We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Austria
Ranked #24 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2011

It is located just a few minutes walk away from the St. Stephen's Cathedral, from the station of the shuttle bus from Vienna International Airport and from two important underground lines (U1, U2). The room was nice and very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge variety of foods. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wireless internet worked well. We will stay at Hotel Austria on any future Vienna visit and we'll recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buburomeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

Central, plenty of restaurants around, easy to walk to major sites.
Rooms spacious, comfortable (look slightly old but clean and very 'livable')
Wireless internet worked well
Breakfast - choices and serves huge!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmck1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Hotel Austria suited us perfectly. The location in the historical district, close to local transport (trams and subway, which are very user friendly) and excellent restaurants, is perfect. We would set out walking each day, and had no difficulty reaching all parts of the historic center and beyond; when we got tired, we returned to the hotel via public transit. One night, after walking all day, we returned to the hotel on foot just to see the Christmas lights one more time. The hotel itself provides clean, comfortable, attractive rooms with a very relaxing, large breakfast area and excellent breakfast buffet. There is an elevator.The staff were always helpful and friendly. We found Vienna to be very charming, beautiful (especially with the Christmas lights, markets and decorations), and full of delightful things to see ( Stephansdom, Hundertwasserhaus, Naschtmarkt, Museums quarter, Rathaus, Mozart and Strauss monuments,music performances,etc.). The people were gracious and respectful everywhere we went. We fell in love with Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoddessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I booked this hotel for my son and his girlfriend for 3 days in January. The booking was very easy and people were prompt ,efficient and very friendly. My son and his girlfriend was very satisfied with the stay. The hotel's location is excellent, the breakfast buffet was also outstanding. The hotel was spotless and the people were helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank koszeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

A big, clean, lovely room. We were here for Christmas day and husbands birthday. We got gifts for both. They made us feel welcome over Christmas and were very helpful. Wolfgang - one of the staff was brilliant. He really went out of his way to help us out - including a photo out the front on Christmas day when it was snowing. The breakfast and service was fantastic with a huge variety of foods. About a 10 minute walk from main attractions and about 20 minutes from main train station. A beautiful city at Christmas. Highly recommended. A surprisingly big, classy hotel; - value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateandPaulPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel during the busy Christmas Market season. The hotel was a bit of a hike (10 minutes) from Stephensplatz with luggage in the cold (and snow) but not that bad. There was a U-bahn station closer to the hotel that we didn't realize until after we got there. (not sure why they don't tell you to use that one instead) The location is quite good. It's in the main part of town but just tucked away from the main part so the rooms are quiet. No noise was heard from the outside. There is a nice supermarket right down the street (2 minutes walk) which we used quite often. (we ate dinner in our rooms several nights) The staff were very nice to us and helped us quite a bit with places to eat and visit. If you come during this time, make sure to book restaurant reservations in advance if you want to eat dinner somewhere. We couldn't get in at all. We ended up going to places for lunch instead. We liked the Figlmueller restaurant which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The schnitzels were very tasty and very big. I loved the potato salad most of all. Very neat place to eat at. The U-bahn station that is close to the hotel is only 1 stop from the downtown City Air Terminal station. We were able to check in our luggage the night before and check into our flight. That saved us quite a bit of time the next morning. And the train ride is only 16 minutes to the airport. Very convenient and worth it.

We needed a triple room and it was a decent-sized room. Wifi worked well with our computers and smartphones. We didn't sleep that great on the beds, however. We slept very well on the previous beds in other hotels on this trip. But for some reason, these beds weren't as good. The temperature in the room cannot be adjusted but that is quickly fixed by just opening the window to let in cold air from the outside. (at least in the winter!) The bathroom was a good size and overall the room was just fine. The daily breakfast was good. The price for the hotel was very reasonable and we felt like we got more than our money's worth.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Property is located down an alley way off a side street. It is very quiet and yet only a minute or two from the Underground, bus and tram stops. You are located within a 5-8 minute walk of St Stephens and the shopping district. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is well appointed and very relaxing offering an array of breakfast meats and cheeses, breads and rolls, coffees and teas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bstdflsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
1,434 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 359 in Vienna
2,237 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage Design & Boutique Hotel
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#21 of 359 in Vienna
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £68 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing