We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down-town yet casual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Neuer Markt
Ranked #194 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is located amongst the epicentre of tourist activities yet fairly laid back and not at all busy, bustling compared to some of the near-by streets. So location is 10 out of 10 for any independent traveller. The rooms are perfectly adequate but don't have air con - not surprisingly given it's age and the price. Be prepared for hot nights in the middle of summer where the temperature never drops below 25 C. Neuer Markt has shared access with other tennants in the building which is not an issue. Staff are friendly as Austrians go. Breakfast was sadly pitiful, internet/Wi-Fi in need of improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PaulNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Pension Neuer Markt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

(+)
Comfortable rooms
Clean
Central location
Good and delicious breakfast
Kind staff

(-)
Weak internet connection
Small bathrooms

I recommend this hotel. It was comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpfull and kind. Breakfast and home-made breads were delicious. Thanks.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Paramatmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The fittings and carpet may not be top quality but this is outweighed by the fabulous location and the very helpful staff. The room was reasonably spacious with soft chairs and room to move, some rooms have small showers but ours over a bath was reasonable. Our parents enjoyed the Ringstrasse tour with the owner which was a highlight for them. We would love to do the carriage tour but ran out of time. The underground stop, Stephensplatz is very close and it is easy to access the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square and a shower over a bath.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the beggining of June 2014.
Location is great. If you wish to feel the heart of Vienna in your immediate proximity - this is the place to stay.
While trying to decide if we come back again, we have to consider the great advantages of the location with this price, against a nicer property, but having to use the efficient public transportation
at least twice a day.
I believe that for the first time, it's a good choice, but for next visits in Vienna will try to find a better hotel not so close to the center at the same price.
The building outside is very impressive as you can see in the pictures.
The inner is a different story. No loby, hotel is at the second floor and the entrance is old, dark and not inviting.
The elevator is old and you see this genre in old movies.
Rooms are small, beds are ok, but not something to be proud of.
Shower is tiny, and even medium size people will have to open the shower door while soaping oneself.
Walls are thin and if you have good ears you can hear conversations from adjacent rooms.
Staff was great and very helpful.
Parking is very expensive even after the special price you receive from the hotel.
Breakfast was not bad.

Room Tip: Believe that the rooms will be too warm during summer.(no A/C) Consider parking in a far from the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IGAL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We both felt like the room was very small, dark, and hard to move around in. Pigeons outside kept us up at all hours, and the bed was extremely hard. The only way we got sleep was by using extra pillows and blankets as padding under us. The room had a private shower that was about 2 feet per side and the shower head was so low I was bending backward to wash my hair. Honestly though, not sure what else they could have done given the space restrictions. The people though were all very friendly and helpful. Everyone I met said good morning, and the reception helped with all my questions. It is literally right in downtown, and there is mostly pedestrian traffic so not too much human noise. Also people are walking around at all hours so I never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitwit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this find of a hotel for 3 nights in June. The owners/staff really made this a wonderful experience. The owner's husband picked us up at the airport (for 24 euros) and, because our flight from Warsaw had been cancelled and we were late for the fancy dinner/concert we had booked in advance, he brought the tickets that had been waiting for us at the hotel, took us directly to the palace for our dinner, and brought our luggage back to the hotel to await us in our room. The location of this small, quaint bed and breakfast on the 2nd floor (old fashioned elevator) of a 1910 building couldn't have been more central. The room was clean and comfortable (don't expect luxury.) We had reserved one with a private bathroom - important to clarify, because some of the rooms do not. The metro was close by, as were wonderful pedestrian only streets and St. Stephan's cathedral. The room (#33) was very quiet. Wi-fi was available without an additional charge. The breakfast offerings were generous. The rates were most reasonable. They also took us back to the airport for the flight home. Also important to note - if you call directly to book your room, you get 20-30% off any additional services, e.g. airport pickup and delivery.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a private bath, if you want one. Call directly to reserve, rather th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen20011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a recent trip to Vienna and I’d definitely stay here again.

Housed on the 2nd and 3rd floors of a stunning Art Nouveau building, smack-bang in the middle of the Innere Stadt, the pension’s location is hard to beat. The vast majority of Vienna’s sights and tourist attractions are within a 30 minute walk and the Stephensdom metro station is under two minutes away from the front door.

Although travelling alone, I was allocated a twin room on the 3rd floor with a wonderful view over the Neuer Markt. The room had a private bathroom with a stall shower. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and fresh towels were provided daily. Breakfast was a simple buffet and there were various drinks available for purchase from the 24 hour reception.

The pension is surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants and the first two floors of the building in which it is located are occupied by the upmarket Billa Corso Herrnhuterhaus supermarket. In addition to all the usual bits & bobs you’d expect you can also purchase some quite delicious, high quality, hot takeaway food from the ‘Henry: The Art of Living’ concession on the ground floor [0.99 euro per 100g].

All in all the Pension Neuer Markt had everything I was looking for at a fair price. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Neuer Markt.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank logrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#94 of 361 in Vienna
707 reviews
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#175 of 361 in Vienna
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#138 of 361 in Vienna
211 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#107 of 361 in Vienna
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: £56 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing