We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare because of the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pension Arian
Ranked #47 of 113 Vienna B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nightmare because of the staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The only good thing in this pension (incledible far from being an hotel and even more 4 stars one) is the perfect location

The Old man at reception treated us like a [--]. Very bad. He tried to make me go because he could rent the room for a more expensive price. He did as if I had cancelled the room and never wanted to listen to me or to the papers I was giving. He made me pay at the arrival and tried to make me pay again when checking out. Never go here if you can find anything else

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raelman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    26
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
11
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Excellent location for shopping purposes mostly in Christmas time

Room Tip: Choose a triple room for higher room area.No much difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lumidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

When I booked the family room at Hotel Pension Arian in August 2011, I did it based on the reviews on tripadvisor. I made a huge mistake not heeding the comments about the rude staff. The day that we reached, we went up the hotel and found out that they had cancelled our booking without any mail communication from us. When we lugged our luggage upstairs, the grumpy old man at the reception informed us that he had cancelled our booking. When we protested, he started yelling at us and made racist remarks. He told us that he often cancelled bookings for people from India and the Middle East since he felt they have trouble getting visas to visit Vienna! Guess what - he himself is from Iran!! Please don't make the mistake of staying at this dump with despicable staff. I would suggest trying Hotel Kummer across the road where we ultimately stayed. We loved our stay there.

Room Tip: Any room NOT in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atakru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I planned a trip to Vienna for a romantic Christmas getaway with my boyfriend, and we were looking for a nice, cosy, friendly hotel in the centre. We decided upon this hotel because of its 4 stars and because of its nice location close to the metro station.

Our conclusion: if ‘romantic’ and ‘cosy’ is what you are looking for, please go somewhere else! The rooms are clean and not too small, but that’s about it. Furniture is nothing special and a bit outdated. There was a tv in the room, but it was an old one (no flatscreen of course) and the remote control was broken and had been repaired quite unelegantly with sellotape. Not something I expect in a four star hotel.
The room was on the street side and although the windows had double glass panels, it became a bit noisy in the mornings. In our reservation mail they said wireless internet would be available in the room. This is NOT the case! The only place with wireless reception is the lounge area.

But the worst thing of this hotel are the owners! I guess it’s a family-owned place, and they are grumpy, unkind and not at all helpful! While returning to the room at night we often found the owner sleeping in his chair at the reception , his sock-clad feet on the desk.
To be short: this hotel definitely isn’t worth 4 stars. It’s a clean, nothing-special place as there are hundreds in Vienna, try to get another one at a lower price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PepaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Walk to all key places in old Vienna, or use the underground rail system which is about 100m walk from the hotel. Although this pension is on Vienna's busiest fashion shopping street, the hotel is set back, upstairs and very quiet. Excellent breakfast and beautifully renovated rooms. A supermarket is close by. Walk to Naschmarkt is possible, but train being so slose makes everything easier.
Can take fast train from airport, use lifts at stations to help manage baggage, then change train to reach the pension.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

the hotel has an excellent location in the main shopping steet and is nearby the parliament and the "hotel de ville" you can do everythign by walking and nto using the metro.people over there are very nice, very helpful.rooms are clean.but make sure to contact the hotel to ensure ur reservation.i reserved through the internet and the reservation didnt get to the amdinistration so i had to stay in a room without AC.breakfast is poor compared to other hotels.but if u dont wana pay a lot, do some shopping and stay in an excellent location,this is ur hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2005

Right in the centre of the main shopping street Mariahilfer Stasse, Arian is located in a very convenient location with easy access to the main train line. Very spacious rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Day_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Haydn Hotel Vienna
Haydn Hotel Vienna
#294 of 360 in Vienna
76 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#192 of 360 in Vienna
141 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
Pension Mariahilf
#206 of 360 in Vienna
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel-Pension Continental
Hotel-Pension Continental
#148 of 360 in Vienna
379 reviews
Neubau
Pension Primavera
Pension Primavera
#25 of 113 in Vienna
102 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 113 in Vienna
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Arian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Arian

Property: Hotel Pension Arian
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 58, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pension Arian 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Pension Arian. Hotel Pension Arian is a first class, family-run hotel; an excellent choice for individual and business travellers. We provide with comfortable and quiet rooms with very convenient prices. Our location is ideal. Hotel Arian is situated in the city centre right on Mariahilfer Strasse (Nr.58), the main shopping street in Vienna. The famous Ring Strasse and the historical sites are in walking distance from the Hotel. The subway U3 has a stop in front of the Hotel. The West Railway Station is just 2 stops and the Stephansplatz 3 stops from the hotel. All our rooms are newly renovated and decorated in fine cherry wood. They are complete with bath/shower, WC, cable TV, Internet access, radio, mini bar, telephone and key card lock system. We offer an international breakfast buffet, which is included in the room price. Pay-Parking area is available on request. We arrange a taxi pick up and make reservations for sightseeing tours and concerts. Free Internet (Wi-Fi). We wish our guests a pleasant stay in the Hotel Arian and in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pension Arian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arian Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing