We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Accommodation”
Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #137 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I expected this hotel to be much nicer than it was based on the pictures online when we booked. It was certainly acceptable, though tight quarters for 3 people. I am used to youth hostels and camping, so it was no big deal for me, but I can imagine others being a tad put off. I think they might have been going through renovations when we stayed and that we got one of the older rooms. The breakfast was a whole other story! WOW! Fresh croissants with butter and strawberry preserves, great coffee and fresh juices. Lots of options of meats and cheeses, too. I found the front desk staff really patient and friendly and they helped me hone some basic German phrases which helped when I split off from my group and explored solo. The location was good, tucked into the neighborhood, yet a nice, easy walk to the Metro and near a local tram line. Bottom line, if you are a well seasoned, flexible traveler, this will be fine for you. If you want luxury, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiperAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you that you have taken your time to assess our hotel. You are right, that the reservation which you made was one of the standard rooms ( not renovated ). Please try the next time one of our Deluxe rooms. They are facing the gardenside more spacious and renovated as well.

Thank you once again for your good review, and we hope to welcome you at zipser´s once again.

with kind regards from vienna

Hotel Zipser

Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

The location of this hotel is very good with only about a 5 minute walk to a U-bahn station. There are also a number of restaurants in this quiet neighborhood as well as an upscale grocery store and a fantastic cupcake shop. The hotel room itself was very clean and perfectly adequate, although a little small and dated - although nothing was broken or in bad condition. As several reviewers have mentioned, it's definitely a noisy hotel. The hallways are not carpeted and the walls are thin, so you can hear everything. There is a grade school nearby so we woke up each morning to children's music, which was actually quite funny. My main issue with this hotel was one particular staff member who was very rude and I was actually quite shocked by his behavior. I took about 60 seconds of his time to ask about the tram schedule and he threw his hands up in the air when I asked an additional question. Needless to say I didn't ask for anymore of his assistance and just figured it out on my own. After my interaction with him, I would say that the bad outweigh the good and I would select another location in Vienna as they are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudi1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Mrs. Trudi,

Thank you, for taken your time for this review. We also thank you for your positive as well as your negative comments, because that tells us points that we definitely have to work on. The behavior of our employee was clearly inappropriate and for that we can only apologize. For the future, we will try with the help of staff training to avoid such issues. I hope you still had a good time in Vienna and were able to enjoy your stay. It would be nice to welcome you another time with us, also to be able to convince you of an improvement.

Sincerely yours
Hoterl Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very nice hotel, not so far from center of Vienna. Everything is fine for the price, but you shouldn't expect anything out of the ordinary. Listen to the manager's recomandation for Italian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratko_Vranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Mr. Ratko,

thank you for your review. We hope that you had some nice days with us, and I´m glad that the recommondation for the italien restaurant was succesful. We would be glad to welcome you at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards from vienna

Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel is not in the centre but only takes approx 20 mins to reach the Hofburg, and 5-10 mins to nearest underground station. It is in a quiet location with numerous restaurants in the surrounding streets, and 2 supermarkets, so is ideal, but beware the supermarkets do not open Sundays. There is a nice Italian round the corner, plus a Sicilian, Il Sestanti which was also very nice, plus a traditional restaurant in the same street as the hotel on the other side of the road. It is easy to reach the Rathaus, then onto the Hofburg and centre of Vienna, and the underground gives you access to the rest of the sight.

Our room was a lot smaller than we thought it would be but it wasn't cramped, was very clean and had everything we needed (except tea and offer making facilities!) - fridge, safety deposit box, large tv, hair dryer. It was very, very hot in the room so we had to leave the bathroom window open all night, but it didn't present a problem as we were on the second floor plus the window was very narrow so couldn't be entered!!

The majority of staff were very pleasant and helpful, with the exception of one who although was helpful, was quite sullen! Breakfast was fine, with a reasonable choice, including scrambled eggs and bacon, the usual cheese, ham, variety of bread and buns, yogurts, cereals, jams, fresh fruit etc...

The corridors were a bit clinical and could be noisy at times, however, it would not put us off staying again. Hotels in vienna are not as cheap as other places so at 99 euro a night, the Zipser was probably goog value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you, for taken your time for this review.
We are always working to improve our hotel and your feedback helps us so much here. We would be pleased to welcome you at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards

Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed April 8-11,2013, found the place clean, warm, friendly, and very large rooms, more like a suite, good breakfast, near the underground. Really not sure what more one could ask of a 3 star establishment. Surprised that it doesn't have 5/5.
Thank you for a great city break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Manager at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Mr. Alistair.

Thank you for making the effort to evaluate our hotel.
We are glad that you felt comfortable with us and it would be nice to welcome you some other period at zipser´s again..

with kind regards from vienna
Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed 07/04 -10/04 and enjoyed very much. Our room was very spacious, hardwood floors, large windows, airy, bright, air system worked properly and quiet. Very clean, large tv with many English channels, very good lighting, two chairs, great shower and beds very comfortable. Included minibar, was very quiet, great breakfast. Staff was very welcoming and efficient; always ready to help with any need. Great location near Rathaus and metro, several restaurants near by. Will certainly stay again next time we are in Vienna.

Room Tip: We faced the back or side on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffireOmni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Manager at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your great review! It was a pleasure to accomodate you, and we hope to welcome you some other period at zisper´s again.


with kind regards from vienna
Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed there 23/3-30/3 2013. in rat-house a quiet nigberhood 5 min from metro station u2
very clean excellent breakfast staff hotel very helpful to help your requests the room was big flat tv and clean the only think missing is a small frig and a cattel for coffe .
A lot cheap and good resturants around. solo traveller Cohen Yechezkel t-a israel

Room Tip: ask for the superior room facing the yard very quiet room with big veranda for summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chezy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Manager at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Mr. C.

we thank you once again for your great review! It was a pleasure to accomodate you, and we hope to welcome you some other period at zisper´s again.
PS: We are already thinking on to equip a part of our hotel rooms with tea / coffe facilites.

with kind regards from vienna
Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#108 of 359 in Vienna
420 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#121 of 359 in Vienna
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#115 of 359 in Vienna
315 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing