We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely service”
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Aviano
Ranked #174 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived early a.m. and were welcomed nicely and our bags stowed. They even allowed us to use an empty room to freshen up as we were coming in off a night train. Sonia (sp?) at front desk provided a map and an orientation to our part of the city, also looked up the week's concert schedule for us. She and the owner (Mrs. Kavka) could not have been nicer throughout our 3-day stay.
There are 4-5 steps to get to the lift, which fit 2 people + luggage with no problem. Our room (412) was on the top floor, same floor as the reception desk and breakfast room. The room and bath were both a bit larger than I expected and very clean. Two twins + small round table + 2 comfy armchairs. We faced the street and heard some noise from bar patrons on the street (windows were open) but nothing major and easily covered by the fan & our "white noise" app.
Breakfast served in a pleasant room that also has a few oudoor tables on a narrow balcony. We found both quality & quantity to be just fine, esp the scrambled eggs which are not always found with a b&b breakfast in Europe.
A special thanks for 1)laundering my clothes after a minor spill at breakfast by an employee and 2)waiting for us when we forgot to take our key and were out past 10pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review and such a long one also. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service so much. We would love to welcom you again!

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Pension Aviano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is no luxury or even typical American hotel - but you are in heart of Vienna and well, Europe just does things differently. The rooms are outdated and the old carpeting and drapes are a bit drab - but it is a clean, private, secure place to stay. If you want to pay more you can find a nicer room, but if you want to find a budget place that - that is safe and not a total mess, this is a good place. The building is quite old and has that old-world charm I love. They bathrooms were basically added to a big room - def not the best bathroom, but better than a hostile bc you have your own room and private bathroom. We were surprised that the breakfast included was actually quite good!

Overall we had a good experience here - just have realist expectations. You are right in the heart of Vienna, so spend your time exploring, not in your hotel room!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our house. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and the offer of our house.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

my wife and i stayed here recently on our trip through vienna. it is in an apartment style building with several floors. the room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable and with the windows closed very quiet.
the location is perfect. 5 mins from the opera house and walking distance to about everything.
the staff was so friendly and couldn't be more helpful. the breakfast served each morning was very good as well and provided a nice start to the day.
it's not ornate and luxurious but much more than just basic.
i would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotteguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you had such a nice stay and that you enjoyed especially our offers for breakfast. Aviano is a four star Pension and therefore not so luxurious as a four star Hotel. We would love to wecome you again in the future.
Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We felt very disappointed when seeing the room. It is not like the pictures at all. The room is small, even we live in their "larger room". Everything is old, and the carpet stinks. Not much choices of the breakfast, and the supply is not enough. No air conditioner in the room, though they provide a fan, still feel hot inside. The location is good, but we can hear people having fun and talking even in the midnight. I think it is not worthy. Really not recommand!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irisken0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we are sorry to read that you didn't like your room at Aviano at all. The Carpets are getting cleaned every year during wintertime but will be on our agendy for changing.
We do have a few rooms facing the courtyard which are more quiet. It would have been good if you had choosen to talk to our Reception regarding a room change. Your room had a size of 26,10 m² and we never had any complains about the size of this room. All our rooms have different sizes, even within a categorie, due to the age of the building.
Therefore it is always recommend to speak with the Reception regarding a room change, in case you really don't like the room.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night in a superior room. Check-in was a breeze, staff very polite. Room consisted of two rooms - one with a desk and seating area and a bedroom. Room was lovely with high ceilings and chandeliers. Bed really comfortable with power sockets on both sides of table on top of nightstands. No air conditioning but the windows open, which was sufficient for us as the weather wasn't super hot. Breakfast served in a small breakfast room next to the reception. Nice selection of breads and cold cuts, with cereals and pastries. Fresh, really good coffee served to the table by a friendly and efficient server - a great start to a day. Checking out took no time at all and luggage was gladly accepted to be picked up later. The hotel has a great location with walking distance to many great cafes and sights and public transport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice and long review about our Pension. You pointed out vey clearly all the important facts and there is not much to add from our side.
Since you enjoyed your stay so much we hope to see you again.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed here for one night prior to a conference outside of Vienna. It's a great hotel -- charming old rooms with modern amenities, tasty breakfast, friendly service, central location, reasonable rates. I enjoyed my stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review, although you only stayed for one night. One night is not enough for Vienna, so we hope that you have more time during your next visit.
Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed there for a short weekend with my husband and it was a very good choice. The hotel is situated in the shopping area, which was great since we didn't have a lot of time to move around. The room was quiet and nicely decorated.
The service was very friendly and helpful and they even let us stay an extra hour on Sunday before check-out.
The breakfast was enjoyable too. They had a good selection of cereals, three types of juices, a small selection of cheese and cold meats and 1-2 hot breakfast dishes.
They don't offer pick-up service from the airport, only to the airport for around 27 euros. We used the train and metro and it was pretty ok (30-45 min) and way less expensive (but we didn't have much luggage).

Cons: I really dislike when the ventilator in the bathroom is directly connected to the light switch. It can get quite unpleasant to have the continuous buzzing noise and flow of cool air directed at your head when you are taking a relaxing shower or just preparing for an evening out.
Also, the soap dispenser was pretty hard to squeeze. Sometimes I even had to use two hands.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaMantero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about Aviano. We will check with our Management about the Ventilation in the Bathrooms. Nevertheless we hope that this was just a small minus for your stay.

Sonja Kavka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#81 of 361 in Vienna
763 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#169 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 361 in Vienna
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Nossek
Pension Nossek
#186 of 361 in Vienna
254 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Zur Wiener Staatsoper
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Address: Marco-d'Aviano-Gasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#92 Family Hotel in Vienna
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £93 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Karntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing