We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with few services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Ranked #90 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with few services”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is on a lovely quiet street facing some warehouse though. Reception is small and overly busy. There's another entry which is deceiving bc no ones there. There was no help with luggage . Wait at the check in desk was excessive but staff was polite. The inside looks pretty nice and well maintained but not 4 star. I'll say this is solid 3 to 3.5. The room is small but comfy and well kept. Bathroom is small but well stocked. Place seems clean. The lighting is very good and good storage. The restaurant was closed when I passed it at 5pm and I don't see room service menu. There are drinks and wine service. I might stay here again as the rooms are pretty good and location is quiet.

Room Tip: High floor, new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes9971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.com.

It was nice to read that you liked the room and the location.

Usually we do not provide luggage service, but on request it is always possible during the day.
Unfortunately you arrived during a short term period with many guests arriving - a few minutes later it was more quiet again.

We would be very pleased if you would stay with us again and wish you all the best.

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    597
    187
    45
    20
See reviews for
183
641
66
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The location is almost ideal for getting round on the first-class Viennese transport system, with trams, buses and Underground less than 50 yards away. Close-by are a lot of good restaurants, bars and places to visit.

However, the room that we had was a garret with no view at all. It was to be fair a good size, with a good bathroom and very well serviced. The air conditioning was totally inadequate and we had to run the fan at full power (noisy) to get to a liveable temperature for sleeping. If we had known, we would have paid extra for a “Privilige room”

Room Tip: Get a privilige room and make sure A/C works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear user jackb39,

thank you very much for your comments on your stay at our hotel in August .

We are very happy that you liked our great location, but feel sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your room.

During this time of the year with quite high outside temperatures it is sometimes a challenge to cool the rooms to about 21 degrees celsius as very often guests leave the windows open.
In this case we can only cool the rooms adequately by using the maximum power of the AC.

We do hope that you give us the chance to convince you of the quality of our services by booking again our hotel.

In the meantime we remain with best regards from Vienna.

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room (524) was great in the way that it had electric shutters on the windows. It made it really dark at night - something that is a necessity for me to sleep.

The furnishings were a little tired and dated. The location was excellent - it was right by all of the museums and about a 7 minute walk to the centre of the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sceptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay.

We are currently renovating our furniture, but even though we recommend our top modern designed privilege rooms including the free use of an espresso machine and a bottle of mineral water free of charge everyday.if you should return to our hotel someday.

We wish you all the best and send best regards from Vienna

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel Josefshof is centrally located in a quiet street close to the underground and a tram that takes you past the Rathaus, Parliament, the Hofburg, and the Opera. The hotel is within walking distance to the Stephansdom right in the heart of Vienna. The breakfast is magnificent and the staff attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great feedback on your stay at the Mercure Josefshof.

It was a pleasure to read that you liked our location and our services so much.

Hopefully we may welcome you once again if your travel plans guide you back to Vienna.

Best regards and wishes

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On the pro side are excellent location (just next to Parliament and town Hall, 10 minutes walk from Hofburg) and reasonable price.

The downside is that rooms are rather compact, but this is nothing unusual in this category. However, if you can, avoid 6th floor. As it is the top floor, it gets pretty hot in the summer months and air-conditioning couldn’t really compensate it (and it was also really loud). Also there was no tea/coffee set in the room.

If you booked without breakfast, I would recommend to drop the overpriced hotel breakfast, and go to a nearby Cafe where you get Viennese or English breakfast for half the price.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid 6th floor. As it is the top floor, it gets pretty hot in the summer months and air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear user Piotr S,

thank you very much for your honest comments on your stay in July.

We have to admit, that on the 6th floor during the hottest months in July and August with outside temperature above 30 degrees it is a challenge for us to cool the rooms to a temperature below 23 to 24 degrees.
Currently we have an average temperature of 22 degrees in the rooms.

We hope you give us the chance to convince you of our qualities during another stay with us in the future.

We wish you all the best and send kind regards to Essen.

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is ideal. However service could be improved. Long queuing at help desk notably and at breakfast (no croissant left on Sunday). More amenities in bathroom would also be appreciatedThe location is ideal. However service could be improved. Long queuing at help desk notably and at breakfast (no croissant left on Sunday). More amenities in bathroom would also be appreciated.


Room Tip: Rooms would benefit to be modernized. Nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 285Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear user 285Claude,

thank you so much for your helpful comments about your recent businesstrip to Vienna.

We will talk to the involved staff members in order to avoid any similar incident in the future.

Hope to get the chance to convince you of the quality of the Mercure Josefshof in a future stay.

Mellieures salutations de Vienne

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I was here during Christmas. The room curtains and coffee maker had some problems. The staff rectified them quickly. Rooms are a little small/compact. But I found the location to be fantastic. Walked to the main destinations in Vienna from here. Breakfast variety could improve though.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest,

we like to thank you for your feedback on your recent christmas holidays at the Mercure Josefshof.

Your comments are very important to us to steadily improve our quality standards.
The entire Josefshof-team wishes you a great remaining summer time.

Best regards from Vienna

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#145 of 360 in Vienna
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#105 of 360 in Vienna
401 reviews
Mariahilf
Mercure Secession Wien
Mercure Secession Wien
#132 of 360 in Vienna
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus

Property: Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Address: Josefsgasse 4-6 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#66 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Business Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing