We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly hotel-excellent location for a city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #68 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights 14th-18th December and we are so pleased that we did! What a fantastic find when we searching on the BA site for a Christmas time trip to Vienna. We were in room 512 right at the top but it was cosy and quiet. Good size bathroom and the hairdryer was brilliant. As were the complimentary items in there!!! The hotel is undergoing renovation so some of it does look dated but hopefully this will be completed soon. The staff are all so friendly,welcoming and helpful. Always smiling even at times when they were extremely busy. The breakfast was unbelievable! Set us up for whole days of exploring Vienna and no need for lunch. When we checked out we were given a little Christmas gift bag which was so simple but lovely and a really nice touch. I read a lot of reviews regarding Vienna prior to our trip and to be honest was a little worried-needlessly I have to say. The Donauwalzer is well placed for public transport but also if you're like us for walking to and from the centre. I didn't want to leave so would we return-absolutely!!!!! A couple of tips about Vienna in general do remember that shops are shut on a Sunday so if like us you tend to stock up on drink and crisps from supermarkets and you happen to be there on a Saturday then thats the time to buy and leave in your room! Also if you decide to travel from the airport on the SBahn then remember to buy two tickets for each member of your party as you have to travel across two fare zones (you'll remember on the return journey) the fare is four euros 20 in total for one person. The ticket inspectors are dead hot on catching you out even if it is a genuine mistake, there is no sympathy!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear monkeyworm
Thank you for the positive comment on our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you honored our efforts to make the stay of our guest as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Reviews like yours give us more and more motivation in our job.
We would be very grateful if we had the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hote Donauwalzer and wish you all the best for 2014.
With warm regards from Vienna
Fam. Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. Everything people say about the warmth of the staff and the quality of the breakfasts is absolutely correct. It is incredibly easy to get into and out of town from the hotel and public transport is quick, clean and cheap.

Two local restaurants we would thoroughly recommend are the Winter and the Toscana (approximately 250 and 100 metres from the hotel respectively). The owners of both are incredibly friendly and if you follow the suggestions of Herr Winter, you will not go an inch wrong (even if the combinations look weird on paper). This is real Austrian cooking and tastes magnificent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themulhollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear themulhollands,
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experiences with future trip planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that we met your expectations. Your comment is very motivating for us and this we will share with all of our team.
Yes - dining at the Restaurant Winter is always a good choice as they are offering Viennes cousine at it´s best.
We are loooking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again and remain
With best regards
Fam. Kluss & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Me and my wife went this hotel in December 2013 and stayed 5 nights. Building has a historical apperarance but inner side of the hotel is modernly designed. The room was ok, bathroom a little small but renovated. Our room was at the street side so a little noisy at nights, it may be a problem in summer. Room was very warm. Breakfast was perfect. Staff was very helpful, friendly and hardworking. Good location. Tram 44, 43, 2 and metro U6 can be reached by foot. So... highly recommended. Thank you Donauwalzer for the great service.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer and sensitive to noise choose back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Tripomusic,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Donauwalzer.
We are glad to read, that we could meet your expectations and that you were satisfied not only with our good services, but also with our good location near the centre.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
We hope welcoming you soon again and remain,
with a friendly “Servus” from Vienna,
Fam. Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had 48-hours to see a bit of Vienna and not a lot of money. The Donauwalzer turned out to be an ideal choice. This hotel appears to be on an "outer ring" of Vienna, but appearances are deceiving because its proximity to trolley and Ubahn services make reaching the centre very, very easy. The hotel itself is scrupulously clean and comfortable; everything works just as it should. Best of all, the hotel staff are welcoming and competent. We would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minus-one-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear minus-one-oxen,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments on our services
We are also glad to read, that you enjoyed our good location.
Looking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again we remain

Best regards from Vienna
Familie Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is well situated if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't want to sleep in the centre. It takes aroun 30 mins by foot to reach the city centre but you can also take the metro or tram. The hotel is not in the best place when arriving from the airport.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast i very nice. However, the hotel is very worn and the pictures must have been taken 15 years ago - since then it looks as if nothing has been done to the rooms. However, they were clean - only cleaned every other day when we were there, and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Maria S.,
Thank you very much for your comment.
The excellent location and the rich buffet breakfast ist not the only reason our guests book Hotel Donauwalzer, it is the friendlyness of our staff that brings us so many returning and satisfied guests.
We are loooking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again and remain
With best regards
Fam. Kluss & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have just returned from a four day trip to Vienna using David Urquhart Sky Travel Company (who were extremely good to deal with - our first trip with them - but not the last!) We found the Donuawalzer Hotel on the whole to be of a high standard. We had a generously large room with good beds, plenty of shelf and cupboard space (we only had hand luggage anyway). The breakfast was of a very high standard indeed - loads of choice. The reception and indeed all the staff were some of the best we have ever encountered - very helpful with advice and information. So far so positive...but.... there was no safe in the room nor were there any coffee/tea making facilities (although these were available downstairs in the dining area all day. There was a safe at Reception but these are always a hassle as you stand there waiting for your money while same ample lady armed with books and maps harangues the Reception staff as she plots her day's itinerary. One other downside to this excellent hotel is that across the road there is a night-club which disgorged its merry patrons at 2 a.m. and woke us up notwithstanding the double-glazed windows. The hotel has a tram stop right outside which takes you to Shottentor and within five minutes there is a U Bahn station - and once you are into that system you can get easily around this very large and fast-moving city. We had not been to Vienna before and thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would certainly recommend the Donauwalzer.

David A Keddie

Room Tip: Try not to be overlooking the Aslergurtl and you might be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear David K.,
Thank you very much for your detailled review.
We are more than happy to read, that we could meet all your expectations.
The excellent location and the rich buffet breakfast ist not the only reason our guests book Hotel Donauwalzer, it is the friendlyness of our staff that brings us so many returning and satisfied guests.
Of course we will forward your praise to our friendly staff and we will be happy to welcome you again!
With best regards
Kluss family & the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First of, let me say that the reaction of the manager to our complaints, and the way he handled the situation was very professional and somewhat redeemed themselves. We even got 2 bottles of wine as a compensation, which was a very nice gesture, but still... the main problem was the rooms that we got when we arrived. Their motto says "3star hotel, 4star service, 5star charme", well those rooms were more like "1star motel by the side of the highway charme". They were small, cramped attic rooms, we hardly had any space to walk around the room. (photos i think tell the whole story). As if this wasn't enough, the room just needed urgent refurbishing to say the least. When we complained, we where told the hotel was fully booked, and we could get different rooms the other day. Strange only that a group of (i think) swiss tourist got rooms just a few hours later, so clearly there were free rooms when we had arrived. Anyway, after we got the other rooms the next day things settled, but i thought a hotel that could really be great to compromise itself for a few extra rooms...what a shame...
The location is ok, a bit noisy but no big deal, metro and tram stations are around the corner so you can get to anywhere in a matter of minutes. Breakfast was very good, it had everything: quantity, variety and quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Leni F,
Thank you very much for writing a review and for sharing your travel experiences with other people.
Vienna is a very green city with many parks and our district is adjacent to one of the most popular Viennese recreation areas, the Vienna Woods. Futhermore there is a park right next to the hotel. Hence it could be possible that despite our efforts (regular inspections through an exterminator) insects lose their way from the close park to our upper floors, especially on beautiful fall days like we had these weeks.
We are also considering a different solution for the shells with snacks we are providing in our guest rooms.
As you may have noticed, small renovations take place at the Hotel Donauwalzer constantly.
We have closed the room in this floor to refurbish it within the next weeks. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the „new“ room and that you could enjoy also our well known rich buffet breakfast, the central location of the hotel and last but not least the friendlyness of our staff.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Donauwalzer and remain
With a friendly "Servus“ from Vienna
Fam Kluss & the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 359 in Vienna
650 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,012 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#150 of 359 in Vienna
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £34 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing