We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel except attic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #65 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is very nice, except attic - where the room price is less compared to the other floors and you don't have air conditioning (you surely need it because is very hot during summer). Also, the interiors seems to be older compare to the rest of hotel (probably it was renovated -
excluding attic).
Breakfast was excellent. Anything you want: eggs, ham, sausages, vegetables, pancake (you can bake it there), cakes, coffee, cream, milk, juice (orange, cherry), wine, fruits…….
City center is about 15-20 minutes walk and the metro station it’s about 100m from the hotel. You can also use tram no. 44 (station is in front of hotel). All in all it’s easy and fast to reach the town.
If you travel by car, you can park in front of the hotel (12 eur/workingday).
Internet connection is OK in the room.
The atmosphere is nice – every day you can listen waltz music during breakfast and even get some dance lessons.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

a party of 6 of us stayed at this hotel from the 15th to the 22nd of may 2013. The hotelwas brilliant as was the food. The staff could not have been any nicer or more helpful and. everything about its motto is true in terms of service and charm. The only disappointment was that we were put in a room at the front of the hotel with 3 windows overlooking the road. 2 of the windows had curtains that could be pulled over at night to block out the light. The 3rd window that overlooked the road but also was directly in line with the bed had 2 small curtains that could not be pulled across to block the light. The consequence of this was that I was woken up about 5am each morning by blinding sunshine hitting me directly in the eyes - not the way I would like to be woken up. However I would add that I didn't complain or ask to be moved and I would be sure that the problem would have been resolved if I had mentioned it as the manager and staff were so helpful.

Room Tip: don't take room 207 unless the curtains also cover the 3rd window because of my early morning su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendan1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago but found the hotel greatly improved.The reception area was bright and cheerful , with attentive and helpful staff who dealt with queries efficiently.They had a genuine interest in guests.
Breakfast was a delight ,with such a variety that one could prepre a different meal each day{and we stayed 7 days}.We loved the Sunday morning violinists,the sparkling wine, the cooked options and the flavoursome bread.Breakfast staff were most friendly.
Our room was on the fifth floor .but this was not a problem with 2 lifts.We had a skylight rather than a window,but this was easy to open.The room had character, with exposed ,original beams.The bathroom was spacious, with an efficient shower.
Access to the city centre is easy with a tram stop outside.The fast metro sevice has a stop at Alserstrasse,5 minutes walk away.
We found a good local restaurant af Bierfink,a few stops away near Ottakringer brewery.The Chinese restaurant at the metro stop is worth a try if you are too tired to go into town.A tiny shop at the metro stop sells stamps and metro passes.
The hotel represents god value for the price conscious tourist.

Room Tip: The top floor is probably less noisy, but passing trams didn't worry us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st62an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed at Donauwalzer Hotel from 01.05.2013 till 04.05.2013. We are absolutely happy for the choice of this hotel. Their moto is "Your 3-star hotel with 4-star service and 5-star charm" and this is true. The hotel is very clean and cosy. The staff is excellent - smiley, helpful, efficient. The breakfast is awesome - everything you may wish, is offered to you. The tram stop is in front of the hotel, so you can reach the city center for above 5 to 10 minutes. All in all - perfect choice for visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kara_konsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Kara,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Vienna, and thank you for having taken the time to write a review on us.
We are glad to read, that we could meet your expectations and that you were satisfied not only with our good services, but also with our good location near the centre.
We hope welcoming you and your and friends with families soon again and remain,
with a friendly “Servus” from Vienna,
Fam. Kluss & the entire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I chose Hotel Donauwalzer, having read the reviews in the "TripAdvisor". Well, to begin with, I got a price lower than the one I got 3 years ago in another similar hotel, when I last visited Vienna.

We were 2 couples that booked 2 double-rooms with view in the Park. They were large enough, clean and quiet. Ours had the WC separate from the bathroom-just fine by me!

We were welcomed with a small chocolate on each pillow, there were cute toiletries in the bathroom (absolutely useful) and we had a glass of sparkling wine for free.

The service was excellent; the breakfast superb, which on Sunday we enjoyed listening to live classical music. The staff of the reception was always helpful, answering our questions, and making useful suggestions for almost everything.

The neighborhood could be seedy, as there is a bar with go-go girls almost at the opposite corner of the hotel, but it is not. We felt absolutely safe, and we used transportation way after midnight. Hotel Donauwalzer is pretty centrally located, with a 24-hour reception, after all.

The U-Bahn (metro) is not more than a 5-minute walk from the hotel. U6 is not a line that takes you directly to the sights but in 15 minutes you were in the Heart of Vienna - once more, kudos to the Viennese for their transportation system, pretty punctual and quick! There was also the option of Tram, but the U-bahn suited us just fine!

Oh, and as we said our "goodbyes", they gave us small "Manner" s - so cute (and yummy)!!!!

All in all, if we ever visit Vienna again (not likely, since we've already been there 3 times, but, what can I say? I adore that city!), we will stay in Hotel Donauwalzer - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

A good test of an hotel is how they react when things go wrong.

We arrived with our on line booking reference only to discover that the booking had not been made due to incorrect credit card details (my fault). We were surprised that the hotel had not contacted us to sort this out and maybe they need to look at their systems to pick up on such matters. Had the hotel been fully booked there could have been problems.

However, being out of season a room was found and we booked in only to discover that the room had two single beds and not the requested double. Back to reception and another room was offered. I casually enquired if it was definitely a double and was told 'I hope so' and was asked to check and report back! Not the best customer experience!!! Fortunately it was and although it was clean and fully equipped it was rather tired and very cramped (on the 5th floor). To be fair the hotel is going through a refurbishment programme, so future visitors can expect an improvement.

The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful.

The location is fine for travelling around Vienna's sights but the surrounding area may be a bit off putting for some as it is on the edge of the red light district. It is also close to the Turkish quarter with a great street market and excellent restaurants. There are also some great traditional Viennese ones as well - check out The Pelican.

In summary, we liked this hotel and it is clear that the management and staff work hard to create a good customer experience. We will now be regular visitors to Vienna and we will want to return to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBattlePs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I had read the reviews of this hotel and were impressed by how positive they were. As we walked to our 5th floor room after check-in, I was concerned as the wallpaper was shabby! This and the fact that you have to pay for internet are the only negatives for the hotel. The room was a comfortable size, even had a couch, and the bathroom was quite large and VERY CLEAN. Breakfasts were wonderful, staff very helpful and friendly. Location is great. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room as the halls (perhaps even the rooms?) have been renovated there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basel-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#51 of 358 in Vienna
670 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 358 in Vienna
1,027 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 358 in Vienna
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#15 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £35 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing