We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #23 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were looking for an affordable hotel in the innere stadt and this fit the bill. Located in a quite alley, the rooms were small but clean, and although we didn't have a bathroom in our room, we the bath & toilet were close and private to us. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made great recommendations for dinner and excursions. It was in a very good location, very close to St Stevens Plaza and the opera house. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaypo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    432
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
336
531
109
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a very good hotel located in a quiet cul-de-sac right at the heart of the city. St Stephen's Cathedral is a four minute walk away. Rooms are clean, breakfast is ok and staff are quite nice and friendly. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarrellMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were looking for a less expensive alternative to our favorite Viennese hotel, the Konig von Ungarn, because we were taking our whole family on a recent vacation. After scouring the TripAdvisor reviews, this hotel looked both traditional and charming and was affordable. The reality came close to most reviews. Even though there was major construction going on on our floor for four days of our six day stay, they started late and ended early. The hotel was exceptionally quiet at all other times. The breakfast was truly outstanding, and the service was friendly. Our room was relatively large, very clean, and well maintained. The only real drawbacks were a rather utilitarian bathroom with only container soap and lots of plastic flowers. However, this is a good choice for a budget hotel in an expensive city like Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manatee609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Again, Tripadvisor made the day
Hotel is fantastic. On all fronts.
Rooms are perfect
Staff are very helpful
Location is prefect
Breakfast was exactly what we needed, including vegetables
I would definitely go again when in Vienna

Room Tip: We had a room that sat over the entrance which was quiet and great - Room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danny_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The rooms at Hotel Austria has a classical style, the beds are just perfect with very good quality bedsheets. The whole hotel is immaculately clean, and lies just 5 minutes walk from Stephanskirche, so it is really in the very heart of the city. The breakfast merits at least 4 stars (or even more) is has also fresh fruit, a wide selection of yoghurts and Italian espresso.

Room Tip: as it is in a small dead-endlane all the rooms are quiet and none of them has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kriss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

In a dead end alley way and away from noise. Rooms are 5-star type rooms. I was a solo traveler and had a larger room that when the entire family goes to most hotels. During my travels to Austria/Germany- this was the best hotel I stayed the entire time. Cannot say anything negative- Wonderful! My room had another section where a couch and
TV were located. i was scared to go into it because I thought it might belong to someone else.

Room Tip: Good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Great location. Very close to the streets with bars if you want to go out for a drink in the evening.
Room without a shower not as good as you would expect, no air conditioning.
Breakfast is very good. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
1,339 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing