We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good with really nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #90 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is very well located, close to the City Hall and close to the subway station. The rooms were very pleasant and large enough. Some of them even had a balcony.
In our last day there, we were invited to a private party with beer and typical food! We had a blast!!!! We will never forget that party!!!
Thanks to all the team!!!
We we return, we will stay in the same hotel, again. No doubt about that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRibeiro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive review on tripadvisor.com

We were happy to read that you liked your stay and even our "Oktoberfest" which we celebrate every year with our clients.

Hope to see you back again some time at the Mercure Josefshof.

Best regards and wishes to Portugal.

Elisabeth Naubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Location is great, the 8th district is rich on various little boutiques and furthermore some nice theaters are located close by. The next subway station is approx. 4 min walking. In general, location is definitely top! But really great is the service. The first room we got wasn't really nice as too small and no nice view, however, after kindly asking for another room the service guy shows us even several rooms and let us decide which one we take. That was very great, finally we got a very very nice room (I booked the privilege class) even in "Gustav Klimt" style. Breakfast "to room" service works also pretty good, always on time and ordering extra items a second and even third time was also possible. The staff was in general very friendly. Really really comfortable are also the beds, we liked it pretty much! Wifi worked very fast as well, no issues like low speed or disruptive connection during our stay.

Summarized, I just can recommend this hotel to everybody, especially to everybody which likes the Biedermeier or Gustav Klimt style! This hotel represents Vienna in a great manner! Keep that level! *well done*

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HerrFranzKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

what to say than thank you very much for your outstanding feedback.

Many of our staff members already came and asked if I already read yourf review.
The entire Josefshof Team is looking forward to hopefully welcome you back soon here in Vienna.

Best regards and wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a delightfully charming joint, perfect for Vienna. We visited for the lovely Christmas markets, and found this hotel to be ideally located close to two of the biggest ones. The metro stop was a hop away, so it was never a problem getting to the center of the city in a jiffy, or you could do the fifteen beautiful walk through the enchanting streets of Vienna. The rooms, admittedly, are small, but charming nonetheless. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the breakfast had champagne! We found an excellent last minute deal which proved to be a great value. Wifi is sketchy, but other than that, recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us on tripadvisor.com

Nearly everybody loves our ideal location from where all the important hot spots of the city can be easily reached within a few minutes.

Thank you, too for your praises about the staff, the room and the breakfast.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Exceptionally clean city, accommodating and professional staff. There are at least five cozy restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Easy access to public transportation, food, and clothes shopping. This was my 8th consecutive visit to Vienna and the 6th time at the hotel. I will definitely stay there again and have recommended it to colleagues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Till R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

thanky ou so much for your positive review and your praises which we will happily forward to our staff.

It is always again a pleasure tom welcome you here at the Josefshof.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards to New Jersey

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel, an Art Déco structure, is perfectly located in a very quiet street near a stop of the Ring Tram which will take you in no time to all major sights of the inner city.

Our Superior Room was sufficiently spacious though the room decor was a little outdated. Beds were comfortable.

There was some mold around the bathtub (more mold and chalk was to be found in our friend's bathroom in the room next to ours). A problem that can easily be seen and resolved, what makes it even more strange, that Housekeeping does not take care of it. The dark red tapestries in the hallways had some scratches from suitcases which also made the hotel unneccessarily appear more run down that it actually is.

(Free) Wifi was unfortunately very unstable.

Breakfast was good and plentiful, but the two hostesses we met during our stay, that took the room numbers and showed us our table, we not very sympathetic and a little harsh (perhaps a language problem, they apparently weren't native German speakers).

Those flaws aside: would return (for a reasonable rate) without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear user JanBerlin,

thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Mercure Josefshof.

We are always glad to receive feedback, either positive or negative, from our guests in order to improve our quality.
Please be assured that we already took care of your mentioned points and trained the staff again.

We hope to welcome you once again and recommend to try our newly and state of the art renovated privilege rooms.

Best regards

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fantastic location, just behind the Vienna townhall, 5 minutes walk from the Parliament, the Museums Quartier, the Hofburg palace, 10 minute walk from the Opera and 20 minutes walk from Stephanplatz.
The room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The hotel staff really friendly and the breakfast delicious!
Really family and kids friendly. They provided us with an excellent baby cot!

Room Tip: Try the business club rooms, 2nd floor and above.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lazaros79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Lazaros79,

Thank you so much for your great feedback about your recent stay.
This will serve as an encouragement for our staff to always provide our guests with top service.

We hope that these comments will be helpful for the tripadvisor community.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Near the Rathaus and Rathaus Metro stop. Clean, comfortable room with no leftover smoke smell typical in European hotels. Room 140. Tea/coffee maker a plus. One block from theater with regular Mozart concerts. Easy walk to Hofburg palace and Sisi Museum and from there another short distance to the city center. Would come back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Antwerp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear user Antwerp72,

thank you very much for your feedback about our Mercure Josefshof.

It is great to read that you fully recomment our hotel to the tripadvisor community.

Would love to welcome you back soon.

Best regards and wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#141 of 361 in Vienna
868 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#101 of 361 in Vienna
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Vienna
#66 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £74 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing