We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really small, but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pension Neuer Markt
Ranked #189 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We are a group of three who had stayed a day at Pension Never Markt near end of May. The entrance was a bit inconspicuous. Took quite some time to look for it even though it was really near the metro.

The room was small for the three of us. It might have been a room for two with a third bed placed for us. The bathroom was a bit squeezy as well and there wasn't a hair dryer. However, it was clean and acceptable in general. And most importantly, it is really near to many attractions, metro stations and tram/bus stops. Not a bad choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Pension Neuer Markt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Room: lots of towels, bed ok, no noise, lots of carpet, really small bathroom, really small shower, very poor internet connection, light of the bathroom made a noise like a drill. Asthmatic and people with allergies: expect to have problems in the morning.
Pension: friendly, lots of carpet, cheaper when booked directly on their website, no luggage room but you can leave it next to the front desk, dated...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We've booked 3 nights at the pension following reviews and recommendations from Tripadvisor and now we know we did well.
The location is fantastic, with walking distance to most of the attractions and sites, It is just close to everything. The breakfast was served nicely and there was a good assortment of foods to start the morning. The building and room are not new but for us, it was authentic.
We want to emphasize the helpful and friendly staff, not only reception but the driver who took us to the airport and told us some very interesting information about Vienna - they all do the best to make your stay comfortable and memorable.
We had a room with a toilet outside the room, and, although I was concerned about this issue, we had absolutely no problem with this, the toilet was always available and clean.
Overall, it's a great place who is not looking for luxury, but more for being in the center of the city and have authentic perception about it. More than recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrenaR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

has an excellent location right in the city center, very helpful staff, the rooms were not at their best... they have to make decisions once that it's time to remove the carpets. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannos-Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Pros: Great location, friendly staff, reasonable price, basic breakfast - cold cut & cheese, cereal, bread, hard boil eggs, juice and milk. In the middle of the city center and walkable to almost all parts of tourist attraction. Able to accommodate early check in. Rooms and furniture are old but clean and in good condition. Place is called a "Pension" because its pretty much a large apartment flat on 2nd floor of an apartment block, don't expect any hotel amenities or comfort, more like B&B. A small but nice and modern supermarket is just 2 doors down, great to refill on drinks, snacks, etc

Cons: the only reason why I won't be staying there again. The rooms have wood flooring, it squeaks and cracks with each step. The walls are very very thin, I could hear people talking in the next room, water pipe sound, squeaking sound of the floor from people walking next door, people walking outside. Worst of all if your room is close to the breakfast area, you can hear the sound of utensils and plates in the morning. If sound is not an issue, I would recommend this place if you just need a place to sleep.

Tip: Vienna is quite small and most places are within a 15min walk. If on a budget, for a similar price or cheaper I would book somewhere a little further (as in 10minute walk away from city center, which is still close), more comfortable and just take the subway/metro. You can buy a 1,2,3 day passes. That way you save money on the hotel, walk less, and save time! You can get to all tourist sites within 5 minute or less metro ride. Very convenient with lots of stops. Another option is get a Vienna Tourist Card, where all public transport are free, with discounts at attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to be right in the thick of things in Vienna. The pension is family owned and you really get a sense of family when you stay here. They offered to pick us up from the airport (only 24 EUR) and after a 13 hour flight you can't beat that. As Bernd drove us to the hotel he explained many of the buildings and Vienna's history along the way. It was very nice.

While the room was small, its what we expected and we had a private shower even though we had to share a toilette. It really was never a big deal to share either. The room and bathroom were very clean and maid service came daily.

The included breakfast was fantastic! So much food and wonderful Viennese coffee. Anytime we had questions about where to go or how to get there we were always met with a great attitude and smile.

The location was close to everything! I would recommend this to any of my friends staying in Vienna and would stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cnietch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were delighted that this hotel was so close to the main pedestrian square, and easy walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. Although our room faced the street, it was a quiet street with light traffic. The room was spacious, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was good. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#94 of 361 in Vienna
707 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#174 of 361 in Vienna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#138 of 361 in Vienna
211 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#108 of 361 in Vienna
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £56 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing