We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week in Vienna” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Academia
Ranked #319 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A week in Vienna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel starting on Aug 27 2011.
It is well located; close to the tram that takes you into the old town in a few minutes.
It is a large hotel with many floors and has several elevators which is wonderful.
The front desk persons were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Internet access computer available.
The breakfast was very good in a large and very nice dining room.
Our room and private bath were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
The room was small with 2 single beds.
Ventilation was a challenge since the weather was hot and no ac. The windows (typ for many buildings I noticed later) opens only at the top on a pivot hinge at the bottom. We had to crack the corridor door to get some through ventilation.
We learned here and at later hotels that the no ac means open windows and noise from outside during the night. One night a busload of young people from Prague were partying late into the night on a floor below; the other nights were ok.
The room faced west so soaked up a lot of heat all day.
Aside from the heat it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Avoid a west facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
2
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Was in Vienna for a conference, stayed for a week. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk from Volkstheater and Rathaus U-Bahn stations, easily found. Service was very prompt and good. Rooms were clean and basic, with a hot shower. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - cereal, bread, ham & cheese, yoghurt, spreads, hot and cold drinks, (though no real juice, which was disappointing...). No luxury experience, but all in all, great value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank doratai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had been to Austria last year for 4 days to see around the places there. We booked Hotel ‎‎Academia as it was very cheap. And by the fact we did not have many expectations from the hotel. ‎‎But the hotel lived up to our expectations.‎
The hotel was located quite far from the city centre but there was a tram stop (7 minutes walk) ‎from ‎the hotel. This tram ran into the city centre. Also there were buses which connected into the ‎city so ‎commuting was not a problem at all.‎
Travellers must understand that this is a hostel converted into a hotel during off peak season. So ‎the ‎rooms were quite small and bathrooms were small even. Rooms were hot; they did not have air ‎conditioning or fan. TV was not available from ‎rooms but there was one in the reception. But since it ‎is only 4 days we could live with it. But no ‎one could expect more for the money that these people ‎charge. I would say it was handsome for ‎the money we paid.‎
Breakfast did not have much of bread options. it was hard bread. But they had cereals and milk. ‎‎There was a lot of meat. They provide you with packed breakfast if you have to leave early for a ‎day ‎tour or any other arranged tours. ‎
Staff were helpful in giving directions, local knowledge and arranging conducted tours. Also most of ‎‎the tours voluntarily pick you up from the hotel so touring is not at all difficult if you choose to stay ‎‎here.‎
Overall there are some pros and cons of this hotel but as I stated earlier it is a good bargain.‎

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tssurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

If you are expecting to stay in a conventional hotel you will be disappointed. The building is a student hall of residence that is used as a hotel during the holidays. If want accommodation to take you back on a nostalgic trip back to your university days this is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

northamptonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Our stay here was very pleasant. the staff were very friendly and aimed to please. The breakfast was nice and the bar opened til late. The room was a little small and the bed was not great, but it was what I expected for the price. It is within walking distance of the main city.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

I enjoyed the hotel and the room (although it was small and had no tv).
The staff was very nice and helpful.
It was well located, with a bus line directly from Sudbanhof, where you drop off from the airport bus.
Shopping streets and restaurants nearby.
I would definitely stay there if I go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Moutinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Arpi
Hotel Arpi
#304 of 367 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#166 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#118 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#91 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#74 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#137 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academia

Property: Academia
Address: Pfeilgasse 3a, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Hotel Class:2 star — Academia 2*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Academia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Academia Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing