breakfast what is common in many other 3-star hotels in Europe.
At our leaving the hotel, we received a gift voucher with 5 euros discount for next booking.
Overall-we'll be happy to come back here in another visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank evroputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Dear Evroputnik,

Hvala, as you would say, for your detailed critic on our house.

We are glad to hear, that you liked your stay in town and in the hotel.
Comments like this make our work really plaesant and give us motivation day by day.

I also apreciate, that you commented on our breakfast, which is, for a 3 stars hotel, outstanding. Sure you have noticed the sparkling wine, the cakes, egg dishes... we love it too!

I am looking forward to welcoming you again here with us in Vienna and remain,
with bes regards,

Katharina Kluss, family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

The reception area is very nice and modern; very nice breakfast; but our room was very outdated with old tile, only a tub with no way to take a shower without getting everything wet and the bathroom was underlighted and had to ask the front desk where the light actually way. The room faced a very busy (at all hours of the day and night) 4 lane street; it was hard to get any sleep at all since the windows had to stay open for ventilation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccfamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Inhaber at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Dear ccfamily22,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Vienna.

Thank you also for mentioning our good and rich breakfast buffet.

I am sorry to hear, that you estimated the street as beeing too loud. This is always a bit difficult: we provide special "noise reduction" windows, but whcih of course only work when shut..
have you asked for out rooms of the "park category": these rooms face a huge park and pamper you wich absolute quietness although been closest to the city centre.
This would be my recommendation, for next time when you stay with us.

Light: some of our rooms are still equipped with the tipical viennese style "alibert": theses are bathroom cupboards with mirrors where the light has to be turned on behind this mirrors. I understand, that for some tourist it is hard to understand this old viennese patent at the first sight ;-)

All in all I hope that you have enjoyed your trip to Europe and seen many nice places!

In the meanwhile I remain with best regards fom Vienna,

Katharina Kluss, family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Imagine stay in a room were the heat beats 36º Celsius, with sun all over the day in your window. Now try too sleep there only with a small fan.
Despite the excelent location, the hotel is a nightmare in summertime. But nice in other seasons.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank gutonew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Daer Gutonew,

Thank you very much for your review!
I am glad to hear that you liked your stay inour hotel.

Still I am sorry to hear, that the weather was too hot for you - sometimes, me to, I wish that I could influence it!
As we know, that in summer it can become hot, we provide fans for all our guest in summer time - this is what lies within the possibilities of the hotel.
Next time you might want to try our park-side oriented rooms. The rooms of this category lie on the shadier side of the building and can be booked directly in the hotel at the front desk.

I hope to welcoming you soon again (maybe for the romantic christmas markets in town?) and wish you a nice winter!

With best regards from Vienna,
Katharina Kluss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

we came to vienna to celebrate our 40th anniversary.Our room was a good size and overlooked the courtyard so was very quiet.Everywhere in this hotel is tidy and extremely clean.The breakfast menu had wide choice and everything was fresh daily .Staff speak excellent english and are very helpful.Location good ,tram stop is just outside but easy half hour stroll to centre which is what we did most days

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear harman49,

Thank you very much for this review, wich willhelp other travellers to find theyr perfect hotel for their Vienna-trip.

Me team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - this is what we all work for: to provide our guest a nice and memorable stay in our beautiful town.

I hope to welcoming you in the soon future again and remain
with the best wishes from Vienna

Katharina Kluss and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

very close to the subway system which is connected to all of the major attractions in Vienna. Clean and quite. good hotel and cheap prices in vienna, had a good time with my spouse.........

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puneet0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear puneeth0031,

thank you for your positive review - thhis shows us, that we are doing our job in a good way and this is also what is motivating us every day again!

best regards from sunny Vienna,

Katharina Kluss and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were only here because the hotel we booked at and paid for months ago pulled a bait and switch - the old "we've overbooked" excuse. I think this is the only way the Donauwalzer can get guests. It's on the noisiest corner I've ever seen or heard (reminds me of NYC), no air conditioning so windows had to stay open, couldn't get a fan the first night, way too hot to sleep. Really seedy part of town. It is, however, right on the tram line, for what that's worth. Do NOT stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Dear woechap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
To start, I am sorry, that you were booked out at your usually reserved hotel - therefore I can understand, that you very pretty unhappy with the beginning of your stay in Vienna and therefore probably alredy a bit upset with the entire situation when checking in with us.

I am sorry to hear, that you missed the air condition. Did your actually booked hotel provide a/c?
Please let me inform you, that to have a/c is not the standard in Austria, especially not in the 3 star category. In Vienna you will find a/c mostly in the 5 star (=luxury) category, not in middle class hotels with the respective room prices.

Still am a happy to read, that you liked our good location, close to the town center, and just next to the tram and the metro - that brings traffic (as in every countries capital) with it.
Have you asked for our next higher room cetegory, the park oriented rooms? The windows of theses rooms lead to a big park (5000 m2) - there you can hear the birds singing, but you do not have the view towards the centre.

Nevertheless, I come that you enjoyed your stay in our beautifull town, despite the hot weather in summer.

With best regards,
Katharina Kluss, family and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Having never been to Vienna before, I wasn't sure if this hotel was too far out, but it was only a short ride on the U6 to the city centre and there also is the 44 tram which goes to the north side of the city centre. Local area was fine and seemed to be "up and coming".

Hotel was as I would expect for 3 stars and good value for money. Rooms had been recently refurbished, clean and modern (only gripe would be that no kettle in room, but maybe that's a British thing!). Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly, 24/7 reception and bar was always handy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Inhaber at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2010

Dear ehjp,
thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enojoyed your stay with us!

What about a visit in spring or summertime?
We have already open our little court yard where you can find peace and relaxation after a day in the city: we have relaxing chairs, the fishes are in the bassin already and the flowers are blooming.

We all wich you a beautifull summer and are hoping to welcome you here in Veinna soon again.

Katharina Kluss and her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
631 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,146 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#149 of 359 in Vienna
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#16 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £38 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing