We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is true 3* Hotel, 4* Service, 5* Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Ranked #71 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“It is true 3* Hotel, 4* Service, 5* Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for a reasonably priced stay in Vienna.The rooms are basic but clean with everything you need.The breakfast is superb with a wide variety of choice.The staff are very helpful and friendly giving it a family owned atmosphere.Location is good with a 44 Tram stop directly outside which will take you into Vienna centre in 10 minutes.The underground is only a short walk away which we found very easy to use.It was very warm when we went at the end of May and we would of appreciated air conditioning which our room did not have so we had to open the large windows which let in traffic noise.This is our only small negative on what was a lovely short break in Vienna.Thank you Family Kluss and all the staff. Mr & Mrs Moore

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mrs and Mr. Moore,

Thank you not only for having chosen our hotel for your stay, but also for having taken the time to write such a positive review on our hotel.
Lines like this are always a pleasure and give us enormous motivation for our work - this shows us, we are making it right.

Concerning the traffic noise that you mentioned:
we always recommend our repeat guest to book a room of the category park: the are not only facing a huge park and offer therefore absolute quietness, altough beeing righ in the centre, but they are also lokated on the shadier side of the hotel and are cooler than our rooms facing the center - so you might want to try out these next time?

Looking forward to your next stay, all the best,

Family Kluss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    328
    111
    30
    36
See reviews for
151
381
73
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good and varied. With the tram stop outside and the U bahn 100 yards away getting into the centre and around Vienna was very easy. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qox15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Osvalodguerra,

Thank you very much for your detailled review.
We are more than happy to read, that we could meet your expectations.
Of course we will forward your praise to our friendly staff and we will be happy to welcome you again at our hotel.

With best regards from Vienna

Kluss Familiy & the entire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel disappointed on every level; service, room cleanliness, bathroom amenities and breakfast quality.

This was simply a horrible experience.

We found the staff very abrupt and rude when presented with tourist questions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Inhaber at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sonia,


Thank you very mcuch for your yesterdays review concerning your stay (?) with us in February.
Unfortunately I couldn't find your reservation or any data (with the provided information) in order to be able to comment on a more detailed basis on your review.

Could you please be so kind to provide us with any kind of proof that you stayed with us - as your review differs very much from the general very good opinion guests have from our hotel.
This would facilitate it for us, as then we would know in which room you stayed and who made it up , as you write not having been satisfied with the level of cleanliness offered (which is generally very high in our hotel).

Never the less we are of course sorry, if we do not meet the expections of guests staying with us.

Concerning the breakfast buffet, we offer:
fresh waffles, several egg dishes, sparkling wine, fresh fruits, home made cakes, numerous cheeses and saussages, several kinds of bread, yoghurts, cereals, juices, boiled eggs, jams, ...
and on Sunday classical life music at breakfast (a service, that is hardly offered by 5 star hotels).

Please come back to us to tell us, what exactly you very missing - especially as our breakfast and our good service is reknown beyond the cities borders.

Looking forward to your reply,
with best regards form Vienna,

Katharina Kluss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip, just wanted to say a huge thanks to Nenad on reception for the massive help given during my stay.

The rooms were clean and fresh with a great breakfast with loads of choice.

The hotel is ideally located for local amenities

See you again soon

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear YorkshireWalls,
How nice to read such positive comments of our guests!
We are glad to read to you entirely enjoyed your stay with us!
We really hope to welcome you here with us and remain
with best regards from Vienna
Fam. Kluss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I went to this hotel this week..was very impressed by the services when i booked with my agency this hotel but ever since i got there i wanted to leave home.First of all me and my husband went with his mother to have an operation in AKH hospital.From the second we checked in I asked if we can get a room more quiet..not near the street cause I saw that the subway and the tram were near..They told us that it;s not possible since we booked a triple room.I asked the receptionist very nice...I explained her that we really need a quiet room since my mother in law had to rest after the surgery.They said that they coudnt because we have a triple room.
Than we went in the room which was a very small room for 3 persons..one little closed with 6 hangers and 5-6 shelves..than the beds were 2 beds and on the bottom of those beds was a pliable bad very low and much smaller than the other 2.Not to mention that the toillet is away from the sink so you have to get out from the toillet,inside the room and enter the second bathroom that has a sink and a shower.Didnt liked the floors either cause they were old and did a lot of noise when u got up from bed in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom.
This is what I dont understand..why didint they give us another room,a quiet one like I asked when there was that awfull bed pliable??I would have understood if they couldnt carrie the bed..but...??
Also I want to mention that on booking,com is said that the wirelless is free..but when u get to the hotel is 3 euro per hour,16 euro 48 hours...not even for the room..If u pay the wirelless they give u just an account and passward..so if ur husband wants to put the username and pass on his phone its not possible.
They also say that if u stay in the bar and buy drinks u have free wirelless..they give u only for one hour and only one account.Plus I needed to call somebody on viber and my Iphone didnt even saw their connection..was very bad..
No complains about the breakfast,or personal,was very kind( except 2 receptionists-one that didnt talked english and that one that didnt wanted to change my room)..and the cleaning is very good.They cleaned the room every day and change the towells.
I would not return to his hotel if I were to come again in Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pucca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Pucca P.,
Many thanks for your review.
I have read your comments and thank you for providing us with your feedback. I regret that you did not appreciate your room during your stay. The hotel was completely sold out so we could not offer any alternative 3 bedded room to you and your family.
Allow me to add , that WIFI is free for the guests who book directly at our hotel or over booking,com.
Once again we regret, that you during your stay in Vienna did not feel comfortable at our hotel and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Best regards
Fam. Kluss & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfeclean and efficient room service. Fair value for the pricect hospitality very friendly staff ready to answer any questions and request a room.Ctzt hotel location far from the center and main attractions, but using public transportation card (very effective) everything becomes very accessible. In short the perfect vacation.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itzik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting my son. The hotel was comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is well appointed for both the tram and the underground and the city center is well within walking distance. The reviewer who stated the area was not so good should try finding a central location for this price? I was staying alone in the hotel and felt quite safe walking from the train in the evenings. The breakfast was substantial with lots of choice.
The only downside for me was no coffee/tea facilities in the room but this appears standard in Europe.
I will recommend and stay here when I visit my son again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonauwalzerOwner, Owner at Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear deb n.,
Than you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Vienna, and thank you for having taken the time to write a review on us.
We are glad to read, that we could meet your expectations and that you were satisfied not only with our good services, but also with our good location near the centre.
We hope welcoming you and your and friends with families soon again and remain,
with a friendly “Servus” from Vienna,
Fam. Kluss & the entire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#57 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer

Property: Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Address: Ottakringer Strasse 5, Vienna 1170, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Vienna
#14 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#73 Business Hotel in Vienna
#90 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run establishment is only 5 minutes away from the Ringstrasse and lies directly on the metro line U6. The hotel is famous first of all for its excellent service and very rich hot and cold breakfast. The General Hospital and numerous private hospitals, the Viennese Brunnen and Yppen street markets, the Freud museum, Volksoper, Votivchurch, City hall or Palace Gschwandner are also in the walking distance. Because of a good location near the metro line U6 all the places of interest - from Grinzing to Schonbrunn - are easy to reach. The rooms are equipped with minibar, hair dryer, writing case, alarm clock, WiFi, sat-TV, radio, soundproof windows, phone... Classical live music on Sunday breakfast, leafy courtyard, 24 hours open bar with Viennese wines, private SPA or a Nespresso machine in your room are only few of the many extra services we offer, which explain our slogan "3 stars hotel with 4 stars service and 5 stars charm". Our hotel was built in 1901 as a wedding gift and offers for more than 111 years lived hospitality and Viennese tradition, also marked in the successful architectural symbiosis of Art Nouveau with modern elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donauwalzer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing