We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days in Vienna”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is very central and quiet, located down a narrow side street. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent english. Most of the sights of central Vienna are within walking distance of this hotel. There is no restaurant, but the staff are happy to recommend restaurants in the area at reasonable prices. It has a lounge area for waiting for friends etc with a computer for guest use. The buffet breakfast was of good quality and plentiful. There is a lift to all floors so access is easy.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to arrange a taxi to the airport if you need one. It cost us 38€ for four of us with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October 2011, for 3 nights. The location is very convenient, close to the shops as well as the subway. We loved the wifi in the room and can't rave enough about the breakfast, fabulous!
What struck us the most is the friendly personnel. My boyfriend and I had lost our camera while shopping and the hotel staff kindly helped us by calling several of the stores that we had visited and informing whether they had found the camera. We ended up finding it ourselves (at Starbucks of all places) and when returning to the hotel the reception staff was genuinely happy for us that we had retrieved it.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutchie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were looking for an affordable hotel in the innere stadt and this fit the bill. Located in a quite alley, the rooms were small but clean, and although we didn't have a bathroom in our room, we the bath & toilet were close and private to us. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made great recommendations for dinner and excursions. It was in a very good location, very close to St Stevens Plaza and the opera house. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaypo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a very good hotel located in a quiet cul-de-sac right at the heart of the city. St Stephen's Cathedral is a four minute walk away. Rooms are clean, breakfast is ok and staff are quite nice and friendly. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarrellMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were looking for a less expensive alternative to our favorite Viennese hotel, the Konig von Ungarn, because we were taking our whole family on a recent vacation. After scouring the TripAdvisor reviews, this hotel looked both traditional and charming and was affordable. The reality came close to most reviews. Even though there was major construction going on on our floor for four days of our six day stay, they started late and ended early. The hotel was exceptionally quiet at all other times. The breakfast was truly outstanding, and the service was friendly. Our room was relatively large, very clean, and well maintained. The only real drawbacks were a rather utilitarian bathroom with only container soap and lots of plastic flowers. However, this is a good choice for a budget hotel in an expensive city like Vienna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manatee609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Again, Tripadvisor made the day
Hotel is fantastic. On all fronts.
Rooms are perfect
Staff are very helpful
Location is prefect
Breakfast was exactly what we needed, including vegetables
I would definitely go again when in Vienna

Room Tip: We had a room that sat over the entrance which was quiet and great - Room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danny_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 359 in Vienna
2,237 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £68 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing