We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Levante Laudon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Levante Laudon
Ranked #56 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Cupertino
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived very late and the door was locked. Thankfully, a man was waiting in front of it and gave us our keys. We had trouble finding the elevator, because there was a door which you had to pull and then get inside. The elevator itself could only fit three people and it smelled musty.

The floor was really dirty and we had to tiptoe to avoid getting our feet dirty, and the bathtub was really small. However, there was a kitchen, so the next day we went to a nearby supermarket and got some food to save meal expenses. We got switched to a much better room which had a clean floor and lots of space.

The location is not so good. There are only a few so-so restaraunts close to it, and you almost have to take the tram to everywhere. We had to take the tram almost every day for we were going to the Opera house, and we were late once because of the tram stops.

Overall, I sincerely recommend this hotel for tourists who are staying for a week or more.

Room Tip: You must push the receptionists a lot in order to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    94
    51
    30
    23
See reviews for
79
92
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed four nights. Its a short walk to Rathaus U-Bahn station. Our room was nice and spacious - the only complaint, the floor had a bit of grit and dust on it. Apart from that everything else was pretty clean. While cleaning of dishes is not provided, our towels were changed daily, rubbish emptied and bed made. The kitchen area was modern and small, but expected in an apartment this size. It was lovely to have 3 sets of windows that opened out onto the street below. Certainly value for money. The bedroom also has a safe in it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen290111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend as part of a tour of Austria and this was my favourite of the places we stayed. It is in a central location near to the Rathaus and is a short walk from the U-bahn station Rathaus. Check in was simple, though be aware the check in is until 6pm so if you arrive later you have to contact them before.

I was really impressed with our room and could not believe it was such a bargain. The kitchen was adequate to cook a couple of meals and have breakfast, and the room was really trendy and modern. There could have been more attention to detail for cleaning but I did not care as this was a bargain, and the bedroom had a safe in it. Although the room is not cleaned daily (I never see why this is necessary anyway) our rubbish bin was emptied and I think our towels were changed. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nockie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

First of all it is very difficult to provide an overall rating of this establishment as some elements were awful and others were quite good.

We arrived (due to heavy delays) after 6pm which is when the reception closes and were told to call the sister establishment to get our keys for the apartment. After we called they said it would take 5 minutes but we ended up waiting in the cold for over an hour to get into the building as well as having to call multiple times to get them to even come. This left a pretty poor impression especially on tired travellers, however the room we had was clean and as expected. The bathroom smelled a little funny, the kitchen was very small and some of the dishes were still dirty and the shower was broken. On the flipside the bed was delightful, the water pressure was amazing and the apartment came with a dishwasher, tv and reliable free WiFi.

Once the reception was open, they were extremely helpful and provided us with a hairdryer, city map and directions.

Overall we felt well rested and happy after the initial troubles, but this establishment is not exactly the best place to stay in Vienna especially if you could spare some money for a better rated place to stay. For the money we paid however we did have a good trip, and it was okay. Would not recommend.

Quick bullet point list to consider:

- Don't arrive after 6pm
- Don't expect a large and well equipped kitchen
- Don't expect kitchen trash to be emptied or kitchen to be cleaned
- Don't expect a large and modern apartment

- Do save money
- Do have helpful reception
- Do sleep well in a comfortable bed

Room Tip: IF stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor apartment as the lift is extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggayFroggay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

It looks nice from the outside, reception is nice and the lady at reception was nice; then it all went down hill!! We were in Vienna to bring in the new year with a couple friends and thought we'd be better off and happier in an apartment. We couldn't find a 2 bed apartment at the time of searching so chose Levant and requested adjacent rooms - they ended up giving us rooms on different floors. They said we should carry on with our day and when we come back in a couple hours they will find us two adjacent rooms. Not the case! An hour after returning from our walk following a fair few discussions with the manager on the phone at the sister hotel, they found us what we had booked.

Be prepared if you stay here, the rooms are not maintained! They are in need of updating. The bathrooms had mould encrusted on them (- to which the manager said "it is clean"!); the kitchen was far from equipped, we had one saucepan to cook! Luckily there were crockery and cutlery. The cupboard were shabby and desperate to see the scrap heap!

I agree with the review that cleaning isn't up to scratch; our friends room had stains on the sofa-bed (scares me to think what they might have been), worse still they had failed to empty the kitchen bin!! I think I should feel happy that I at least got a mould filled kettle - which they thankfully did replace.

Given that there was an electricity outage two nights in a row on our floor - perhaps the electrics need updating too!

Customer service is poor and the manager was of little use. While we can accept his hands are tied on what would be a busy period he could have been a lot more accommodating. Compensation - breakfast in the sister hotel. While a nice gesture, not real compensation given how much you will pay to stay. Then dinner is requested and offered only to be snatched back because they won't be open!!

For cleanliness and room quality this place is a joke! Give it a miss!! You will get exactly the same for cheaper in a hostel!! At least you will get exactly what you paid for and it'll meet expectations!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Recently spent a week at the Laudon. Excellent service provided by Benedict. We (family of 4) had adjacent rooms that opened onto the courtyard. The location is very convenient and within walking distance to many restaurants and small grocery stores. I agree with a previous review that the USW next door is great for pizza and beer. Close to the trams and subway. The small kitchen is great for breakfast or warming up leftovers from dinner. Don't hesitate to ask for a hair dryer or a room fan. The accommodations are not elegant but everything was clean and in working order. We had no problem with the wi-fi. We feel as though this hotel provided us with an appropriate experience in Wien. If you want luxury, hustle and bustle or to watch a lot of TV, select a different hotel. If you want a good location in an actual neighborhood, and quiet, basic accommodations this hotel is for you! Benedict will ensure that your stay is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have the bedroom on the "second floor" and the bathroom on the "fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

Nice rooms and setup in a good location. Let down by dour, unpleasant staff, poor cleaning standards and undrinkable coffee.

An establishment that aims for "average" and delivers. Shame, because it could be amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slowmgLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#137 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
Hotel-Pension Baronesse
#210 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#91 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#166 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
STANYS Das Apartmenthotel
#11 of 201 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Josefstadt
Josefstadt Appartements
Josefstadt Appartements
#63 of 201 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levante Laudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levante Laudon

Property: The Levante Laudon
Address: Laudongasse 8, Vienna 1080, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Levante Laudon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you interested in an extended stay in Vienna or would you just like to enjoy the comfort of an exclusive apartment house in Vienna for a day or two? Either way, the Levante Laudon will be ideal! Our apartment house is located in the centre of Vienna in a wonderful Biedermeier building with a picturesque inner courtyard. It's only a few minutes walk to the Vienna City Hall (Rathaus), Parliament and all the famous sights of the city centre. The Levante Laudon offers two types of Apartment accommodation in Vienna city center. Our apartment house has apartments in two categories, each with two rooms. Because it is located centrally in Vienna it's also perfect as extended-stay accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Levante Laudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing