We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #92 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent location. In walking distance of Hofburg and Museums Quartier. Close to the metro station. Quiet, clean and with excellent staff. The bathroom was modern, but the room was a little dated in my opinion. We found the breakfast quite expensive (16e per person). Overall, it was a very nice hotel and I would surely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky1985_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    600
    188
    45
    20
See reviews for
185
643
66
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Spent 8 nights in early August at this place, when the temperature was often in the mid to late 30's, as it generally is in recent years. Yes, room 523 air-con seemed to be on 24/7 (and this is a shame "green-wise") but it simply was unable to provide a sufficiently low temperature, resulting in somewhat "sticky" experience for the wife and I.

There are no rooms with a "view" here, it's just the inner courtyard, the multi-car park opposite or on the fifth floor the sky itself courtesy of a "Velux" effort in the ceiling. Bathroom was excellent but warmer than the room itself.

The location is indeed excellent, and in July/August the nightly Rathaus (City Hall) televised concerts are interesting if you're into high culture (ballet, opera etc).

Prices in central Vienna are extortionate though, witness E32 per couple for breakfast at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the air-con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellarine Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was the first European Christmas for our family and this hotel was a fabulous choice. We arrived by train from Salzburg and were a little unsure of the distance to the hotel, so caught a taxi, which was a fairly quick journey (and next time I would catch the U-line, as it is very close by). We found the girl who checked us in to be somewhat reserved and not very welcoming, which was a bit disappointing, as we were in the Christmas mood and it dampened our mood somewhat. However, we went upstairs to our room and were incredibly happy. We had a large room overlooking the front street with bed, sofa, desk, fridge, wardrobe, and a huge bathroom off the entrance-way with a lovely gold basin and double shower head.... but no bed for our 11-year-old??? I took the lift downstairs to advice reception and by the time I came back up to our room, housekeeping were already there making up his bed - what absolutely fabulous service.

We found three supermarkets nearby, all within about 2 minutes walking distance. Because we would be there over 24/12 and did not know how many restaurants would be open in the evening (the only drawback of this hotel - no lunch or evening dining) - we stocked up on fruit, yoghurt, pastries, sandwiches for the evening. The hotel is so well located for the Rathaus, Museum Quarter, Imperial Palace, etc. We visited the Imperial Chapel to hear the Vienna Boys Choir sing on Christmas Day and it was close enough for us to eat a long breakfast in the hotel first and still be in good time for mass.

Speaking of breakfasts - WOW. This was one of the best buffet breakfasts I had experienced throughout Europe. Possibly it was more special because it was Christmas time (Champagne on 24-25 December) - but there was a big assortment of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cakes, biscuits, breads, pastries, hot food and cold cuts - and best of all, Christmas Carols were playing in the background. Perhaps the only disconcerting feature was that other guests came to breakfast with their dog, who lay under their table - dogs in restaurants/hotels are unheard of in Australia, so this was a big shock for us.

We were a little disappointed not to have tea/coffee facilities in our room, however we were able to order these down at reception/bar and bring them back upstairs to our room in the evening.

We were here for 6 nights - and I would definitely recommend it as a lovely, comfortable hotel in a great central location - with brilliant breakfasts and all for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkelpunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2012, not sure if I'd stay again but if I did it would be due to the good location - everything within walking distance.
Stayed in a single room - got a deal on a hotel comparison website, full rate was overpriced.
Bathroom very modern, good sink and shower.
However, room was not vacuumed during my stay and pillowcases and bedsheets were not changed. Is this normal?
Decor of room was quite dated.
Snacks taken from minibar were not replaced. Upon checking out, reception desk staff rely on honesty of guest to say what was taken from minibar.
No Internet connection on last day of stay but didn't mind because I was leaving, otherwise it would have been a problem.
Breakfast was not included in rate. Cost €16, paid for it the first morning but not worth it. Went to spar shop next days for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ihearthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a Privilege room in June. We were very pleasantly surprised by the Klimt decor but even more so by the fact we had a small courtyard/balcony where we could sit in the afternoon for a relaxing drink after a long day's sightseeing. Breakfasts were excellent. The staff were always extremely helpful and efficient. The bed was very comfortable but a little soft at the edges so it felt like you could slip off if you sat or slept on the edge. There were a number of good restaurants nearby, as well as two or three supermarkets. All in all, an excellent hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: It's probably worth upgrading to a Privilege room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nagatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in this hotel in June 2012. The hotel is easy to get to from the airport: it's located next to U2 metro line (Rathous station). It's within walking distance to the Museum Quarter, Hofburg Palace, and many other attractions. The hotel itself is tucked away from major traffic noise, so it's very quiet. The hotel itself is very clean. Our room was nicely decorated, clean, with working AC - although the weather was so nice, we slept with a window open. The bed was really comfortable. The bathroom had enough space for our toiletries. The reception desk staff was friendly and welcoming. Check-in and check-out process was very fast and efficient. There's a free wi-fi in the hotel, which was helpful. Breakfast wasn't included in our rate - however, there's lots of places to eat nearby. Beware, that most grocery stores in the area (not sure about the rest of the city) close at 6 pm, so plan accordingly if you wish to buy some water/snacks, etc.
Overall, a very nice, clean, convenient and comfortable hotel. Would most definitely stay there again and recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerb0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed a long weekend in a Privilege room for a very attractive price (we booked direct at the website of the hotel). What are these beds comfortable, a real pleasure to lay down. It is a pity there is so much to see in Vienna that there is no time for a siesta.

The room is extremely clean and beautifully decorated in a Gustav Klimt style. The hotel is very centrally located: you walk easily to the centre, Museum Kwartier, Kunsthistorisches Museum (a must!), main shopping streets etc. are nearby. It is located next to a subway station, so from the airport you take train S7 (euro 4 from the vending machine you see on the way) to station Praterstern / Wien Nord, there you buy a ticket for the subway U2, the purple line, direction Karlstadt (euro 2) and get of at subway station Rathaus. Take exit Jozefsplatz, exiting the subway station the hotel is a walk of about 5 minutes. Go straight ahead, cross a big street and the next alley on your right is the Jozefsgasse, 150 meters on your right is the hotel. Free wifi.

We enjoyed Schloss Schonbrunn and a concert there in the evening (you need the subway to get there), Kunsthistorisches Museum, Schatzkammer, and Upper Belvedere museum (for the impressive Kiss of Gustav Klimt). We had very good and cheap Thai food at the Nassmarkt (closed on Sunday).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#144 of 360 in Vienna
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#132 of 360 in Vienna
661 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#94 of 360 in Vienna
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Property: Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#67 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing