We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, but bathroom was a let down”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and service, but bathroom was a let down”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location close to the center, the metro and the shopping and restaurants was amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good.

Even though we asked for a double room, we go twin beds joined together which was very uncomfortable. I'm 6" 1', not exceptionally tall but the duvet was small for me. The bathroom was the major let down. The shower in the tub was placed right in the center, and you had to angle is so water didn't spread throughout the bathroom. Bathroom supplied included only a shampoo and handwash, no conditioner or lotion. And the toilet was the wrong way round, with the water infront which caused a stench. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahbaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    426
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
323
522
107
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Overall a very good hotel, some rooms were a bit noisy at night, but staff was extremely helpful and nice, rooms were good (some mattresses a little thin, and some WiFi weak in some rooms) but overall good. Breakfast was included and great with a large selection of hot and cold items.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the back courtyard, not on the small side street, it was loud at night with the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Located on a quiet sidestreet in the heart of Vienna, very close to St Stephen's and within the Ringstrasse, this hotel has a very friendly multi-lingual staff, excellent breakfast and a quiet location. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived here in the rain having cycled along the Danube cycle path. The receptionist was incredibly friendly and didn't just check us in, but gave us a map of the city and highlighted all the areas we might like to visit and take any questions. We also asked her where it was best to go for dinner and she recommended a great place nearby. The man the next morning was equally helpful despite are many queries.

The rooms were a little small and old, but had all the facilities needed for a good stay. The breakfast room was nicely decorated with a wide selection of items. The buffet was also spread out meaning that there was no congestion around the area!

Overall, the service was the best I have ever experiences

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel had a very helpful lady who worked the front desk in the afternoons, and they gave us a small box of Mirabell Mozartkugel at check-in which was very nice. The interior and rooms are very classic with high ceilings and nice draperies and upholstery, and they have a cool spiral staircase in the center that reaches all the floors. The rooms were quiet and clean. Basically, there was nothing was really wrong, but there were a few things that I personally didn't love. The hotel's entrance is at the end of a small alley, which is nice and quiet. However, the smoking area was just outside the entrance with some chairs set out, so unfortunately you had to walk through a very smoky alleyway every time we came and went. Also, while it was very central, right by St. Stephan's, I didn't find the area/neighborhood to be especially nice. Most of the buildings had scaffolding all over them and seemed a bit rundown. I'm not faulting the hotel for this, but it's just something we observed. We stayed at a different hotel on the second leg of our trip, just about a mile away, and the area was a bit nicer. My husband on the other hand really liked this place so I think it's just personal preference, and I would never tell anyone not to stay here. It was convenient, clean, and quiet, but I just didn't love it. Their breakfast is a buffet with a pretty good assortment of eggs, sausages, fruits, cereals, juices, coffee, etc. I think all in all it was very efficiently-run, but perhaps missing a bit of warmth. I would still recommend them to others, but I don't think I would choose to stay there again myself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the end of July. Short walk uphill to hotel from Schwedenplatz metro station, so very easy on arrival with luggage. Easy walk to Stephansplatz and with the metro and trams nearby at Schwedenplatz, it was easy to get around the city.

The staff were very friendly - especially at breakfast and the lady who was cleaning the fourth floor who always had a smile & a friendly word to say.

The room was in a traditional style. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Unfortunately, we were staying in a room without air-conditioning and although a fan was provided, it was still very warm at night. I would definitely recommend opting for an air-conditioned room in summer. The rooms had old-style keys with heavy key-fobs which had to be left at reception on going out. The lift was quite small and slow.

Breakfast was excellent. The room was spacious, comfortable and air-conditioned; there was a good variety of food, with cooked items and lots of fresh fruit, as well as the usual cereals, breads, cheeses etc. The staff were attentive at clearing away plates.

There is a Spar shop nearby which was useful for buying water and snacks.

I would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gcni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Overall, it is a charming boutique hotel with antique furniture and plush looking rooms in a very convenient location for walking to the main attractions. It had a great breakfast selection and a very helpful Italian concierge.

Vienna was very hot and humid and we were glad to have a pedestal fan in our room. There are rooms with air conditioning and they are more expensive but I would pay the extra if staying in the height of summer. We had a room on the first floor where all the rooms face each other in a square formation. If you have your windows open, you hear all the other guests which is not ideal.

The rooms were a good size but there was too much furniture so there was hardly any space for luggage or to move around. I’d suggest taking out some of the occasional furniture to create more space.

The bed we had was a lovely looking sleigh bed but the bedhead needs to be affixed to the wall and some talcum powder dusted into the timber joints of the base! Every time one of us moved, it made so much noise it woke the other one up. I’ve never slept in a bed like it. (Note to the hotel: we were in room 110 if you want to check it out). Our ensuite bathroom was very small – so small that we had to sit sideways on the toilet as the wall in front of it was only about a foot away.

The location is great so long as you’re not bringing your car. There are limited reserved car spaces at an off site parking building but getting to the hotel in a car is difficult even with a GPS.

Room Tip: Get a room with air conditioning if you're staying in July / early Aug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Property: Hotel Austria
Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing