We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #72 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Donauwalzer for 7 nights.Everything was great.The staff was very friendly and they helped us every time we needed something.The room was very spacious and it was cleaned every day.Exellent breakfast with a big variety of food to choose.The hotel is situated between 2 metro stations about 5min each by walking,but you can also take the tramway 44 which stops just in front of the hotel.Everything was great.We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Alexandrea_pe,
Thanks a lot for your review - they always help us in knowing our guests wishes and needs.
We are more than happy to read, that you were satisfied with our services - that is what we work for every day: making the stay of our guest as pleasant as possible.
We hope seeing you soon again here in the Donauwalzer and wish you all the best for 2014!
Fam. Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very charming front-desk staff. Absurdly small rooms; to leave them, you literally have to step into the tiny shower! The breakfast is fairly woeful, and the staff who serve it aren't terribly attentive. I saw one person, tidying up the salad area, put lettuce that guests had spilled back in the bowl! The neighborhood isn't going to win any prizes for picturesqueness, but the hotel is certainly conveniently located for public transport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordWallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear LordWallington,
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Vienna, and thank you for having taken the time to write a review on us. We am very sorry that your experience did not entirely meet your expectations. We are just wondering as we do not serve lettuce at our breakfast. We are offering a rich hot and cold buffet breakfast which is highly commended by our guests as you can read on most of our reviews. It would be very helpful for us if you could tell us what you missed.
We are loooking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again and remain
With best regards
Fam. Kluss & the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for four nights 14th-18th December and we are so pleased that we did! What a fantastic find when we searching on the BA site for a Christmas time trip to Vienna. We were in room 512 right at the top but it was cosy and quiet. Good size bathroom and the hairdryer was brilliant. As were the complimentary items in there!!! The hotel is undergoing renovation so some of it does look dated but hopefully this will be completed soon. The staff are all so friendly,welcoming and helpful. Always smiling even at times when they were extremely busy. The breakfast was unbelievable! Set us up for whole days of exploring Vienna and no need for lunch. When we checked out we were given a little Christmas gift bag which was so simple but lovely and a really nice touch. I read a lot of reviews regarding Vienna prior to our trip and to be honest was a little worried-needlessly I have to say. The Donauwalzer is well placed for public transport but also if you're like us for walking to and from the centre. I didn't want to leave so would we return-absolutely!!!!! A couple of tips about Vienna in general do remember that shops are shut on a Sunday so if like us you tend to stock up on drink and crisps from supermarkets and you happen to be there on a Saturday then thats the time to buy and leave in your room! Also if you decide to travel from the airport on the SBahn then remember to buy two tickets for each member of your party as you have to travel across two fare zones (you'll remember on the return journey) the fare is four euros 20 in total for one person. The ticket inspectors are dead hot on catching you out even if it is a genuine mistake, there is no sympathy!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeyworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear monkeyworm
Thank you for the positive comment on our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you honored our efforts to make the stay of our guest as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Reviews like yours give us more and more motivation in our job.
We would be very grateful if we had the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hote Donauwalzer and wish you all the best for 2014.
With warm regards from Vienna
Fam. Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December. Everything people say about the warmth of the staff and the quality of the breakfasts is absolutely correct. It is incredibly easy to get into and out of town from the hotel and public transport is quick, clean and cheap.

Two local restaurants we would thoroughly recommend are the Winter and the Toscana (approximately 250 and 100 metres from the hotel respectively). The owners of both are incredibly friendly and if you follow the suggestions of Herr Winter, you will not go an inch wrong (even if the combinations look weird on paper). This is real Austrian cooking and tastes magnificent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themulhollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear themulhollands,
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experiences with future trip planners on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that we met your expectations. Your comment is very motivating for us and this we will share with all of our team.
Yes - dining at the Restaurant Winter is always a good choice as they are offering Viennes cousine at it´s best.
We are loooking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again and remain
With best regards
Fam. Kluss & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Me and my wife went this hotel in December 2013 and stayed 5 nights. Building has a historical apperarance but inner side of the hotel is modernly designed. The room was ok, bathroom a little small but renovated. Our room was at the street side so a little noisy at nights, it may be a problem in summer. Room was very warm. Breakfast was perfect. Staff was very helpful, friendly and hardworking. Good location. Tram 44, 43, 2 and metro U6 can be reached by foot. So... highly recommended. Thank you Donauwalzer for the great service.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer and sensitive to noise choose back rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripomusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Tripomusic,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Donauwalzer.
We are glad to read, that we could meet your expectations and that you were satisfied not only with our good services, but also with our good location near the centre.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
We hope welcoming you soon again and remain,
with a friendly “Servus” from Vienna,
Fam. Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had 48-hours to see a bit of Vienna and not a lot of money. The Donauwalzer turned out to be an ideal choice. This hotel appears to be on an "outer ring" of Vienna, but appearances are deceiving because its proximity to trolley and Ubahn services make reaching the centre very, very easy. The hotel itself is scrupulously clean and comfortable; everything works just as it should. Best of all, the hotel staff are welcoming and competent. We would return in an instant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minus-one-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear minus-one-oxen,

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments on our services
We are also glad to read, that you enjoyed our good location.
Looking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again we remain

Best regards from Vienna
Familie Kluss & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is well situated if you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and don't want to sleep in the centre. It takes aroun 30 mins by foot to reach the city centre but you can also take the metro or tram. The hotel is not in the best place when arriving from the airport.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast i very nice. However, the hotel is very worn and the pictures must have been taken 15 years ago - since then it looks as if nothing has been done to the rooms. However, they were clean - only cleaned every other day when we were there, and spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Manager at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Maria S.,
Thank you very much for your comment.
The excellent location and the rich buffet breakfast ist not the only reason our guests book Hotel Donauwalzer, it is the friendlyness of our staff that brings us so many returning and satisfied guests.
We are loooking forward to welcoming you in Vienna again and remain
With best regards
Fam. Kluss & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 361 in Vienna
614 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
948 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#17 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £39 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing