We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and welcoming atmosphere just makes it a 'very good'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pension Museum
Ranked #224 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
London
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Personal and welcoming atmosphere just makes it a 'very good'”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Accommodation during the week in Vienna is not surprisingly expensive, so at first sight the HP Museum seems rather basic for the price: the rooms, though impressively high-ceilinged, are almost spartan - with incredibly hard beds. And the outside appearance leaves a lot to be desired - as at September 2012 still a building site. It's essential to note in trying to find it that it's not on the main drag of Museumstrasse, but on an offshoot that runs BEHIND the Volkstheater building. But once you're up the bleak staircase, there's a very warm welcome, superb breakfast in an elegant room, a comfortable lounge to relax in - and you're at the very heart of this city, made for enjoyable exploration on foot or public transport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    59
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
37
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

We got a good deal on booking.com and took a chance. There is construction but ask for a room on the other side. The location is right next to the Volkstheather subway stop and within walking distance to all the main sights. Perfect location. The rooms are huge compared to other rooms in Europe. The beds are hard as a rock. I thought we were sleepy on a box spring at first. Hotel staff was very helpful. The door to the place looks suspect along with the lift ride up but once your in it's all good.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NJOYNC2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I am here now and the hotel is near perfect. It's too bad there is construction going on and I am writing this review at 4:30am because I can't sleep due to the noise. So before you book find out if construction outside is complete

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arunk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is a great find. Right in the heard to Vienna's museums district around the corner from Spittelberg...simply perfect for a weekend away. The rooms are a good size, quiet, clean, comfortable beds and have a good bathroom. I loved the high ceiling and the wooden floor (and the art work!). We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank criparius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This small and cozy hotel provides probably the best location in the city for exploring historical Vienna (the old city inside the walls) on foot, as well as government buildings, the Volkstheater, the Museumsquartier cultural area, the Museum of Fine Arts and the Museum of Natural History. Ideal for those who dislike noise. Better bring a map of the area with you on your arrival, as Museumstraße is a small road and it may be difficult to trace it, especially in the evening hours. You should also contact the hotel in case of arrival outside reception hours, so that they open the outside door of the building (opens with a code). Nice breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 405Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The pension is conveniently located right next to an underground station, the Museum Quarter and Kunsthistorisches Museum. The historical center is quite a walk away though (about 15 minutes to Stephansdom), but you can always take the undergound back if tired. The pension takes up two floors in one entrance of a large historical building, most other space seems to be taken up by offices. An adjacent building sharing an inner court with the one the hotel is in is under heavy and noisy reconstruction right now, so make sure you don't get a court-facing room until the works are finished. We didn't have any noise-related problems in our street corner-facing room #34. The construction equipment parked in the street also makes the hotel sign invisible from a passing car, so don't look for it from the taxi, just make sure you're brought to the right street address. The hotel entrance is next door to the left to the movie theater, no need to go into the courtyard.
We asked for and were given the room 34 - probably the best room in the hotel. It is quite high up (Viennese 3rd floor is Russian 5th), boasts great views from its both windows and was very quiet - even occasional police and ambulance sirens in the street sounded subdued enough not to interfere with the night's sleep. The room is huge (the largest we have ever had anywhere in decades of traveling) and even with a lot of furniture (relatively new, Oriental style, seems like all rooms are firnished in different styles) it seemed a bit empty because of its sheer size and simple white-washed walls. According to the evacuation plan in the room other rooms are not much smaller. The bed (real double, not two singles put together) was unusually high and very hard, but turned out to be very comfortable to sleep. The en-suite bathroom (carved out of the room space making it funny shape) was not huge but quite comfortable. Because of the building being old and not completely taken over by the hotel, they have to use waste pumps to evacuate waste from en-suite bathrooms, so be careful not to throw anything but toilet paper to the toilet bowl. The pump-based system also leads to the water very slowly draining from the shower, but it does drain eventually, no floods.
It was a little bit too cold to our taste in the room when we arrived, but upping the thermostats on the radiators just a bit did the trick to make it absolutely comfortable.
Very fast and reliable Wi-Fi in the room. The breakfasts were very good, but no hot dishes.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the range of 31-34, 34 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I arrived in this hostel past 8 p.m. and was welcomed by the owner for check in. I received such warm attention from the hotel staff throughout my stay. I was likewise upgraded the following night. Room 34 on the 3rd floor has one huge window with a view of the Volkstheater, the other side a huge glass door leading to a balcony. As with other accommodations in Vienna, there is no airconditioning but opening the windows let the cool air in. Heater was available but as it was summer I had no need to use it.

The hotel is very clean, the beds comfortable, lights are soft. Telephone is available, as were other toiletries in the bath. There was a slight problem with the drain which I had been warned of. I suppose they are remedying it. The door lock is quite rustic - would have been preferable if it were card entry but the lock was a bolt. Good enough I suppose.

Breakfast is very good. There is a good variety of bread, cheese and cold cuts plus cereals and fruits - milk and yogurt. Coffee is nespresso with a lot of variety and as much variety of teas.

You will be given a key which opens the front door so you can come in whatever time at night. If you stay at the 3rd floor, you would need to knock to get into the 1st floor where the breakfast room is. I also liked that the TV even had CNN and BBC as well as many other channels.

Best part of the hotel is its location. It is behind Volkstheater so it is also walking distance to the Rathaus, Burg Theater, Museums Quartier, Mariatheresiplatz, the Hofbug, Volksgarten. The U-Bahn is just outside the door! Also very near are the tram stops. I walked back at night from the Inner Stadt with no problem at all.

Very fast wi-fi is also free.

This hotel is very much recommended - quiet enough but near enough to the best sights of Vienna.

Room Tip: Room 34 has great views and is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tan_del_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#226 of 360 in Vienna
154 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#67 of 360 in Vienna
478 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#103 of 360 in Vienna
402 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 360 in Vienna
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Museum

Property: Hotel Pension Museum
Address: Museumstrasse 3, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing