We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault this one”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #25 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel staff are very help full breakfast is excellent even has espresso machine at no extra cost veranda for smokers

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,329)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Austria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Helpful staff, ideal location for getting around the city yet tucked away at the end of a quiet, narrow street. Excellent breakfast. Clean and well appointed rooms but no air conditioning means that in the summer they can be hot. A fan was provided but air-con would turn a four star review into a five star plus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Nice cosy room, perfect for a romantic weekend. From the hotel its close to walk to the places you want to see in Vienna. If we are going to Vienna again we absolutely will go here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skrotnisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Wonderful staff, clean spacious room with lots of light. Great location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblyblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

It is only befitting to stay in an elegant hotel in the exquisite, elegant Vienna.

The hotel's interior is classical and well kept. My room has one of the highest ceilings I have seen for a hotel with high gorgeous window panels. I think this is cassic feature of apartments in Innerstadt (historic district of Vienna)

The bed is super comfortable and bathroom is a delight with bath tub and almost half the size of the room. Breakfast here has a widespread selection and tastes very good. the hotel offers great value for money for its location (near Fleischmarkt) and quality of room and service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My family (7 adults) spent two weeks touring Central Europe. Our second stop was the lovely city of Vienna. We stayed at this great hotel and we were all truly happy we chose this location.

The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the CIty Centre area. The Museum Quarter, Hofborg, St. Stephens -- all are short walks from the hotel. It is tucked into a small street that puts you away from the busiest traffic and helps generally with noise and foot traffic as well. There are two U-Bahn stations within 5 minute walks.

The rooms were great, particularly for tourist activities. We had two rooms which adequately slept all seven people. The rooms were large by European standards, though the additional people in the room did make them feel a bit less spacious. The rooms and bathrooms provided great accommodation for our needs.

A practical note -- the hotel has no air conditioning other than windows that open and fans provided in each room. We happened to be in Vienna during a heat spell so this was more obvious than normal, but we survived perfectly well.

The real aspect of the hotel that earns it the highest marks is the staff. The front desk staff was outstanding. They made us feel welcome and were always able to help out with information, guidance, and assistance. The staff in the rest of the hotel was equally pleasant and helpful. The staff left us all in agreement that we will be back at this hotel when we next return to Vienna.

The hotel has a nice terrace on the second floor as well as a small outdoor seating area in front of the hotel. Both were pleasant places to spend some time. The morning breakfast was great (very typical European breakfast) and included in the cost of the room. Wi-fi was free of charge and worked flawlessly which is not always the case in European hotels.

We strongly recommend you check out Hotel Austria for your next stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlierdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Well it was as expected and more.The decor was tastefully chosen to reflect a historic hotel in the centre of a capital city of the Hapsburg empire.The staff was personable ,friendly and helpful.I departed after a very fine breakfast in a beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,090 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 361 in Vienna
1,362 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 361 in Vienna
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £89 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing