We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and retro in the old city”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #23 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Austria is a well-maintained, quiet and charming hotel built in the '50s after a bomb leveled a former cafe at the site.
It's a short walk to three U-bahn stations (Schwedenplatz, Stubentor and Stefansplatz), and being inside the Ringstrasse puts you in a prime position for the major sights of old Vienna.
Room rates for June 2014 ranged from E 155 to 173 inclusive, with a fine sit-down buffet breakfast typical of a good European hotel. On weekends there's even sparkling wine for mimosas.
There are air-conditioned rooms, which were essential for the heat wave that hit us. The staff is friendly, multilingual and helpful. There are four good bicycles available for rent for E 6 half-day and E 13 for the day, highly recommended for a bike trip along the Danube River island just a few miles away. Vienna, like the rest of Austria, is very bike-friendly.
Bathrooms are efficient, beds are comfy and the hotel is quiet. Hard to do better for the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The major reason that we selected this hotel was location. It is located on a quiet street that is far away from the street noise; but close enough to be able to walk to all the city sites. We were a family that consisted of three adults and stayed in a classic room. The room was a little small and consisted of a double bed, a single bed, nightside table, and a wardrobe. It was difficult for us to manage our medium-size suitcases. We also had a little trouble keeping the bathroom floor dry when showering because there was only a small panel of glass that did not cover even half of the tub. However, the room was well-maintained and very clean. Breakfast was included with our room and there was a great selection of hot foods, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee,and juices. The service all around was superb from the reception, maids, and servers. The only major complaint was that our family member that sleep on the single bed complained that he was kept awake by a humming noise at night that he could hear even when wearing ear plugs.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is nonsmoking try to get a room off the main street since the hotel is nonsmoking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teachgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

a verry warm welcome, carpets, curtains and nice furniture at the lobby, a spacious, cosy room, and extensive breakfast, it's like coming home. They way the hotel management deals with their staff makes them all extra-motivated, and as a visitor you feel it!!! Next time in vienna we'll stay at this hotel again. Only a few minutes from the underground, only a few minutes by foot to the verry centre of the city, and situated in a dead-end street, with the rooms looking out on the inner courtyard, it's a haven of peace, and a piece of heaven

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimvanOostende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel in the city centre in a quiet street. It takes you just a 3-minute walk to the main square with a lot of shops and restaurants. We stayed there for two nights. Cozy and clean rooms, very big and pleasant reception hall. The woman at the reception was very polite and responsive, always smiled to guests.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is down a quiet cul de sac right in the heart of Vienna. You can walk to all the major sites and the nearest tube stop is just a few minutes walk. The rooms are smartly decorated and there is free wi-fi. Breakfast is top notch: bacon, eggs, cake and even sparkling wine. The staff helped us make a reservation at the Plachetta restaurant and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eugene91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel Austria is located in a perfect place, on a side street right off the main street and very close to Stephansdom and the tourist sites. It is also right across the street from allegedly the "oldest" restaurant in Vienna, which we enjoyed. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The breakfast is extensive, with hot breakfast being offered. The staff was helpful and welcoming, providing directions and suggestions. We also enjoyed the reception lounge as a great place to enjoy our purchased wine before setting out for dinner. The location can't be beat....quiet, but close to almost everything. I would highly recommend the Hotel Austria for a stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location of Hotel Austria is just perfect: a couple of minutes walk to Stephansdom but although this hotel is in the heart of Vienna, it´s very quiet and cozy. And if you want to take underground or trolley, the walk to Schwedenplatz takes just two minutes. This time we stayed for four nights and I must say it was a very pleasant stay. Our room was so quiet that we didn´t hear any noise. The breakfast is very versatile and after eating all those bacons, sausages, eggs, bread, cheeses etc. you´ll manage easily ´til it´s time for late lunch... And the friendly staff keeps on smiling and helping all the time. The decoration of the hotel is very "Austrian style" and so it should be. And the stairway was so beautiful that we didn´t use the elevator at all. This was our second visit in Vienna and in Hotel Austria and although the first visit was already perfect, this was even more! We´ll be back. Definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PekkaTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 358 in Vienna
1,292 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 358 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#13 of 358 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £82 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing