We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not great”
Review of Hotel Zipser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zipser
Ranked #128 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tata, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK, not great”
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The hotel is in a nice part of town, not in the most touristy area (definitely a plus for me), but within easy reach of the attractions. The service was friendly. The room was ok-sized but on the first floor, which in a narrow street like this means it was rather dark. It was clean, though the furniture and the bathroom could use an update (one of the tiles in the shower was falling out). Three big minuses: 1. we asked for a non-smoking room, but what we got was stinking of cigarette smoke. 2. the extra bed is a joke - it is an armchair that opens up and is extremely uncomfortable. The three of us ended up sharing the double bed. 3. There was some construction work going on right opposite from the hotel. Although my son loved watching the big crane and all from our window, the hammering/drilling starting at 7 was not exactly what I dream of when on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiduj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    197
    62
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
185
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2010

The rooms were a bit small. Everything was clean and neat- but it was a small area. Beautiful place in walking distance to biggest attractions though!

Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank awalton2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We booked a superior double room which was spacious and well appointed. The breakfast selection was very comprehensive, although we could imagine that the breakfast room could be crowded in the busy season. The location is first rate being only a few minutes walk from the U-bahn, and the center of Vienna is quite walkable.
There are also a number of cafe/restaurants nearby.
We can confirm that all building work appears to be completed.
We felt that Reception could have adopted a more friendly attitude. .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We had originally booked the nearby Hotel Alpha for six nights. As we were dissatisfied with the Alpha (see separate review) during our stay, we intended to check out after three nights and move to a different hotel in the same neighborhood. This is how we found the Hotel Zipser, a few streets away from the Alpha. We were particularly looking for a hotel that offers affordable WiFi (the Alpha charges an exorbitant EUR 8.00 per hour), and the Zipser does offer free Internet access in all rooms and in the friendly, inviting lobby that also functions as a small cafe.

The only rooms available were a regular double-room and a somewhat more expensive, recently renovated "top floor" room. As the double room was tiny and looked worn, we took the top floor room. The room was bright and spacious with modern furniture, a large flat screen TV, and a huge bathroom with two sinks and lots of counter space.

Our only gripe was the faulty design of the (floor level) shower that completely overflowed into the bathroom during use. After we complained about the problem, the hotel attempted to fix it with some kind of ledge glued to the floor under the shower door, but the shower still overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank net11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savignano sul Rubicone, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We've been in Zipser in June. It's quite near to the city center, 5 minutes walk from metro station and Rathaus.
We didn't like the breakfast (lacking and in a small room), and the furniture.
We appreciated the silence, the cleaness and the position.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danitravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburb of NYC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Pension Zipser in early November. I thought it a good value for the money. Our room was comfortable and actually about the same size as the hotel we stayed at in Prague following Vienna that was four-star. We thought the location was fine-3 minute walk to the Rathaus U-Bahn stop and walking distance to many attractions. There are several nice restaurants in the area including Der Altebackstube. The Cafe Eiles is a short walk.. The breakfast was fine, although exactly the same every day. The staff was helpful in giving us directions to the Sudbanhof upon leaving. We were barely in the room which was in the back, facing a garden and very quiet. Scaffolding in the front but didn't affect us or our stay at all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel corridor
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookmama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Zipser for four nights in Sept 08. Upon arriving at the hotel we were a bit dissapointed to see all the scaffolding, with the facade still under renovation. I had read in previous reviews dated as far back as March 08 that the front of the hotel was under renovations. I guess I thought Austrian workers were more efficient and that the renovation would be finished. The reception area is inviting but I can't say as much for the staff, courteous but could be friendlier. When we went up to our room, we had the impression of being in a backpackers hostel. There is no carpet in the hall and the bare walls leave you cold.
The room was clean but outdated and dark. The beds were just ok. The lack of carpet in the hall caused increased noise. The location, not far from the Rathaus is quiet but a 20 to 25 minute walk to the happening area of Vienna, the Stephansdom Quarter.
This hotel is ok if you want a cheap hotel in a quiet location.

  • Liked — Breakfast and quiet location
  • Disliked — hostel look about it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ateva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#91 of 361 in Vienna
407 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#74 of 361 in Vienna
490 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#95 of 361 in Vienna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#111 of 361 in Vienna
297 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zipser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zipser

Property: Hotel Zipser
Address: Lange Gasse 49, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Business Hotel in Vienna
#122 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zipser 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in central locationTradition and Viennese hospitality embody the flair of the Jugendstil Hotel in the centre of Vienna. The hotel in Vienna, a family-run business, captivates with its central location and is the ideal starting point for tourists as well as business travellers to enjoy Vienna in all its beauty and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zipser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zipser Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing