We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Ranked #43 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be quite a treasure in a very convenient location close to the Museum Quarter, the Hofburg, Opera etc.
The staff were all very helpful, attentive and friendly and recognised us and our room number each time we entered, despite the hotel being fairly full.
The breakfast was exceptional with a vast range of fruit, breads, cold meats, cooked items as well as sparkling wine on offer!
The rooms were well-equipped and comfortable and free internet was available just off the lobby.
There were quite a number of interesting and reasonably-priced restaurants and bars very close to the hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    788
    119
    18
    7
See reviews for
476
1,075
103
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington D. C.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

The Maria Theresia is a newer hotel done in a contemporary style and furnishings. The location has much going for it. It is located between two subway stops, and is a very short walk to restaurants. and shopping, and a fairly easy 10-15 minute walk to the Opera House and other historic sites. It is on a back street so it is quiet. My only real complaint is the total lack of character. In such a historic city, it seems a shame to stay in such a sterile hotel. On my next visit I would stay at a hotel with more charm and character. If you like new and contemporary facilities this is a great location. If you are looking for charming and character look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Good locatiion
  • Disliked — No character
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank logcolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

This hotel is a perfect base for a short break and visting the sights of Vienna on foot. The location is very central, but our room was nevertheless quiet and there is secure parking under the hotel.

Our room was a good size, well presented with an immaculate bathroom. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and the breakfast selection was excellent.

Overall good value for money in an expensive city - we will definitley look for K&K hotels again.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank jchUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
451 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Like other another reviewer, my wife and I stayed at the K&K Maria Theresia for three nights in January, as part of a short city break. We were also impressed.

The location of the hotel, whilst not in the historic centre, is very well situated for the Mariahilfe shopping street, MuseumsQuartier and the Natural and Art History museums. The Hofburg, Naschmarkt and historic centre are all within walking distance. If you don’t fancy the walk, you can get to all the sights from the Volkstheater public transport hub, a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. There are also a couple of interesting bars and restaurants near to the hotel but the area cannot be considered ‘lively’, (or particularly noisy).

The hotel has a contemporary feel with good quality fixtures and fittings. The reception staff are friendly and English speaking. There are two lifts that service the upper floors.

Our twin room was on the 5th floor and looked on to an interior courtyard, therefore had zero traffic noise. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom modern and functional with some good quality cosmetics and such for your use. The room also had a safe and a flat screen TV showing CNN and a number of Austrian and other foreign stations. Wardrobe and drawer space was decent enough. There was no wireless internet access in the room but there was ‘wired’ access, which worked perfectly well.

Breakfast was better than the continental norm, even the coffee was (slightly) better than the usual bitter, weak brews one encounters. I would pay extra for a decent cup, honest I would. The breakfast tea was (according to my wife) perfectly acceptable.

Considering the price I paid for the hotel and flights, I would consider the Maria Theresia very good value for money. I cannot say how much I paid for the room as it was included in the package. What I can say is that the cost of the flights and room for three nights was only £150 more than the cost of two return fares to Paris on the much vaunted train.

Heartily recommended.

  • Liked — Location, contemporary feel, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — There was a back door but it always seemed to be locked.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JandApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We stayed from 6 Jan for 3 nights for a winter break in a very cold Vienna.

The K&K is a smart, modern and spotlessly clean hotel. Reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful with restaurant and transport tips.

Our room was on the 5th floor and looked out over the Museum Quartier and to the rooftops of most of the significant buildings in Vienna centre. Although not that busy the street below was on a tram route - the trams ran until late and start early and might bother light sleepers.

The room was comfortable and a good size. The bathroom was clean with good quality toiletries and the underfloor heating was much appreciated - no cold tiles.

As commented by other reviewers, the hot and cold buffet breakfasts are excellent. The staff always ensure that items on the buffet are replenished and there is a wide selection.

The location of the hotel is really convenient with easy access to the city centre and to public transport links. There were a number of restaurants within easy walking distance even though several in the Spittelburg neighbourhood were closed.

We would certainly seek out K&K hotels again.

  • Liked — Stylish decor
  • Disliked — Noise from trams
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JayBee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

K+K Maria Theresia is a superb no-frills no-fuss 3-4 star hotel. Nothing to rant and rave about but nothing particularly objectionable either. We had a very quiet street-facing room on the 6-th floor with beautiful views. Our king sized bed was comfy, bed linen and towels were topnotch, and bathroom nice, new and squeaky clean. The breakfast is excellent by European standards, definitely worth having if it comes with the room rate. I had my doubts over the location, but it was great! The neighborhood has some great eateries and cafes, little shops and art galleries, and the best Christmas market in our opinion.

The only thing that holds me back from giving Maria Theresia a 5 is that housekeeping standards dropped significantly on our last day: bathroom amenities were not replenished, bed was really badly made (if made at all for that matter), and face towels were dumped on the counter as opposed to being nicely-rolled as on previous days. It made us feel that it was time to leave.

However, reservation and front desk were very professional - all my pre-arrival emails and questions were answered instantly, check-in was smooth and efficient, and we were given a choice of rooms available.

An excellent choice overall. In fact, for such a pricey city, this hotel seemed to be comparatively inexpensive.

  • Liked — Quality bed, mattress and bedding.
  • Disliked — Sloppy housekeeping on our last day.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights over the New Year period after spending 2 nights in Salzburg.

Arrival
We arrived at Westbahnhof from Salzburg then got on the underground to Volkstheater station, the hotel was just a 2 minute walk up the road. A single journey ticket was 1.7 Euros and a day ticket was 5.7 Euros. You have to validate your ticket by stamping it in the blue boxes before you go down to the platform. The underground was extremely easy to use.

Location
The location of the hotel is good, we preferred to walk everywhere but the nearest underground is just down the road. Parlament and the Rathaus are about a 10 minute walk. The Spanish Riding School and Museums are about a 10 minute walk. St. Stephan’s Square is about a 15-20 minute walk. The main shopping high street is about a 5 minute walk.

Hotel
The hotel itself caters for business trips, therefore had little character.
The lobby was large with reception on the left, seating on the right and a bar in the middle. There’s an internet room next to the seating with free access and printing facilities. The breakfast room is also on the same floor.

Room
We were in room 406 which had a view of the internal courtyard. It was a fairly decent size compared to most European hotels. There was a television, mini bar, tea & coffee and safe. There wasn’t a huge amount of storage space. The room did get quite hot during the night so we did have to open the window.

Food & Drink
We only had breakfast while we were here. We were impressed with the breakfast, a very nice selection and always replenished so no matter what time we came down there was plenty.

Staff
The reception staff were very helpful, gave us leaflets, cards and advice on the city. All our questions were answered.

Miscellaneous
- I recommend a day trip to Bratislava, Slovakia. It’s about an hour’s journey on the train and costs 14 Euros each return. The trains depart from Sudbahnhof which can be reached by a short walk from the underground station Sudtiroler. Once at Bratislava Station get a number 80 bus to the old town (5th stop). You will notice the drop in price for everything compared to Vienna!! A walk up to Devin Castle will give you great views of the city and the Danube.

- Centimeter II is a Restaurant not far from the Hotel which serves huge portions in gimmicky ways. Be prepared to wait for the privilege though, it was packed every time we went in there.

Overall
If you want a decent hotel as good base for exploring the city then the K+K Maria Theresa is ideal.

  • Liked — Location and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room Temperature Control
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#42 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Hotel Maria Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Maria Theresia

Property: K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Address: Kirchberggasse 6-8, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#37 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Maria Theresia 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bohemian district of Spittelberg – directly in the centre of Vienna and yet still a quiet location – you will find the urbane and intimate K+K Hotel Maria Theresia. Distinguished ambiance, individual service and Austrian hospitality set our luxury hotel in Vienna apart. The exquisite living quarters as well as the fresh and modern atmosphere make your stay at the Vienna K+K Hotel Maria Theresia especially enjoyable. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your K+K Hotel Maria Theresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Maria Theresia
k Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing