We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #94 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place was right near the city centre, so we were able to walk to most of the sites which was wonderful. The room was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. The wifi was ok, but spotty, but you know what, the price was so good I would say this place was a great value. You get a decent stay and can save your money to enjoy at the many restaurants close by :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear user Zabtravel,

thank you very much for taking the time commenting on your recent stay with us.

It was a great pleasure to read about your satisfaction of our hotel.
Hope to welcome you soon back at the Josefshof.

Best regards to Canada

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a room at the first floor ( huge mistake) in the morning at 6oclock in the room felt like we were in the kitchen downstairs, a lot of noise and the smell was awful. We couldn't sleep from 6 in the morning. The breakfast was a bad joke for 16€ and the internet connection didn't exist. I choose this hotel because it has a private parking but depends if you have enough luck to find a place in the garage or you'll have to leave it on the street.

Room Tip: Don't choose the first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadalinaSarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking your precious time to give us a feedback about your recent stay at our Mercure Josefshof.

We feel very sorry for your negative experiences and please be assured that we will take every necessary step to avoid any similar incident in the future.
We would be very pleased to receive feedback like yours already during your stay. So we could resolve these issues immediately. As we did not have any complaint about noise or smell before we will try our best to find out what this is about.

We also regret that you did not like our brekfast buffet. We usually get many praises about the variety and the option to have breakfast until 12:00h every day.

We would be glad to welcome you back again despite your experiences to get the chance to convince you about your quality and services.

Best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Naubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ideal location-closeby some of the main attractions in Vienna but not in the typical tourist area. Nice to discover a real Vienese neighbourhood.. Closeby MuseumQ and Hoffburg area. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear user Matt T,

thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay withn us.

We hope to welcome you back quite soon.

Best regards from Vienna.

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is very well located, close to the City Hall and close to the subway station. The rooms were very pleasant and large enough. Some of them even had a balcony.
In our last day there, we were invited to a private party with beer and typical food! We had a blast!!!! We will never forget that party!!!
Thanks to all the team!!!
We we return, we will stay in the same hotel, again. No doubt about that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRibeiro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive review on tripadvisor.com

We were happy to read that you liked your stay and even our "Oktoberfest" which we celebrate every year with our clients.

Hope to see you back again some time at the Mercure Josefshof.

Best regards and wishes to Portugal.

Elisabeth Naubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Location is great, the 8th district is rich on various little boutiques and furthermore some nice theaters are located close by. The next subway station is approx. 4 min walking. In general, location is definitely top! But really great is the service. The first room we got wasn't really nice as too small and no nice view, however, after kindly asking for another room the service guy shows us even several rooms and let us decide which one we take. That was very great, finally we got a very very nice room (I booked the privilege class) even in "Gustav Klimt" style. Breakfast "to room" service works also pretty good, always on time and ordering extra items a second and even third time was also possible. The staff was in general very friendly. Really really comfortable are also the beds, we liked it pretty much! Wifi worked very fast as well, no issues like low speed or disruptive connection during our stay.

Summarized, I just can recommend this hotel to everybody, especially to everybody which likes the Biedermeier or Gustav Klimt style! This hotel represents Vienna in a great manner! Keep that level! *well done*

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HerrFranzKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

what to say than thank you very much for your outstanding feedback.

Many of our staff members already came and asked if I already read yourf review.
The entire Josefshof Team is looking forward to hopefully welcome you back soon here in Vienna.

Best regards and wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a delightfully charming joint, perfect for Vienna. We visited for the lovely Christmas markets, and found this hotel to be ideally located close to two of the biggest ones. The metro stop was a hop away, so it was never a problem getting to the center of the city in a jiffy, or you could do the fifteen beautiful walk through the enchanting streets of Vienna. The rooms, admittedly, are small, but charming nonetheless. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the breakfast had champagne! We found an excellent last minute deal which proved to be a great value. Wifi is sketchy, but other than that, recommended to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggageClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay with us on tripadvisor.com

Nearly everybody loves our ideal location from where all the important hot spots of the city can be easily reached within a few minutes.

Thank you, too for your praises about the staff, the room and the breakfast.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#143 of 359 in Vienna
873 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#100 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Vienna
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £67 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing