We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Furstenhof Vienna”
Review of Hotel Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Furstenhof
Ranked #197 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Would definitely go back to this hotel if I get a chance to do so. I loved my stay out here. This is a lovely hotel with a perfect location to match. It provides a sumptuous breakfast buffet which helps make your morning perfect.

Room Tip: Take an outward facing room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Furstenhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I love this hotel. It is old fashioned in a very good way. Sparkling clean and very quiet. Very fast free wifi. Uber helpful staff....nothing is too much trouble. Comfy bed, lovely pillows. Good breakfast buffet.....even have soya milk. Really great location. Opposite tube. Easy walk to old city. Would return in a heartbeat. A haven of lovely quirkiness. Can't think of a single negative thing to say.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GoneFishingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Perfect location, especially if you're arriving from the Westbahnhof, or travelling somewhere else from there. The staff were very helpful, spoke perfect English, and gave me useful information that helped me the next day when I navigated the train system across Austria. The room was really decent, and there is a good, cheap buffet breakfast available.

I arrived at the hotel travelling alone, directly after 3 international flights -- and they managed to make me feel welcome and at home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Right across the street from the West Bahnhof, U line and tram. Great neighborhood with lots of shopping, cafes, etc. and easy access to public transportation to do sightseeing. We had a huge room with 3 beds for 4 of us. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is old and a bit chic-shabby, but very clean. Only downside was that room was located on busy street so street traffic is quite loud. We were exhausted at the end of our busy days sightseeing so it wasn't a huge issue, but be aware. Also no air conditioning but could keep windows open for fresh, cool air. They offer breakfast but we just took our meals at local bakeries and cafes just around the corner or at the train station. Lots of shopping and cafes available in newly renovated train station including a grocery store.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Bathroom was small but really good. No A/C and it was 90 degrees. Front desk got us a fan that helped. Was quiet, room on inside of buildings. Quad was fairly big. Front desk ok. Very old inside. Needs to be re-done, start with the carpet. Right next to the train station was why we chose it. Far from downtown area if walking. Even at the price, we wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbirdie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The hotel is opposite the Westbahnhof ( you would arrive there from Switzerland/Germany).It is served by underground lines U3 & U6 plus a host of tram routes. Everyone spoke English and were very helpful i.e. when one of the pins pulled out of my 13A-2 pin adapter they lent me one every night to charge my phone/camera. I was staying three nights and had booked months ahead so perhaps this is why I was given Room No. 2, huge and at the side of the hotel so very quite. Apart from the normal dreadful continental duvet there was also a soft blanket so I slept every night! Breakfast had a good selection with those lovely soft rolls which I cannot find in En gland. I eat every night at the Europe Westend restaurant next door and can thoroughly recommend it, décor pure pre-first world war I would say. I was sorry to leave the hotel and would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Station hotels generally leave me cold, even the more expensive ones. But the Hotel Furstenhof exemplified my expectations of the style of a Viennese hotel. Charmingly 'in character', it's old fashioned look was not matched by it's service which was very current, very friendly and helpful, sparklingly clean and a clientele set who could have jumped out of the pages of an Agatha Christie novel. Ask for a room at the back - we had one opposite a disused church - and then you can 'open' all windows, it was very hot when we were there, and not experience any noise problem. We don't like air conditioning so the wide open windows were bliss. The room was large and airy, the bathroom cleanliness exemplary. The cleaner said good morning. Viennese coffee is strong, so watch out, even you Parisians, but breakfast was a plentiful supply of breads, cold meats, cheese, jams and yoghurt mixes..

Room Tip: Chose one at the back if you want the windows open
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Porzellaneum
Hotel Porzellaneum
#283 of 361 in Vienna
58 reviews
Neubau
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
Novum Hotel Kaffeemuehle
#273 of 361 in Vienna
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 361 in Vienna
1,634 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#154 of 361 in Vienna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof

Address: Neubaugurtel 4, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £35 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furstenhof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing