We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, made great by the balcony”
Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #137 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I spent two nights here while attending a conference in the nearby Rathaus (City Hall). The hotel is nothing fancy, just a decent, clean, middle of the road place. The room was comfortable, and very quiet (more of that later), and a decent size. The wi-fi was included free of charge and was fine for email but Skype calls were rather unreliable because the signal was a bit erratic. Breakfast was good, with a decent selection.

But the absolute high point for me was the balcony. I had a second floor room at the rear, overlooking a garden. The balcony was shared with the adjoining room, but I had no contact with the people in that room so this was not a problem. My room was slightly dark because it was overshadowed by large trees in the garden - this would have been disappointing if there had not been a balcony, but because there was it meant I could sit outside and enjoy the nature. I woke early one morning to the sound of pouring rain and spent a wonderful half an hour just sitting on one of the chairs on the balcony enjoying the view of the trees and the sound of the rain - absolutely fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden with a balcony - especially on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climate_criminal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your great review.We are glad that you felt at home with us, and we would be pleased to welcome you at zipser´s again.

with kind regards

Hotel Zipser

Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great location in central Vienna, walking distance to the ring and many tourist sites. Great staff, very helpful and accomodating. Beautiful hotel decorated to modern spec that still maintains tradtitional elements of Viennese buildings.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have air conditioning: a MUST for summer visitors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1world1chance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you for your great review.We are glad that you felt at home with us, and we would be pleased to welcome you at zipser´s again.

with kind regards

Hotel Zipser

Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed for a whole week in the Zipser hotel in a single room. I got upgraded from a standard to an executive room, which was nice of course. The rooms are clean and have all the basic necessities. The bed in my room was very good.
The hotel itself is quiet but also a bit dull. The breakfast is in the cellar with no windows. After a week I found this to be a depressing place. The breakfast I found to be so so. There is a great choice of products, but the kaiserbrotchen were chewy instead of crispy and the coffee was a bit too weak to my liking. I found the frontdesk staff to be always friendly and helpful.
Hotel Zipser is a safe choice, but not a top bargain.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank AldeCoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you, that you have taken your time for your review. We would be glad to welcome you at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards from vienna

Hotel Zipser

Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I expected this hotel to be much nicer than it was based on the pictures online when we booked. It was certainly acceptable, though tight quarters for 3 people. I am used to youth hostels and camping, so it was no big deal for me, but I can imagine others being a tad put off. I think they might have been going through renovations when we stayed and that we got one of the older rooms. The breakfast was a whole other story! WOW! Fresh croissants with butter and strawberry preserves, great coffee and fresh juices. Lots of options of meats and cheeses, too. I found the front desk staff really patient and friendly and they helped me hone some basic German phrases which helped when I split off from my group and explored solo. The location was good, tucked into the neighborhood, yet a nice, easy walk to the Metro and near a local tram line. Bottom line, if you are a well seasoned, flexible traveler, this will be fine for you. If you want luxury, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiperAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you that you have taken your time to assess our hotel. You are right, that the reservation which you made was one of the standard rooms ( not renovated ). Please try the next time one of our Deluxe rooms. They are facing the gardenside more spacious and renovated as well.

Thank you once again for your good review, and we hope to welcome you at zipser´s once again.

with kind regards from vienna

Hotel Zipser

Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The location of this hotel is very good with only about a 5 minute walk to a U-bahn station. There are also a number of restaurants in this quiet neighborhood as well as an upscale grocery store and a fantastic cupcake shop. The hotel room itself was very clean and perfectly adequate, although a little small and dated - although nothing was broken or in bad condition. As several reviewers have mentioned, it's definitely a noisy hotel. The hallways are not carpeted and the walls are thin, so you can hear everything. There is a grade school nearby so we woke up each morning to children's music, which was actually quite funny. My main issue with this hotel was one particular staff member who was very rude and I was actually quite shocked by his behavior. I took about 60 seconds of his time to ask about the tram schedule and he threw his hands up in the air when I asked an additional question. Needless to say I didn't ask for anymore of his assistance and just figured it out on my own. After my interaction with him, I would say that the bad outweigh the good and I would select another location in Vienna as they are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudi1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Mrs. Trudi,

Thank you, for taken your time for this review. We also thank you for your positive as well as your negative comments, because that tells us points that we definitely have to work on. The behavior of our employee was clearly inappropriate and for that we can only apologize. For the future, we will try with the help of staff training to avoid such issues. I hope you still had a good time in Vienna and were able to enjoy your stay. It would be nice to welcome you another time with us, also to be able to convince you of an improvement.

Sincerely yours
Hoterl Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very nice hotel, not so far from center of Vienna. Everything is fine for the price, but you shouldn't expect anything out of the ordinary. Listen to the manager's recomandation for Italian restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratko_Vranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Mr. Ratko,

thank you for your review. We hope that you had some nice days with us, and I´m glad that the recommondation for the italien restaurant was succesful. We would be glad to welcome you at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards from vienna

Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel is not in the centre but only takes approx 20 mins to reach the Hofburg, and 5-10 mins to nearest underground station. It is in a quiet location with numerous restaurants in the surrounding streets, and 2 supermarkets, so is ideal, but beware the supermarkets do not open Sundays. There is a nice Italian round the corner, plus a Sicilian, Il Sestanti which was also very nice, plus a traditional restaurant in the same street as the hotel on the other side of the road. It is easy to reach the Rathaus, then onto the Hofburg and centre of Vienna, and the underground gives you access to the rest of the sight.

Our room was a lot smaller than we thought it would be but it wasn't cramped, was very clean and had everything we needed (except tea and offer making facilities!) - fridge, safety deposit box, large tv, hair dryer. It was very, very hot in the room so we had to leave the bathroom window open all night, but it didn't present a problem as we were on the second floor plus the window was very narrow so couldn't be entered!!

The majority of staff were very pleasant and helpful, with the exception of one who although was helpful, was quite sullen! Breakfast was fine, with a reasonable choice, including scrambled eggs and bacon, the usual cheese, ham, variety of bread and buns, yogurts, cereals, jams, fresh fruit etc...

The corridors were a bit clinical and could be noisy at times, however, it would not put us off staying again. Hotels in vienna are not as cheap as other places so at 99 euro a night, the Zipser was probably goog value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llpasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelzipser, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zipser, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you, for taken your time for this review.
We are always working to improve our hotel and your feedback helps us so much here. We would be pleased to welcome you at zipser´s again and remain

with kind regards

Hotel Zipser
Bernhard Austerer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#101 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#96 of 359 in Vienna
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#67 of 359 in Vienna
508 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#121 of 359 in Vienna
303 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#122 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £65 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing