We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped room, very soft bed and AC uncomfortable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #98 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cramped room, very soft bed and AC uncomfortable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ok, first the good stuff..the room was quiet, on first floor of new renovated section, nice decor, bathroom is very modern and comfortable, all room amenities were adequate and standard, breakfast was quite good, but less than what we had just experienced in Prague at the Accor chain Hotel Century.

Bad stuff...the room is really cramped and small. The so-called king size bed is a double. Mattress is extremely soft and low to the ground, so you kinda roll out of bed in the morning onto your knees. The AC vent blows directly onto the bed, and when the AC fan is on automatic to control the temperature, the cold air hits you in the face, with no way to adjust the vent. If you reduce the fan strength, the room gets too warm. The TV and server were both out of service for parts of our 3 night stay. Staff in the hotel are unsmiling, try to be helpful, but really not ready for prime time, we had a very different and better experience in Prague at the Hotel Century the 3 nights prior to staying here. We had a rental car so had to park it at the hotel, their lot has space for 14 cars, and if you pay for a spot, they will not hold it for you if you take your car out and someone else fills the space, ridiculous.

Overall, would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless cold soft beds are your thing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quiet, make sure to ask for a recently renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytravels20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest,

sorry for all the Problems you had in our Hotel.

Best Regards

E. Neubauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    551
    175
    42
    19
See reviews for
162
591
63
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's not my first time at this hotel but once again I was impressed by the efficiency at the front desk. As usual, the hotel is clean, warm and friendly. Home away from home...
See you next time (actually, next week...)

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany-Din
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Gast
wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Bewertungen und hoffen Sie bald wieder begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen aus Wien

Elisabeth Neubauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Were able to walk to most sights. Our room was quiet (faced open courtyard.) Good breakfasts in pleasant morning roorm. Staff went over and above to retreive a the mail of mail raincoat that was left in our room in our previous destination in Austria.

Room Tip: I usually prefer street view rooms, but rooms on courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJDJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights earlier this month. Loved it and would not hesitate to stay again. Room was not huge, but comfortable and was on the first floor, right at the top of the stairs, so easy in, easy out. Tram and subway right around the corner, but also within walking distance of the inner city. Clean, newly renovated, modern feel. Bathroom was a nice size, shower was huge! Only suggestion would be to add another chair -- there was only one, so if not the one using the chair, you are sitting on the bed. Staff was very helpful. I had trouble using the lobby computer to print out train tickets and the young man behind the counter could not have been more helpful. If we return to Vienna, I'll definitely check out availability at this hotel first. It really suited us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Google Translation
DANKESCHÖN
Wir haben uns sehr gefreut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I lived in this part of the city a decade ago when all the 'chain' hotels were in the 1st or 4th districts and it was always a bit hit and miss booking local family-run establishments for guest parties larger than I could accommodate in my apartment. This renovated old building run to good international standards is a welcome addition to the 8th district.

It's right next to the English Theatre which is very well worth a visit. Very easy strolling distance to the Rathaus and open air opera festival (free!)

Iced water in jugs in reception was a nice touch in the summer heat. Helpful statf at reception. Complimentary access to Apple mac for internet/email. Charming old world rooms renovated to a high standard. Public areas graciously proportioned. Breakfast first class with opportunity to eat in the shady courtyard.

I had a problem with the safe in my room but the technicians sorted this out for me quickly. The dining room is only open for breakfast. I think that there were minimal bar snacks in the evening but this district has so many good restaurants within easy walking distance that it is not a problem.

Would recommend and return if I need to visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel corresponds to the chain standards and all was fine. The breakfast...was something unbeatable! So much choice, so many dishes, even sekt (sparkling wine) to start off your vacation or celebrate a special morning! All was absolutely fine! Of course, you always want a room with a better view, but it was quiet, nice toiletries.

Room Tip: Maybe the view to the street is better than patio view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkatriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#137 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Josefstadt
Fleming's Deluxe Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#64 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#74 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#120 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Property: Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#72 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing