We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Neuer Markt
Ranked #190 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, location in Vienna”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Arriving at night and going through an ornate heavy door to an even more ornate 'antique' lift to reach the pension which is not on ground level, felt a little bit creepy but don't let my first experience put you off. If you are looking for an affordable way to stay right at the heart of tourist Viena with St Stephens a 3-minute walk and surrounded by designer shops, bars and restaurants, then this is a pretty good choice. The room was more like a cabin in size but well planned so that everything needed was there and the shower performed! The staff here are very friendly and helpful, the pension is popular with all nationalities and has an interesting history. And although they only serve breakfast, the receptionist very obligingly fixed us up with pots of hot water as we had our own English tea-bags having been forewarned (accurately in most places) that this concept of strong tea is not generally available. Given the cost of tea (and coffee) in Austria, between 3 and 4 euros a cup, this was a helpful small saving too. We did find a coffee bar a few streets away where you could sit in comfort on sofas and get tea/coffee and snacks, all very good, at sensible prices. A great place to stay if you don't mind basic.

Room Tip: Our room opened up onto a square with a fountain and was mosty quiet, rooms appear to be set around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copycatsofcoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    161
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
80
105
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The main advantage is that it is right on Neuer Markt in the heart of Vienna so everything is within walking distance. At first blush it has a certain old-world charm about it, especially the old-fashioned breakfast room, like something from the set of "A Room with a View" or some other period movie, but the accommodation is really basic and in need of updating. The breakfast was the same every single day for the whole week and anybody hoping for Viennese pastries or a selection of fresh fruit would be disappointed (tinned fruit only). The lack of a good Internet connection was also pretty inconvenient. In my view in this price range it's better to stay somewhere without breakfast and then take your pick from one of the wonderful cafes in the vicinity, such as Oberlaa in Neuer Markt, Demel in Kohlmarkt, Sacher Ecke on the corner of Karntnerstrasse, Cafe Central in Herrengasse or Cafe Griensteidl in Michaelerplatz, all places where you can enjoy a good Viennese breakfast.
For more details see http://www.cafegriensteidl.at/
The Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth is in an equally favourable location right in the heart of Vienna and the breakfast there is said to be fantastic but I have never stayed there myself.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the Pension Neuer Markt in December, right before Christmas. The location is hard to beat. It is within walking distance of everything within the inner ring. If you use the metro, a stop is about one block over, an easy walk to the hotel. We stayed in a room overlooking Neuer Markt square and heard very little outside street noise. I was actually surprised, because I expected some especially so close to Christmas. The room was nice, and comfy, the bath looked like it had been updated recently; tiled with a tub, another surprise. Breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from, it included cereals, fruit (although not fresh) breads, meat, cheeses, yogurt, cake and bread. We will probably stay here agian in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank I'llflyawayItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Pension Neuer Markt is in a great central location to all the activities of the city center and historic district. The rooms are clean, but the carpet in our room needed replacement. It was dirty and worn. The only problem with the Pension Neuer Markt is the street noise at night. I could not recommend this hotel unless I was guaranteed a quiet room location. The night life on the streets outside doesn't quit until the wee hours of the morning. Since there is no air conditioning the windows are open in warm weather and the noise makes sleep impossible. Breakfast is good and typical european. The food was fresh. The breakfast room is served by a pleasant and efficient young lady who very quickly learns her guests needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Glad we stayed here because of the convenient location - can walk to all you want to see. And actually enjoyed the funky location within an office/apt building. But...the decor was very dated. The bathroom was ridiculously small - had to open the door to give myself room to towel off and I'm a small person! I had hard time sleeping - didn't know if it was the lack of a/c or air flow, or the bruises I was getting from the rock-hard mattress,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoncordKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

As we had a not that big budget for our city trip and still didn't want to stay in a Hostel this Pension was great! we stayed at the place for 5 nights with 5 persons in the family room. And although we are all adults it's a very cheap way of stay in the heart of Vienna. As long as you don't want to spend to much time in your room, and expect to have a lounge corner ore something like that the family room is also perfect for a max of 5 adults. And as all we did in the room was sleep it was perfect for us.
And the fact that we could park our car on the Pensions licence for less than 5,- Euro's per day in the middle of the city centre was great!
Breakfast was good, staff very friendly and the room was clean! Ok, the beds where not that great for your back and we could hear our neigbours taking shouwers; but all together we would reccomend the pension to everyone!

Room Tip: family room is great for max 5 persons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Great location, quality breakfast, quiet rooms except for street noise if facing the square and overall perfect for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmicdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 361 in Vienna
594 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#181 of 361 in Vienna
401 reviews
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#166 of 361 in Vienna
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#84 of 361 in Vienna
701 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#131 of 361 in Vienna
207 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#63 of 361 in Vienna
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Property: Pension Neuer Markt
Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing