We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location average hotel”
Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #118 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location average hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Zipser in mid-Dec. 2013. I was very pleased with the location.... easy walk to the main downtown area and restaurants, shopping, tourist attractions and the awesome Christmas markets! It was also a quick short walk to a tram station for us to get to the train station. My main disappointment was in the actual room....our room was desperately in need of a remodel...walls were dirty and needed to be painted...room was very dated....it did have a nice and big balcony overlooking an outdoor courtyard but as it was very cold and wintertime we did not use it. Everything was kept very clean. I did not like that the maid "tidied up" our room..she moved our personal belongings around on top of the desk and organized things by moving our stuff around.
Breakfast room was attractive and the staff very attentive and friendly. Adequate selection of items...scrambled eggs pan was empty on our first morning there and it took a long time til it was replaced. Front desk staff was helpful if you asked for help. There were only 1 or 2 English news channel stations on the TV...very limited. I was glad for the good location but this hotel was not anything special and I felt the room was not at all like the photos on Trip Advisor. If I stayed here again I would want to know if there are any newer remodeled rooms..I would not be eager to stay here again.

Room Tip: if you stay here ask if there are any newly remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    193
    62
    9
    6
See reviews for
77
180
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and teenage daughter in a family room. Could not fault anything about it. Very clean, great location and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Great location for visiting Christmas markets and lovely restaurants in the area, also walking distance of busy shopping area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed for 4 nights and had an marvelous experience. Rooms are very open and fresh because of the high ceiling. The hotel is very clean and quiet. People are very professional and friendly. Open buffet breakfast is very satisfactory and everything is very tidy and cleanly served. Waiters are amicable and always ready for your service. one of the most important things for me is that beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Upper floors are very fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aysegul G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Great Hotel, excellent location, superb breakfast, hot dishes, cold dishes, rolls bread, in fact everyone you would want to start the day. The rooms are small but spotless and very warm, we stayed in December! Its a family run hotel now in the third generation.Very friendly staff.
Excellent location in a quiet one way street 5 minutes from the Rathaus and its UBahn station with trams at the end of the street (number 2). The best way to get around the city is to buy a 3 day Vienna card which gives you free travel on Buses, Trams, UBahn and S Bahn trains, also discount to Cafes, Restaurants and sights all for 19 EUROS, so great value.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinphudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

On our first trip to Vienna for the Christmas markets we were not disappointed by the accommodation, very close to the town hall markets and within walking distance to a number of other markets, hotel very clean and comfortable, good breakfast included in the price, the staff were excellent and very happy with our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking overlooking the garden our room had good size seating, desk and sleeping area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 109Trippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The location was very important for us becuase it is close to the Inner City and to all mods of transportation. The room was spacious enough, because we dont spend time in a hotel room when in Vienna. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast room was very pleasant, the food was good and the staff very attentive. The staff at the reception was extremely helpful and courtious and made us feel very welcome. I can recommend this Hotel and we will use it again when we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel amenities are average and its located close to the Ringstrasse. The staff was friendly specially the lady who ran the breakfast room - she was wonderful. If you need a clean and comfortable place to stay in central Vienna this hotel will fit the bill.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - the other rooms can be a little stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thuky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#65 of 360 in Vienna
397 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#71 of 360 in Vienna
474 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#105 of 360 in Vienna
389 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#104 of 360 in Vienna
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Property: Hotel Zipser
Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#122 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing