We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel with free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #104 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with free WiFi”
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We had originally booked the nearby Hotel Alpha for six nights. As we were dissatisfied with the Alpha (see separate review) during our stay, we intended to check out after three nights and move to a different hotel in the same neighborhood. This is how we found the Hotel Zipser, a few streets away from the Alpha. We were particularly looking for a hotel that offers affordable WiFi (the Alpha charges an exorbitant EUR 8.00 per hour), and the Zipser does offer free Internet access in all rooms and in the friendly, inviting lobby that also functions as a small cafe.

The only rooms available were a regular double-room and a somewhat more expensive, recently renovated "top floor" room. As the double room was tiny and looked worn, we took the top floor room. The room was bright and spacious with modern furniture, a large flat screen TV, and a huge bathroom with two sinks and lots of counter space.

Our only gripe was the faulty design of the (floor level) shower that completely overflowed into the bathroom during use. After we complained about the problem, the hotel attempted to fix it with some kind of ledge glued to the floor under the shower door, but the shower still overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank net11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    185
    62
    8
    6
See reviews for
75
176
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savignano sul Rubicone, Italy
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We've been in Zipser in June. It's quite near to the city center, 5 minutes walk from metro station and Rathaus.
We didn't like the breakfast (lacking and in a small room), and the furniture.
We appreciated the silence, the cleaness and the position.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danitravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburb of NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Pension Zipser in early November. I thought it a good value for the money. Our room was comfortable and actually about the same size as the hotel we stayed at in Prague following Vienna that was four-star. We thought the location was fine-3 minute walk to the Rathaus U-Bahn stop and walking distance to many attractions. There are several nice restaurants in the area including Der Altebackstube. The Cafe Eiles is a short walk.. The breakfast was fine, although exactly the same every day. The staff was helpful in giving us directions to the Sudbanhof upon leaving. We were barely in the room which was in the back, facing a garden and very quiet. Scaffolding in the front but didn't affect us or our stay at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel corridor
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookmama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Zipser for four nights in Sept 08. Upon arriving at the hotel we were a bit dissapointed to see all the scaffolding, with the facade still under renovation. I had read in previous reviews dated as far back as March 08 that the front of the hotel was under renovations. I guess I thought Austrian workers were more efficient and that the renovation would be finished. The reception area is inviting but I can't say as much for the staff, courteous but could be friendlier. When we went up to our room, we had the impression of being in a backpackers hostel. There is no carpet in the hall and the bare walls leave you cold.
The room was clean but outdated and dark. The beds were just ok. The lack of carpet in the hall caused increased noise. The location, not far from the Rathaus is quiet but a 20 to 25 minute walk to the happening area of Vienna, the Stephansdom Quarter.
This hotel is ok if you want a cheap hotel in a quiet location.

  • Liked — Breakfast and quiet location
  • Disliked — hostel look about it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ateva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

First, the photos are misleading. The rooms are horrible, very old looking and small. Second, The front desk service is terrible. When paying by visa upon check out, they ask if want to pay in Euro or your local currency with terrible exchange rate. When you opt to pay in Euros, they will bill in your local currency anyways, ignoring your decision.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank egc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Booked here for a one night stay for convenience (proximity to work the next day) and found decor singularly dated and unimpressive - with very old, faded, drapes hanging folornly against the window.

Welcome at reception was courteous if not over-friendly. I did not have breakfast the next morning so can not comment on that.

Despite being non-smoking the room wreaked of old tobacco...an indication of the age of the decoration and requirement for a refurb. Most striking feature was the 25 foot to the ceiling, complete with 60s lampshade. Weird. Akin to sleeping in a lift shaft. Still, be positive, in the UK they'd have stuck another room in that space by now!!!

That said, room was clean and the en-suite shower was spacious with copious hot water - most welcome.

Bed and mattress was hard...and duvet was minimal to the point of surrender. But I was tired and I've slept in worse.

For a one night stay I'd rate this as fine but I'd be a bit depressed to spend any longer here...particularly as the present renovations appeared to commence in the inner courtyard at 6:30am - nice drilling chaps!!!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Smell
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GazzaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The Hotel Zipser is really the insider's choice. It was used frequently by the American Embassy when the embassy was located on a nearby street. Yes, it is slightly--only 3 or 4 blocks away from the ring--off the main drag, but considering the overwhelming number of tourists in Vienna these days, this is a good thing, particularly in the summer. Getting places from the Zipser is VERY simple. Either walk down to the ring and jump on the Strassenbahn there or walk two blocks to either the U2 Underground station or the J Strassenbahn and you have it made. Ask them for directions at the front desk. (Be sure to buy a Strassenbahn pass for the entire time you are there--ask at Tabaks on look for the window in the Underground stations.) We, by the way, found most of the people at the front desk wonderful--the others were laid back, I would say (perhaps owing to language issues), but no one snapped at us--something that can happen in Vienna, believe me. (We've beeen there many, many times.) This hotel is spotless, well-organized, quiet, efficient, and comfortable, and the price is reasonable for Vienna.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#65 of 362 in Vienna
389 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#95 of 362 in Vienna
378 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#67 of 362 in Vienna
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#117 of 362 in Vienna
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Property: Hotel Zipser
Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#122 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing