We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excelent breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at Hotel Austria with my family. It is near the schwedenplatz and stephanplatz, located within a cul de sac alley, very quiet, yet still close to the shops and the main street. I especially love the breakfast, they have this magnificent selections of tasty yummy breads, eggs, and sausages, also fruits and yoghurts, and some jams..couldn't ask for more. :) I also love the design, its very homy, yet elegant.
The staffs are also very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Austria. It is situated near to all the Old Town places of interest, either by short walks or tram rides. The hotel is very charming and situated at the end of a quiet, cobblestone cul-de-sac.There is no traffic or pedestrian noise. The reception area and dining room are really nice. Our room was one on a non -smoking floor, which we had requested. It was spacious and had a separate sitting area / room. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very efficient and courteous. The reception staff were very helpful, especially a gentleman who gave us advice on certain trams one morning. We would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel on any future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent just one night in Wien, and we were stayed at hotel Wien. The hotel is in excellent location in a small quiet street very close to the old city center. In a few minutes wallk you can reach to any attractive place.
The crew was very helpful and friendly, the rooms were elegantly furnished, clean and spacious than you might expect from a small urban hotel.
The breakfast was excellent with a rich buffet and 5 minutes walk there is a parking place (20 euro for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What else should I want? The breakfast is superb, the staff is very friendly, and it is located very close to Schwedenplatz and to Stephanplatz. The direct bus from the airport stops 10 minutes walking from there. I will stay again for sure whenever I come back to Vienna. Wunderbar!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrebcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the heart of Vienna after 27 hours of travelling and walking around Vienna. We were able to check in a little early and had a good nap in comfortable beds. We were then ready to explore more of Vienna. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and bathrooms clean. We loved the big soft yellow towels. The central location is excellent and breakfast plentiful and nutritious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you are a traveler looking for value for money you pay, this is your place. It is also at the centre of vienna!! The staff was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was excellent and had variety of items. We were five of us and took two room ..1 triple room and another double. The rooms were spacious and were very quite. The only negative thing that it has no AC..so we had windows open at night. We were not in the hotel at mid day but I guess it would have been unpleasant to stay in your room. Also there was only 1 elevator was small.
The staff have helped us organize a birthday breakfast celebration for my elder sister and had we ordered flowers for her and it was well presented. They also have given her 2 boxes of chocolates compliments from manger/staff..thanks for a lovely memorable holiday

Room Tip: Stay of first or second floor for easy accesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activeTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel Austria is in an excellent location: good for getting in and out of Vienna and even better for getting around to all the wonderful sights and things to do in this exciting old city. Yet, for being in the middle of things, you can expect a quiet, high-celinged room with a comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and full breakfast so that you will be refreshed enough to enjoy all Vienna has to offer. An excellent clothes line apparatus folds out over the tub should you need to wash a few items.

A box of chocolates welcomed us to the hotel. The staff was helpful and offered good suggestions for dinning and excellent directions to the train station, etc. WiFi and breakfast was included in the price. The espresso machine alone was worth everything, and fresh fruits, delicious fruit yogurt, cheeses, breads, sliced meats, pastry were all good - perhaps too good for a 3-night stay.

That said, Hotel Austria is not perfect. Room 114 is supposedly non-smoking, but my nose, watery eyes and loaded sinuses tell me otherwise. The decor is a bit dated. There was a small round table and two chairs in the room, along with a fold-out sofa bed, which got a little crowded. I was unable to figure out the clock radio alarm. The glass partial wall in the shower has to be in exactly the right spot to avoid a flooded bathroom floor. The soap dispensers were a pain to use. The window is on an air shaft, though there were a few geraniums to brighten things up, and an air shaft is much quieter than a street.

Room Tip: If a non-smoking room is required, make very sure that's what you request and what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VITraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 359 in Vienna
2,237 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 359 in Vienna
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing