We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double muddle”
Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #138 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

If you and your partner tend to fall out rather alot, particularly over who is hogging the quilt, the wooden framed twin bedded, single quilted, double bed arrangement should suit you admirably.
Other than this interesting quirk and the somewhat industrial style carpets the room is perfectly pleasant. The high ceiling gives it a feeling of spaciousness, the bathroom facilities are great and the attentive staff just itching to get in every morning and tidy up after you. Some rooms at the back overlook a small courtyard which may feel a little claustraphobic to some but for a budget hotel I don't think this is unusual.
There are no tea and coffeee making facilities in the room but you will be very well fed at breakfast which is absolutely wonderful, plentiful and served with typical Austrian efficiency.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would feel less enclosed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyP775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Zipser Hotel is within walking distance of everything one wants or needs to see in Vienna.
The breakfast area is pleasant with typical European type breakfast and good coffee.
Rooms are a bit larger than most European hotels offer. Great metro system within a block of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front face the street, but if high enough, not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I chose the Zipser for a 6-night stay because I know the 8th district well and appreciate the location. What stood out on this visit was the response by staff to special requests. First I arrived two days early for a weekend in the country and they stored my luggage at the hotel for those days; when I returned, it had already been put in my room. I forgot to bring my i-phone charger and they gave me one which had been abandoned by a previous guest. Then I left my wristwatch in my room after checkout and the staff found it and returned it by mail. The level of service is extraordinarily good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Mr. Alan,

thank you very much for your very positiv review. We would be glad to welcome you
at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards from vienna

HOTEL ZIPSER
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in a twin room for 6 nights

Zipser is in an excellent location, in the charming Josefstadt district, a short walk from the MuseumsQuatier and about 2mins from the nearest U-Bahn station (Rathaus). Plenty of restaurant sand shops in the surrounding streets. The staff are friendly and welcoming. There is a generous breakfast.

Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking a courtyard. It was very quiet, we didn't hear any noise from the other residents let alone the street. The room itself was very spacious and modern, with air conditioning, a large wardrobe with safe, a tv and a minibar. Lots of little details had been considered, like having plenty of hooks to hang clothes, washbags etc. It was spotless when we arrived and was cleaned daily. The bathroom was very big, with two sinks and a large walk-in shower, a heated towel rail and a hairdryer.

We had a very comfortable stay and would highly recommend this hotel. I'd be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Our room didn't have a balcony, but was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Operafan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Enjoyed 3 nights here. Nice quiet neighbourhood. Friendly staff, room was a good size and well equipped, bathroom spacious, all very clean. Roomy balcony with table and chairs which we hadn't expected. Free internet access. Loved the breakfasts. A short walk to the underground so a good location for sight-seeing. Some nice restaurants and cafes nearby. The decor is not the most up to date but everything else was so great. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were so pleased with our 5 nights at the Zipser. Our room wasn't large, but completely modern and impeccably designed. High ceilings and windows, good counter space and storage, really good lighting. Large bathroom with 2 sinks, a great bed, free wifi, and small refrig with minibar. Our kids were next door in a slightly larger room, where the beds could be separated and the toilet was in a separate room from the shower room, great choice for non-couples. Excellent, varied breakfast buffet, great coffee. We never saw the rooms with the balconies, but we were thrilled to have opted for the air-conditioning in August. The 8th district is a wonderful mainly residential neighborhood, with 3 groceries nearby, a terrific shopping street (Josefstadter), cafe around the corner, and many good restaurants, including our favorite, Cafe Maria Treue a block away. A few blocks from the #2 tram, a metro stop, and the Rathaus, that often has fun outdoor public events.

Room Tip: I don't think all the rooms have air conditioning; this was important in August. Separate toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula_GSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We were here for one week. The hotel is not luxury, but there were all things very good or good. The hotel is near the centre of Vienna and it was fine for our everyday walks around the city. An underground (U-Bahn) stop is not far for a walk with luggages. Nearby the hotel there are three food shops. The hotel and room were pleasant, clean and quiet. The hotel staff was nice, friendly and professional. A fine family hotel. A very good experience for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#125 of 359 in Vienna
429 reviews
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#203 of 359 in Vienna
154 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#44 of 359 in Vienna
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Wieden
Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen Wien
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#153 of 359 in Vienna
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £56 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing