We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable beds and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #85 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed a long weekend in a Privilege room for a very attractive price (we booked direct at the website of the hotel). What are these beds comfortable, a real pleasure to lay down. It is a pity there is so much to see in Vienna that there is no time for a siesta.

The room is extremely clean and beautifully decorated in a Gustav Klimt style. The hotel is very centrally located: you walk easily to the centre, Museum Kwartier, Kunsthistorisches Museum (a must!), main shopping streets etc. are nearby. It is located next to a subway station, so from the airport you take train S7 (euro 4 from the vending machine you see on the way) to station Praterstern / Wien Nord, there you buy a ticket for the subway U2, the purple line, direction Karlstadt (euro 2) and get of at subway station Rathaus. Take exit Jozefsplatz, exiting the subway station the hotel is a walk of about 5 minutes. Go straight ahead, cross a big street and the next alley on your right is the Jozefsgasse, 150 meters on your right is the hotel. Free wifi.

We enjoyed Schloss Schonbrunn and a concert there in the evening (you need the subway to get there), Kunsthistorisches Museum, Schatzkammer, and Upper Belvedere museum (for the impressive Kiss of Gustav Klimt). We had very good and cheap Thai food at the Nassmarkt (closed on Sunday).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Nice hotel in a good location (near Rathaus and Parliament). Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Preferred room and were extremely comfortable. The room is exceptionally clean - including sealed robes, towels, and tamper proof shampoos. The bed was quite comfortable and, perhaps most surprisingly, the air conditioner continues to work when you leave the room ensuring you return to a comfortable room. The free in-room Internet worked well and we had no problems of any kind on our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFranci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

As far as 4 star hotels go the josephof mercure was right on point.....we had a nice room...very clean....hotel staff were very helpful...location was fine to visit all the attractions we wanted to see...all by foot....close to Mariahof street for all your retail shopping needs....very happy with our stay....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

There are many hotels located in the city centre, however, so many were way out of my price range so I had the task of finding the nicest, closest, affordable hotel possible. Mission accomplished with this hotel. My room was small, but with a city like Vienna to explore, I didn’t plan on spending much time in there. The room was very clean - which is a huge factor for me. The beds were super comfy and the bathroom well equipped with a hair dryer and shampoo etc.

The hotel is located just off a main road on a small side street which has a couple of markets close by for drinks and snacks. The subway (underground) station is a few minutes walk away - just a couple of blocks. I used the Rathaus station to get me where I needed to go if it were a far distance or if it were raining. Vienna is a city that you can walk around very easily because so many sights are very close together. I used the subway to get me to Schonbrunn Palace and then later to the west train station - again, very easy to navigate thru.

I would stay here again and definitely recommend, especially if you are looking for a hotel around $100/night which is the deal I got on Expedia. The staff was helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Very good location in real walking distance from every city center location. Public transport

Rooms are very pleasant. Especially "privileged" ones. However view from the window is ether another room's window looking at narrow inner yard (our case) or wall of the building at the other side of the grasse.

Internet service (Wi-Fi) is literally unusable: one should enter password every 2-3 hours. Passwords last only 72 hours and should be picked up from the counter each time. Moreover sometimes (usually at night) devices just stop connecting to Wi-Fi network.

Service is OK, but internet thing spoils everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I haven't had the best impression of Mercure, but this one in Vienna is very nice! I stayed in the "Privilege" rooms located in a separate area of the hotel with their own elevator and what looks like will eventually be their own lobby. The room was a decent size and, although decorated in a style not really to my taste, everything was new and fresh. There was a bench seat at the end of the bed which was handy, plenty of hall space for bags/shoes/jackets and a small desk perfect for a laptop. Wifi was free for 72 hours and worked fine. A free bottle of water was included daily, pay minibar in the room. The bathroom had a generous walk-in shower with rain head and normal shower - could have used some shelving in here to keep toiletries and would also have liked a few hooks in the main bathroom area for clothes. Everything was spotless and in perfect working order. One note - the bathroom door was frosted glass with a Klimt-esque painting, and you could see through it. Not a problem when in the shower or the toilet area since those had an additional frosted glass door, but I still prefer a full door to the bathroom! Bed was big and very comfortable, with separate fluffy duvets for each side so you can sleep without fighting over the covers! The hotel website claims they have 500 world channels on their TV - but I was disappointed to only find 2 English channels and an average collection of Austrian/German channels. The 'world channels' apparently refers to a pay TV system that seemed to consist mainly of religious channels...strange, and misleading unless I missed something!
Hotel has a great location on a very quiet side street, short walk to either Volkstheater or Rathaus metro stops, also very close to the tram #2 that goes around the Ringstrasse towards the Parkring. For walkers, it is easy to reach the Museumsquartier, Hofburg and St Stephens on foot.
Overall, this hotel surpassed my expectations and I would definitely consider staying here again because of the good transport links and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Mercure Josefshof is a well located hotel, near the Parliament, Rathaus, and a quick walk to the Museumsquartier. We had a standard room, paying nearly US$40 less than an upgraded room; it was large, with a desk and chair, two arm chairs and a comfortable double bed and truly was an excellent value. The bathroom as well as the rest of the room (and the hotel itself) were recently renovated, comfortable and clean. Not only can you walk to many sites, but it is near a UBahn station. The front desk was helpful and efficent. In addition to WiFi (three days for free) in your room, there are two computer available for use. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but ate at some cafes nearby. I'd highlight Cafe Eiles, two blocks away, which was reasonable, had few tourists and had excellent coffee and food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaID19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#153 of 359 in Vienna
887 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#67 of 359 in Vienna
1,192 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#55 Family Hotel in Vienna
#64 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#103 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £72 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing