We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal startingpoint to make Vienna by walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pension Museum
Ranked #229 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ideal startingpoint to make Vienna by walking”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is located right behind the "Museum Quartier" and is spread over 2 flats in 2 different floors (1 + 2) in an old (~1880) house. The room we had was large with high ceiling and had a modern bathroom (shower only). Breakfast (buffet) was good with plenty of fresh food.
Only parking is a problem and should be organized with the host in advance.
Two stations of Vienna’s Sub are within a 3 minutes’ walk. Walking to the Center of Vienna (first district) takes no longer than 5 minutes.
Atmosphere of the hotel is familiar and cozy.
For our next stay in Vienna we will chose this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    57
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
35
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I can only recommend this little hotel:
- Location: Great area, full of nice galleries, bars, restaurants, frequented by locals, unlike the tourist venues in Stephansplatz (which is only a couple of metro stations away). The hotel is in a quiet side street, only 100 meters far from the metro.
- Rooms: Spacious rooms with high ceilings
- Service: Excellent service by the manager, who will do his best to please you.
- Breakfast: Decent breakfast, with nice assortments. My tip: Enjoy your coffee in the lounge area adjacent to the breakfast room!

Nikos, Greece

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I arrived early -- way early -- and the staff kindly allowed me to have breakfast and prepared my room as soon as the previous guest left. Excellent value for the money, although the room was a bit noisy early in the morning since it shared a wall with the small kitchen. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

On first arriving at this hotel, I must admit I was a bit disconcerted. It is located inside what appears to be a residential/office building, so you have to find the hotel name on the buzzer and ring the bell to be let in. Then you walk up a flight of stairs to the ground floor, where there is (thankfully!) a small elevator up to the hotel. The hotel reception is on the second floor, but it is really too far to walk with a heavy suitcase. The desk clerk was friendly, and gave me a free map on which she pointed out many useful sightseeing tips. My room was directly across from the manager's office. It had a double door, although only the inside door locked with a single, old-fashioned skeleton key. The reception is closed with no one on staff from 10 pm until the morning. There was a working phone and TV in the room, a comfortable bed, and a large airy window. The bathroom had a shower, wc and sink, all clean and working fine. The breakfast was quite nice, European-style with sliced meats and cheeses kept under a plastic cover, a choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit, and breads, as well as coffee, tea, and a selection of juices. The breakfast room is cosy with a large airy window and small cloth-covered tables, although the choice of artwork is a bit odd (and much of the art hanging on the walls in this hotel appears to be homemade by an amateur, although that is a very minor criticism). The hotel provides hot coffee throughout the day for guests, and there is a vending machine to purchase soft drinks and bottled water for a small fee. The hotel was able to provide an iron and ironing board, which was very helpful, and also had a small laundry room located on the same floor as the room (and reception), where I was able to do my laundry for free (although I had to purchase my own laundry detergent, at the SPAR grocery store around the corner). The hotel has a comfortable lobby with chairs, couches, and an assortment of magazines to read. The location couldn't be better, directly across the street from the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Naturhistorisches Museum, and Volkstheater, and only 1 block from the U-bahn and 2 blocks away from the #1 and #2 tram lines, from which you can go practically everywhere in Vienna. There are quite a few lovely restaurants with outdoor seating in summer around the corner from the hotel, if you walk about 2 or 3 blocks up the Burggasse (in the direction away from the U-bahn station) and then turn left onto most of the little side-streets. A good one is "Boheme", which is affordably priced and serves good Viennese-style food. I was in Vienna for a business trip, and found the Hotel Pension Museum very convenient. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaBlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great find! Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Great location. Bed quite hard! Would recommend this Pension. Has a very nice ambience once inside the actual Pension. Entrance is a little cold on entering the building, but warm and welcoming once inside the actual Pension. Good lift. Very good eating in the nearby area.

Room Tip: Do not take single room on 3rd floor. Bed is more the size of a Day-bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Hotel Pension Museum was a terrific find in an otherwise expensive city. We managed to get a great rate of 99E for a room and were a bit skeptical as to what we would find. The room was huge ...with a very comfortable king size bed, a sofabed, desk, table, armoires and easy chair. The furniture was perhaps a bit dated but still very serviceable We were on the 3rd floor with a tiny balcony that bordered the room. It afforded us nice views over the Volkstheater. The room was bright and airy. The bathroom although small was modern with a good shower. Internet access is free. The location was extremely quiet.

The room had one large painting on the wall however with so much wallspace, it could have used a couple more! The spaciousness of the lodgings was remarkable. The herringbone pattern hardwood floors were beautiful.

The hotel has a big breakfast room on the first floor where a continental buffet breakfast is served..

The location is hard to beat! It is tucked just behind the Volkstheater off Museumstrasse. It is across the street from the U3 subway which connects to the airport train. The Museumquarter with the Leopold and Modern Art Museum is across the street and across from those are the National Museum of Art and the National Museum of Natural History. The Hofsburg Palace is 5 minutes further away.

All in all, Pension Museum provides great value and great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel-till-I-drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights when away on business. Took an age to find it as it is on a very short street and in an unassuming double door immediately next to the entrance to the underground car park of the Hotel Sans Souci opposite the Volkstheater. There are stencilled letters on the front door but no clear visible sign so be aware. You have to go up to the 1st floor to check in as some of the other floors are for small businesses and there is no typical foyer. I had a room at the back as requested to be away from the trams. The room was large, with also a spacious bathroom. Free Wi-Fi which had an acceptable speed. The breakfast is of an excellent quality, with a view out onto the Volkstheater which is great to see first thing in the morning. Price was 80 euro a night and trumps the generic chains hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if you more concerned with sleep quality than a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#228 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#145 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#62 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Museum

Property: Hotel Pension Museum
Address: Museumstrasse 3, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pension Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing