We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Fix the Creaking Bed!”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Overall, it is a charming boutique hotel with antique furniture and plush looking rooms in a very convenient location for walking to the main attractions. It had a great breakfast selection and a very helpful Italian concierge.

Vienna was very hot and humid and we were glad to have a pedestal fan in our room. There are rooms with air conditioning and they are more expensive but I would pay the extra if staying in the height of summer. We had a room on the first floor where all the rooms face each other in a square formation. If you have your windows open, you hear all the other guests which is not ideal.

The rooms were a good size but there was too much furniture so there was hardly any space for luggage or to move around. I’d suggest taking out some of the occasional furniture to create more space.

The bed we had was a lovely looking sleigh bed but the bedhead needs to be affixed to the wall and some talcum powder dusted into the timber joints of the base! Every time one of us moved, it made so much noise it woke the other one up. I’ve never slept in a bed like it. (Note to the hotel: we were in room 110 if you want to check it out). Our ensuite bathroom was very small – so small that we had to sit sideways on the toilet as the wall in front of it was only about a foot away.

The location is great so long as you’re not bringing your car. There are limited reserved car spaces at an off site parking building but getting to the hotel in a car is difficult even with a GPS.

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning if you're staying in July / early Aug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CeeBee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel Austria was a perfect location---right in the "circle" as we called it. The circle or part of Vienna that has the "Old Town"...the Opera House etc. I had originally booked a place right on the Danube because I thought it would be neat to have a river view. I am so glad I switched hotels because the convenience was better than any view could have been for us on this trip. It wasn't easy to find though at first with our rental car/GPS. We did manage after a few missed streets. We drove right up the cobble stone street, unpacked and settled in our room and then moved our car. They provide directions to a parking garage right nearby but we did find a spot on the street. They gave us a parking pass to put onto the dash board for the duration of our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and very pretty. It also had A/C. It accommodated 3 perfectly. I made the reservations directly with the hotel and booked for 3 people. I was not charged an extra fee for the 3rd person like I had been in other hotels on this vacation. The breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TallieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. It was off the main streets so was nice and quiet but still close to everything. The rooms were big and very clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, it was very extensive with something for everyone and all very fresh.
We also hired bikes through the concierge for the day for only $5 euro which we highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tarran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I took my son and daughter for a long weekend in Vienna. My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Austria back in 2011, and we were looking forward to going back.

The hotel is a classic European style boutique hotel. A small-ish living room style lobby, a simple breakfast/dining area, a spiral staircase up to the rooms. The rooms are small, but what you'd expect from such a quaint hotel. As you compare this nice hotel with others nearby, while a little spartan, the hotel's price is right.

There were 3 of us, and we registered for a 3 person comfort room. Our room was really two rooms with an adjoining door and a shared bathroom and private hallway. One of the rooms had two single beds, and the other room had one single bed. The bathroom, while small, had a half-bath sized shower -- with surprisingly good water pressure. The in-room air conditioner worked really well, and we were pleased with the Wifi performance (included no extra charge).

The room was small, but ok. The room didn't have a desk; it had a little table, just big enough for my laptop. When I was sitting at the table, I blocked the rest of room... kinda cramped. The twin sized beds were comfortable but slightly smaller than what you would expect. But I have been in far smaller European style hotels and this was fine.

The hotel is located on the northern edge of the historic old city (Innere Stadt). So by staying here, we were delighted with how close we were to the historic sites. We easily walked to St Stephen's Cathedral, the Hofburg Imperial Palace, the Graben shopping area, the Albertina art museum, the Opera House, the city hall (Rathaus), etc.

The hotel is two blocks from the main subway/bus station, Schwedenplatz/Morzinplatz. From the airport, we took the Vienna Airport Lines bus; it was 8 euro/person, cheaper than a taxi. It took about 20 minutes. I recommend walking to visit the city sites, but at the end of the day, we (mostly me) were tired and we took the tram on the Ringstrasse back to our hotel. Tram 1 or Tram 2 will take you anywhere around the ring, but just so you know, neither tram does the full loop -- check the route map!

Walking to the hotel the first time from the Morzinplatz bus station, look for the beautiful Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church on Fleischmarkt Street, then walk down the alley way -- look for the door covered with lots of flags. There's a series of bicycles parked nearby -- they are for hotel guests! Taxis will pickup and drop off right in-front of the hotel

The hotel staff was very welcoming. The staff spoke excellent English and helped us with maps and tips for getting around. We also bought tickets to the evening Mozart/Strauss concert at the Hofburg Redoutensaal Imperial Palace -- we really enjoyed it.

The breakfast was included with our room; it looked like a normal European style breakfast buffet. Lots of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, etc to choose from. The first day we slept too late and missed breakfast; our second day, we checked out of the hotel before 6am and missed breakfast.

The lobby area was small but comfortable. It was a nice place to gather, read or print boarding passes for travel. The hotel is next to a bar and a fancy restaurant, and walking distance to a wide range of other eating and shopping places. Across the street was an "AM/PM" like place where we bought water and snacks.

For getting around: Walk out the hotel door, go down the short alleyway, turn left on Fleischmarket; then walk two blocks to the key North / South street, Rotenturmstrase. Turn left and walk South three blocks and you are at St Stephen's Cathedral which joins with the main shopping street, the Graben. From here, you can easily wind your way down to the Imperial Palace, the Albertina, Rathaus, the Museum Quarter, etc. Everything is close.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have central air conditioning. Don't let that scare you. Each room has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Comfortable beds and rooms. Staff were helpful and the breakfast very good. My only criticism its a little expensive as the toilet and shower room were in the hallway. Very quiet location as down a side alley (dead end and no traffic) and very close to the center. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank r8nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in late May 2014. This was our second visit here and all the good things we reviewed in October 2012 still apply - excellent location, super friendly staff, monumental breakfasts, and quiet and comfortable. Since our last visit there has been a lot of refurbishment, including instillation of air conditioning, thus making the hotel even more comfortable. Most highlr recommended in every way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank itsingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've stayed twice at this hotel, and will stay again if in Vienna. It is in the old city, two blocks from the canal ferry boats and a few blocks from St. Stefan's and the pedestrian streets. It is very comfortable (we had the a/c rooms) and clean, with a good included breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Vienna hotels are expensive, but given that, this one is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Summers can be hot, so an air conditioned room (more expensive) is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,110 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,378 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,492 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £86 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing