We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wandl
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension City(Vienna)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Vienna(Vienna)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Graben Hotel(Vienna)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Stephan(Vienna)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Hotel Royal(Vienna)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (432)
    Filter reviews
    432 results
    Traveller rating
    114
    194
    84
    27
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    114
    194
    84
    27
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgreat locationsingle roomshower screenchurch bellsheart of the citycentral locationhotel is cleantwo blocksair conditioningbeautiful roomfour star hotelhotel is excellentmain shoppingwalking distancebreakfast was includedstandard roomhofburg palace
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    167 - 172 of 432 reviews
    Reviewed 6 June 2013

    This hotel is only two blocks from St. Stephen's Square and is a real gem. Recently renovated and redecorated, the rooms are sleek and modern with great bathrooms and showers. I stayed in a single room and although it was small, it had a comfortable single bed, a desk, a wardrobe with plenty of storage space and a wonderful bathroom and shower. The room looked out on the street and the back of St. Peter's Church. I was only on the second floor, but did not find the street noisy at all. The room was spotlessly clean and remained that way throughout my week long stay. The free wifi and the free computer were a great boon. No one ever seemed to use the computer except me, so that was quite nice! The location is great because you can walk to everything within the Ringstrasse and are only 2 blocks from the U-bahn (subway) for longer journeys. In addition, there are quite a few decent cafes and restaurants within just a couple of blocks, something I appreciated in the pouring rain of this Vienna spring. The breakfast hours are long, the coffee good and the plentiful buffet is varied and delicious. This included scrambled eggs and sausages, as well as the normal breads, muesli, fruits, yogurts and cheeses one expects in a European hotel. The staff was extremely
    friendly and helpful. They all spoke great English and were able to assist us with taxis, directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. I will stay here again and highly recommend it!

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank mustang beau
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 May 2013

    I stayed here for a week with a group from my college in May 2008. It was a charming hotel, clean, airy, spacious, with a grand staircase that opens into the main lobby. It has a very vintage luxurious vibe to it.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and they offered free internet access at a computer in the lobby.

    The location of this hotel was what made it a great one for a first-time visitor to Vienna. It is very close (within easy walking distance) to St. Peter's cathedral, Petersplatz (center city main square area--great for shopping!), and the old town.

    Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a reasonably-priced, centrally-located hotel in the heart of Vienna!

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HonouraryBrit
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2013

    The Wandl is a favorite hotel. It is in a wonderful location--in the old towne--and is perfect for walking, dining, shopping and access to day-trip roads. The services are very good and the rooms are very clean and well decorated. You will always want to return!

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TheTravelBride
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2013

    We stayed at Hotel Wandl 3 nights at the middle of April. The hotel is perfectly located. Close to everything in Innere Stadt. Helpful and polite staff. Nice decor inside, stylish mix of antic and modern design. Rooms are clean, but small and with poor soundproofing. We intentionally booked a room with view to have fresh air from the window facing the street. Rooms without "view" have windows to the internal patio of the hotel which has glass roof, so no fresh air there. Street sounds of horses clip-clops and church bells were really nice.
    This is 4 stars hotel but toiletries in the shower are like in 2 stars hotels. Breakfast was very modest, same choices every day. Again not as expected for 4 stars rated hotels. They keep prices relatively cheaper then other hotels in the city center. Is it because of breakfast/toiletries?
    Few words on WiFi: we booked 2 double rooms which had common wall but were physically located in different corridors. There were no WiFi signal in our room, but the other room did had WiFi connection. Strange, isn't it?

    Room Tip: Choose room with view, this is the only chance you'll get fresh air from an opened window
    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Tanya Z
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 March 2013

    My wife and I stayed at the Wandl several times over the years. The location is excellent. Just behind St Peter Church, a stone's throw from the cathedral, the Hofburg, and all the other main Vienna attractions. This hotel is not new but shows its' age with elegance. It can do with a facelift, but, here I am nitpicking, as the very friendly staff, the cleanliness and the location make you forget any minor fault.

    On New Year's Eve you can go to the Kaiserball on foot. The same goes for the New Year Hofburg Concert.

    Although we were at the Wandl in May 2012, we stayed several times around New Year's Eve.

    • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MaltiMalti
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews