We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but targets the gay market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Wild

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Wild
Ranked #118 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
REDDITCH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice enough but targets the gay market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is quite a nice hotel clean, tidy, good breakfast, friendly staff and just a short walk from the centre. The room I stayed in was not that spacious but at the price it was good

Beware if travelling with a family or homophobes as most the guess here are gay and there is also a male only sauna on the premise. Saying that I did not feel uncomfortable there but it might not suit everyone.

The Mexican restaurant a few doors down does good food and the staff speak Spanish too.

Room Tip: If you want a twin room make sure you reiterate in when booking we (2 men)received an apology as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GUESStheGUEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    96
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
116
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I must admit that upon finding the entrance to the building and then standing in the entrance lobby I was a bit concerned about selecting this property as the lobby is shared by a sauna. However after ringing the reception bell I soon realized that this was indeed a very good choice. EVERYTHING is in top condition, no chips on walls or furniture, no stained or worn carpets, no faded paint or tired wall papers. Absolutely spotless both in the good sized rooms and hallways. High quality linens and room fixtures. Breakfast choices excellent and again top quality; fresh coffee served to your table. The family lives in the building and the owner circulates through the breakfast room chatting and assisting guests. The location is very good, close to the UBahn and tram system, walkable to many attractions. An exceedingly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the reception level were very large and quiet and so handy for going in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yyjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Room:
We rented the apartment across the street and it was really great and modern. A big bedroom with a desk, a double bed and an extra one person bed. Then there was a desk, a table with two chairs, and a chair that could be made to an extra bed.

Then there was a huge kitchen with tables and chairs and the stuff you need for making a breakfast.

One separate room with toilet and one separate room with bathroom with shower.

All was in a great condition and very modern. It was nice with the privacy the apartment gives. Only disadvantage was that this apartment did not have WIFI. I hope they soon will get WIFI in the apartment.

Reception
The receptionist was a very friendly and helpsome young man :) He gave us a lot of inspiration and tips and we where happy we used his advice. All the things he suggested was worth a visit.
Thanks for your kindness and excellent service!

Breakfast
The breakfast was okay to the price. A typical standard Danish breakfast and with a waiter for serving coffee etc. He was also very friendly! It was possible to get on WIFI here and the reception was letting us use the breakfast room during the day/evening when we needed WIFI.

Location:
Walking distance to the museum district and ubahn. So it is easy to get around and will advice you to buy a card for the ubahn for 2 days, 3 days or one week. It is very cheap and a easy way to get around.

Would we stay here again?
Yes definitely everything was excellent to the price. Only reason why we did not give it five in rating was because the apartment did not have WIFI. We knew that before booking it but preferred the privacy over WIFI. But they really should set up a WIFI connection in the apartment it would only raise the room price very slightly. Thanks for a great stay and see you next time we are in Vienna!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vendelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

After a weekend in Munich for Oktoberfest, I spent 4 nights at Pension Wild in Vienna. My room was spacious, clean, and had it's own shower and wash basin. No TV, no fridge, no toilet (shared down the hallway), but it did have good wifi and a safe. The breakfast was simple but adequate, and the location was close to the city loop metro line that connects easily to most other lines. Staff were efficient and helpful. Very quiet location and the other guests were friendly and older (e.g. over 50 y.o.). No complaints about this hotel and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Vienna is beautiful but I found it one of the more expensive cities in Europe. Pension Wild was a good compromise in terms of price and decent location. I travelled alone but Peter was nice enough to give me a larger room with a private shower inside. The toilet was shared but not a big deal to me. Location-wise is not bad. It's about 5 minute walk from the nearest metro and not far from the Museum area and other sights. Historic centre is probably a 10 minute walk away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
470 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have been to Pension Wild several times now.
We love especially its central location, friendly atmosphere and very convenient prices.
A bit unconfy the fact that to have breakfast you have to take the condo lift.
The owner's little dog is gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thombly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Once you find it, this pension is lovely. Well decorated with all amenities you could need, with an exceptionally friendly and helpful owner. Our double was two singles pushed together, but that seems to be the case in a lot of European accommodation. The beds were the most comfortable I have slept in when away from my own, a welcome respite from hostels!

A great place to stay if you don't mind the walk from the city, with a fabulous Mexican restaurant just up the road.

If I am in Vienna again, I will be rebooking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#64 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Mariahilf
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
Kolpinghaus Wien-Zentral
#92 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#91 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#81 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wild

Property: Pension Wild
Address: Lange Gasse 10 | 1080 Vienna, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#39 Business Hotel in Vienna
#77 Family Hotel in Vienna
#91 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Wild 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly and very personly leaded bed&breakfast is located in the 8.District, Josefstadt, one of viennas nices Areas. Only a short walk away from the most important sights of town, like Parlament, Townhall, Museumsquater. Metro (U2 and U3) and tramstations are just arround the Corner to. Our house was build in 1904 and have been renovated shortly. Our reception is reachable arround the clock and offers a lot of informations and maps of Vienna. NEW and for our guests only is the "Movienight". See the best movies of all time in our breakfastroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Wild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Wild Hotel Vienna
Wild Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing