We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of K+K Palais Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
K+K Palais Hotel
Ranked #40 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Although at the beginning I booked another hotel, with free cancellation, due to its price for a triple room I kept searching for another. At the end I found K +K Palais Hotel, which was far cheaper than the other one.
Unfortunately the time we had to spend there was very limited. We arrived at around 11:00pm from a flight from Prague, and checked out at around 09:30am. The check in was very swift, the guy at reception had the check in form already filled in, and the only thing I had to do was check its correctness and sign it.
The hotel inside looked exceptionally good, clean and welcoming.
The room was on the large side (room 404), exceptionally clean and had everything we could need.
The shower was large and the bed was the largest I slept in.
Breakfast buffet was very good with many items, hot and cold to choose from.
Although we checked out early in the morning, we left our luggage there and returned in the afternoon. We went into the business room, where we had free coffee and water and rested there until our taxi arrived to take us to the airport.
Everybody was very helpful there and it's location is very central, about 8 to 10 minutes away on foot from St. Stephan's cathedral.
The area of the hotel is very quiet at night as well as during the day.
I highly recommend this hotel to any one. I wish we had more time to spend there, but if I visit Vienna again I will certainly stay there, if the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophivosCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    417
    69
    15
    8
See reviews for
226
572
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Really nice hotel in a quiet square, yet city sights are very accessible.
Rooms clean, airy and comfy beds.
Breakfasts very good, fresh fruits pastries, cereals, also hot food.
What sets it apart from lots of other hotels are the staff, they were friendly, extremely kind and very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Executive room which overlooked the Square, and which had lots of space and was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel without any reservations. I had an excellent five night stay there and will certainly use it again when I am in Vienna.

Although I have been to Austria several times, I had never been to Vienna. I decided to use some of my air miles (can’t get used to Avios!) to book a short break. As usual, I booked the package through BA and the K+K Palais came up on the list of hotels. In view of the good Tripadvisor reviews I decided to book it.

Transfer from the airport was unbelievably easy. Probably the simplest transfer I have ever done. I caught the Vienna Airport Bus from just outside the terminal building to Morzinplatz. It took 20 minutes and cost €8.00. There is a bus every 30 minutes. It is only a five minute walk to the hotel from the bus stop.

Hotel check in was very quick and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. I had emailed in advance for a quiet room and sure enough, I had a room which was probably the quietest I have had in the many hotels I have stayed in. My room (301) was at the back of the hotel. Rooms at the front have a view over Rudolfsplatz Square and park. Although there were cars parked around the square I never actually saw one in motion! A room at the front would have a better view and, I think, still be very quiet.

There are a few restaurants and bars in the area surrounding the hotel and they are all very easy to find. There are also two supermarkets, Hofer and Billa. Bothe sell a good range of fresh food etc. Ideal for buying rolls etc for a day out. They do not, however, open on Sunday’s.

As many other reviewers have observed, the breakfasts are excellent. The usual range of cold meats, fruit, bread rolls, scrambled eggs etc, etc. The dining room was usually very busy but the friendly and efficient staff worked very hard to ensure that food was replenished regularly. They also circulated regularly with coffee for refills. Another reviewer has commented on the lack of English language newspapers. Every day I was there I found a copy of the Financial Times so maybe the reviewer was unlucky.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but there is a small bar in the reception area. I did not, however, use it so cannot comment.

My room was very clean. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and I slept like a log. It was not a large room and comparable with the average size of rooms in New York hotels. It was, however, perfectly adequate and, contrary to some reviews, did have a bath. It also had a mini bar and free tea and coffee. On arrival there were two bottles of water but, when used, they were not replaced.

Wi Fi is free and very fast. I asked for the code at reception and, once logged in, I was kept logged in for the whole stay. There are also computer workstations near reception and a business lounge.

As I have already mentioned, the hotel is very close to the Airport Bus stop. It is also very close the Schwedenplatz and Scottenring U Bahn stations and tram stops. I recommend buying a travel pass if staying for a few days. One for three days costs €14.50 and gives unlimited travel on the ultra efficient Vienna public transport system. The hotel is in a good location for those wishing to explore Vienna on foot.

So, all in all, an excellent trip and an excellent stay at this great hotel. Despite being on the move for the whole time, there was still a lot I didn’t see. A return trip is, therefore, essential and I will certainly be staying at the highly recommendable K+K Palais.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ST1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent a week at the hotel from 2nd September. Lovely room 407 very quiet facing the park.
Hotel modern and very clean.
Staff very helpful. - Left a bottle of champagne for our Anniversary.
Good location - had taxi via hotel from airport and then used airport bus to go back.
Included in our room rate was Vienna card with entrance to one of the Palace's.

Room Tip: Paid extra for an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carola59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Reception and all staff very friendly and helpfull. Bedroom was a good size bathroom and shower great. Breakfast was fine with a good quality selection. The breakfast room was raraley that crowded. The hotel is a modernised historic building facing a park on a quiet side street. A good location for most sites. The airport bus stop is a five minute walk away as is the underground. The bus from the airport was 8 euros and took about 25 minutes it leaves every half hour. The hotel was generaly quiet and had a relaxed feel to it. I would ceratinly return and have no hesitation recommending.

Room Tip: our room facing the park was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and one year old daughter stayed at K+K for three nights in September of 2013. The location of the hotel was very peaceful while still within walking distance to many of the city's attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. After a couple days, I even warmed up to the sinister paintings of clowns hung on the walls of my room. The breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was very well maintained and spotlessly clean and the bedrooms although a little on the small side (which we expected) were very quiet. The hotel is located in a quieter part of Vienna, near the Danube yet only a ten minute walk from the main street, Stephensplatz and the nearest Metro station was just under ten minutes walk. The quality and choice of Continental items at breakfast was very good indeed, lots of breads, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruit, jams and juices etc. When we return to Vienna, we will definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1973FMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#36 of 360 in Vienna
414 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#53 of 360 in Vienna
882 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Salzgries
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#19 of 360 in Vienna
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K+K Palais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Palais Hotel

Property: K+K Palais Hotel
Address: Rudolfsplatz 11, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#34 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#43 Business Hotel in Vienna
#47 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Palais Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind an elegant old facade lies this hotel of great sophistication and modern luxury a historical building once belonging to the imperial family. As all K + K Hotels it offers state-of-the-art amenities elegantly furnished rooms and the personal service of highly trained and motivated staff. Its quiet location in the Vienna city center and its close proximity to St. Stephens Cathedral to the pedestrian area and underground stations make it particularly attractive. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your K+K Palais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Palais Hotel
Hotel k Palais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing