We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly unimpressed”
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Aviano
Ranked #175 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Amazing location. Note: you have to get your suitcases up a small flight of stairs to get to the lift to the reception (only 2 bags can fit in the lift, then you have to climb the many flights of stairs to meet your suitcases in the lift on the top floor). No aircon in the room, but fans provided (until the lady at reception took our fan to cool herself and gave us one that didn't work, while we were out sightseeing!!). It was unusually hot while we were there, high 30s low 40s Celsius. As our flight wasn't til 7pm (back to Australia), we asked for a late check-out the day before, we were told we could have til 1pm or we would have to pay extra. 1pm suited us perfectly. Except at 11am the next day, the manager tried to kick us out of the room. She yelled at us and the girl at reception, making everyone feel uncomfortable. I was out for a walk and received a frantic message from my friend who had locked herself in the room terrified. Very poor form. Very unimpressed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for having choosen the Aviano for your stay in Vienna. I'am very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do provide a lot of photos and Information regarding our entrance on all major Platforms and Websites.
Nevertheless it must not happen that you have no working fan in the room and it must not happen that a member of our house shows such a bad behaviour towards our guest . Please accept my apoligy. I will have to check who was on duty and why the situation ran out of controll.
We can only provide a late check out until 1 p.m. since we have check in again at 2 p.m. . For a later check out we need to ask for a payment, since our chambermaids stop working at 3 p.m. and the rooms can't be cleaned afterwards.
If you ever plan to stay at our house please contact me directly and I will take care that you receive a discount and a room upgrade.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Pension Aviano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found a small hotel in the heart of Neuer Market. It was wonderful. The location was outstanding, the service was very good, the room was better than expected and the morning breakfast was excellent. We could pretty much walk everywhere. So much history, museums, churches, shops, food, drink and all within walking distance. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Not sure if we'll be back but if we do, this will be were we stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thanks for have choosen the Aviano for your stay in Vienna. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service so much.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

First of all, Aviano is officially pension and should be seen that way and not as a hotel. Even the service you get is a hotel service. I stayed with my family in room 305 which accommodates 3 persons. Third bed was a bed and not opened sofa. Room was spacious and in pink and white décor so typical for Vienna. Kitschy, of course, but pleasing. It was clean and had enough drawers for us for a 4 night stay. There is also a small LCD TV with quite a number channels covering major European languages, of course most of them were in German. Bathroom was clean and kind on a small side, as obviously it was built in the room which originally did not have one. Its wall does not go all the way up to the (very high) ceiling) and ventilation was not efficient. Room itself is positioned above famous Kaertner Strasse, but you do not really see it unless you lean though the window. Opposite our room was a building under repair and slightly to the right Maltese church. Their first belles were at 8 so it did not pose disturbance. However, in those last warm days of August we were opening windows to cool down and during the night Kaertner Strasse proved to be somewhat noisy, with persons shouting late in the night or emergency vehicles rushing under the siren through it. Room itself has a ventilator but no AC, which is no wonder for such an old building and Vienna in total. Pension occupies last two floors (3rd and 4th but in reality it would be 5th and 6th with really high ceilings), so going up one should take an elevator, which is quite small. Another issue (I did not considered it as a problem) is that you take the key with you as entrance doors are being closed at 22.00 hrs and it is handy to open them yourself even reception is open 24 hours. In the corridor you even have a small library so you can help yourself with a book. Wi Fi is free and available in the room, first day we had some problems with connection but that sorted out later on. Password is available at the reception but we found a paper with it in the room as well. Pillows were too soft for my taste and matrasses could be more comfortable, but they were not affecting good sleep (unfortunately noise from the street did). Breakfast room is quite small, so is the terrace with only 4 tables to sit outside. Thus I recommend to come earlier, until 8, as it can turned to be crowded. While not many of the food is displayed, quality is excellent. 3-4 kinds of cheeses, 4-5 kinds of meet products like salami, ham, dried ham, cheese spread, butter, lovely jams in somewhat larger jars so that you help yourself in a small bowl with a long spoon, Kaiser buns and rolls and whole wheat bread, nice juices, ham and eggs and (kind of) hotdogs, some fresh fruit, plain and fruit yogurt, milk and cereals are at your disposal for self-service and you order your coffee and tea. Staff is very cordial and accommodating and you can tell it is a family run establishment, which I value highly. It has soul and I would always trade for that rather than for the fancy hot shot expensive soulless hotels. Its location is superb, right on the main pedestrian zone, some 3 minutes away from the Opera on right hand side (once you get on Kaertner Strasse) or Stephansplatz and Stephans Dome on the other side. This also means you can reach U Bahn (metro) within minutes, U1 and U 3 at Stephansplatz and U1, U2 and U4 at Karlsplatz/Opera. Plentiful of shops and malls are located around (famous Steffl and new Peek &Cloppenburg are not even 100 meters away and you can find restaurants of all price ranges very close by, from McDonalds, doner, noodle and wurstelpalces, Nordsee to champagne bars (right next to the entrance of the hotel) and fancy restaurants and clubs. If coming by car, check out the possibilities of parking it, as this may be a problem. Cars itself cannot approach the very entrance, you would have to walk 30 meters from one side or some 100 meters if car takes you to the end of Johanessgasse which is continuation of Marco d'Aviano Gasse on the other side of Kaertnerstrasse. What I like about Pension Aviano is offsetting the negative points and surely will come back again. If it is not a high tourist season or the weather is colder, there would be no late night singers and shouters on the street to disturb the sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on a side of Marco d'Aviano Gasse may be more quiet and could also have a view on Neuer Ma...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Well, what should I say ... this is really a very long review and it must have taken some time to write it.
First of all THANK YOU for the clear and true words. Yes we are a small house with a small elevator and a smaller breakfast room. As we unfortunately have no impact on constructions in our area we are mostly not informed in advance. If it gets to noisy we try to offer earplugs or a room change, but this construction is finished since 2 days.
Aviano is not a Hotel, as you pointed out. The main difference to a 4 star Hotel is that we have no entrance on street level and no Lobby. We do provide a lot of Photos and Information on our entrance to inform guest about the Situation - with a few stairs from the elevator the Lift.

We thank you again for taking the time to write a review and look forward to welcome you again.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a difficult review as the hotel is in an excellent location, the breakfast was good and the staff ecellent to. but..... I had a single room and found it to be very disappointing, nothing like the photographs when you google. It was clean but none of the decor that was advertized. The dining room was very very small not like the advertisement. It was very good for those may be in doubles my room was like a hospital room or my british boarding school room which I shared with 11 others did not appreciate that either. I would recommend that it is made very clear that the single room is not like the double rooms you see when you google then people will not be disappointed. Otherwise a great place.....

Room Tip: make sure you ask them is the room I am having like the photographs or is it very very basic
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denise1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our singlerooms (we only have 2) are appr. 12 - 14m². This might be a bit too small for some Guests. We are sorry for the bed experience on your side. Since we only have two singlerooms we offer our doublerooms at a slightly higher rate for Singleuse.
If you may wish to visit us again feel free to contact me directly and I will take care of your booking.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were encouraged to choose this pension because of the great reviews here. Frankly I expected better! The location is faultless - just moments from Graben, Spanish Riding School etc. You access the pension via the tiniest lift in the world or by climbing 7 flights of stairs. The room my daughter and I shared was good, but my son's single room was very small. Facilities were not in keeping with 4 stars: the shower gel ran out; there was no hand lotion, shower caps or other bits and bobs most 4 star places provide. The choice at breakfast was okay, but nothing special. I have had much much better in similar sized places elsewhere.
The staff were generally friendly, but our room was not serviced after our first night's stay. As we were only there for two nights, it didn't matter hugely, but again, not what you expect of 4 stars.
We adored Vienna, but I think next time I will look elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veronica-ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for having chossen the Aviano for your stay in Vienna. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the City so much and that your stay with us didn't satisfy you completely.
Nevertheless it must not happen that the rooms are not cleaned and that the housekeeping didn't provide enought shower gel and handsoap. Shower caps and lotions are not a standart offer at Aviano, since we are not a four star hotel. But we do provide shower caps, face cloth ... at the Reception if our guest are in need of those. We are sorry to hear that the singleroom of your son was to small and we would have tried to offer you another room, if we would have known.

If you may wish to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me personally ( I was on holidays during your stay) and I'll take care of your booking.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel during the winter and we really liked it. The hotel is in a great location. It is in the best part of the pedestrian area close to all major shops, restaurants and good museums. The room was good and of a decent size, the breakfast was nice and there was no noise from the outside even though you could see the main street from the window.
It was really fun to open the window one morning and had so much snow to play with on the window edge's :)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kangarooInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about Aviano. We are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderfull time in Vienna. Yes, you are correct - our location is unbeatable.

We hope to welcome you again.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This little very charming city hotel was worth every cent. We stayed in one of the larger rooms, and we were not disappointed. Very romantic place indeed. The location is also unbeatable and the staff was very friendly. All in all, we would not think twice about booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikkel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that we were able to fullfil all your expetations
So we might see you again for a romantic weekend in Vienna.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#64 of 361 in Vienna
763 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#194 of 361 in Vienna
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Address: Marco-d'Aviano-Gasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#92 Family Hotel in Vienna
#128 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £94 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Karntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing