We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old hotel near Wien Westbahnhof train station”
Review of Hotel Furstenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Furstenhof
Ranked #196 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Charming old hotel near Wien Westbahnhof train station”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I chose this hotel for it's proximity to the train station…it's directly across the street. It was a lovely older hotel with large rooms. The staff was helpful and it's close to all of the public transport, although walking is definitely still an option. Great wifi & shower. No AC, but they did have a fan for us to use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    93
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
43
42
74
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I wanted a place near the international train station and this was just across the street! Additionally, Hotel Furstenhof is near the local subway. I stayed in the larger suite and found the red carpet and curtains opulent, not garish. I opted out of the hotel breakfast and found better choices at the DB station (go inside, it's actually doubles as a mall!).

All I needed take a few steps out, hop on the subways, and in 10 minutes, I was in St. Stephansdome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Van N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is charming in exactly the way you might expect a 19th-century(?) Viennese hotel to be. It's well-maintained, and perfectly located next to the Westbahnhof. Front desk speaks good English and is very helpful. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is I was in a room with only a sink, and there was only 1 shower for the entire floor. The shower room was fabulous, large and modern, but to use it I had to call the front desk and ask for a key, which was very inconvenient (and sometimes someone else was using it). Obviously the lack of showers is an artifact of the hotel's old design and not easily remedied by the current owners, I guess travelers were willing to put up with fewer showers back then. :) I would probably still go back if I return to Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Would definitely go back to this hotel if I get a chance to do so. I loved my stay out here. This is a lovely hotel with a perfect location to match. It provides a sumptuous breakfast buffet which helps make your morning perfect.

Room Tip: Take an outward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. It is old fashioned in a very good way. Sparkling clean and very quiet. Very fast free wifi. Uber helpful staff....nothing is too much trouble. Comfy bed, lovely pillows. Good breakfast buffet.....even have soya milk. Really great location. Opposite tube. Easy walk to old city. Would return in a heartbeat. A haven of lovely quirkiness. Can't think of a single negative thing to say.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneFishingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Perfect location, especially if you're arriving from the Westbahnhof, or travelling somewhere else from there. The staff were very helpful, spoke perfect English, and gave me useful information that helped me the next day when I navigated the train system across Austria. The room was really decent, and there is a good, cheap buffet breakfast available.

I arrived at the hotel travelling alone, directly after 3 international flights -- and they managed to make me feel welcome and at home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Right across the street from the West Bahnhof, U line and tram. Great neighborhood with lots of shopping, cafes, etc. and easy access to public transportation to do sightseeing. We had a huge room with 3 beds for 4 of us. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is old and a bit chic-shabby, but very clean. Only downside was that room was located on busy street so street traffic is quite loud. We were exhausted at the end of our busy days sightseeing so it wasn't a huge issue, but be aware. Also no air conditioning but could keep windows open for fresh, cool air. They offer breakfast but we just took our meals at local bakeries and cafes just around the corner or at the train station. Lots of shopping and cafes available in newly renovated train station including a grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#157 of 360 in Vienna
1,567 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#165 of 360 in Vienna
351 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Pension Hargita
Pension Hargita
#225 of 360 in Vienna
123 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
Hotel Pension Walzerstadt
#208 of 360 in Vienna
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof

Property: Hotel Furstenhof
Address: Neubaugurtel 4, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furstenhof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing