We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, go for the big room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pension Museum
Ranked #243 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is like staying in a real mittel-Europa apartment building, and if you get the big double room on the third floor as I did you'll get an enormous room with french window doors onto a small balcony overlooking the Volkstheater and MuseumsQuartier, with parquet flooring and high ceilings. Right next to U-bahn (useful) and S-Bahn (one right beside hotel not that useful), and a five minute walk to the Ring and also 5mins to a lot of the major museums (Art History, Natural History, MUMOK etc). Breakfast delicious and typically Austrian: cold cuts, cheese, bread, pastries and free tea and coffee all the time. Good value stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitsi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend in mid August 2010 (not 13, but the drop down menu for dates is not working for me right now). The hotel had a nice character and lovely rooftop views from our balcony! Our room was way too spacious which we loved because all other hotel rooms we have visited were very congested and small. We had a small balcony which was so romantic and it helped get fresh air in the room. August was hot during the day but pretty chilly at night. Buffet Breakfast that was included in price was very nice!

The staff was very friendly and helpful - they also told us for a few interesting spots and the best schnitzel restaurant in town which was indeed a must visit - The Figmuller! Around the hotel there were few nice restaurants and we even spotted an Indian one ;).Very close to the metro station which we used to get to the train station since we were travelling in Europe by train!

Few sightseeings very close by was the maria theresa sq., Hofburg Imperial Palace (where we also saw a fantastic opera show with reasonable tickets), Austrian parliament, Rethaus, Stephen's cathedral, volkstheater, michaelerplatz (where figmuller restaurant is - this whole area is filled with restaurants and bars, amazing place to hang out and watch street artists performing) etc.

Would highly recommend and definitely go back to this hotel if visiting Vienna again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Poor communication between helpers and the owner. I stated right at check in that the bed was very hard. I finally met the owner five days later and he said that he would change the bed for a softer bed; but that didn't happen for the last two nights of my stay.

Pros: great location and great breakfast. Great view from my balcony

Cons: No reading lamps, frustration with using two different keys on three doors for entrance, Owner didn't seem to care about my welfare.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Cosy place, close to everything. Nice spacious room with high ceiling. It was a little noisy because of next building's renovation but bearable.
Metro and tram are a few step and you can reach the Ring by foot too.
We liked the familiar atmosphere. Breakfast was good.
Next time we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were lucky enough to get a very good rate for this excellent little hotel. The location is perfect, literally opposite of the Volksoper and right around the corner of the Museum of Natural History and some other of Vienna's best museums.

The ambience is very nice, the hotel is located in two floors of a historic Vienna apartment building, creating the atmosphere of lodging in a noble family residence. The breakfast, which was included in our rate, is also a plus. We will definitely come back when visiting Vienna again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaVo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel is located right behind the "Museum Quartier" and is spread over 2 flats in 2 different floors (1 + 2) in an old (~1880) house. The room we had was large with high ceiling and had a modern bathroom (shower only). Breakfast (buffet) was good with plenty of fresh food.
Only parking is a problem and should be organized with the host in advance.
Two stations of Vienna’s Sub are within a 3 minutes’ walk. Walking to the Center of Vienna (first district) takes no longer than 5 minutes.
Atmosphere of the hotel is familiar and cozy.
For our next stay in Vienna we will chose this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I can only recommend this little hotel:
- Location: Great area, full of nice galleries, bars, restaurants, frequented by locals, unlike the tourist venues in Stephansplatz (which is only a couple of metro stations away). The hotel is in a quiet side street, only 100 meters far from the metro.
- Rooms: Spacious rooms with high ceilings
- Service: Excellent service by the manager, who will do his best to please you.
- Breakfast: Decent breakfast, with nice assortments. My tip: Enjoy your coffee in the lounge area adjacent to the breakfast room!

Nikos, Greece

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#99 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Inner City
Pension Residenz
Pension Residenz
#224 of 359 in Vienna
158 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#231 of 359 in Vienna
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Museum

Address: Museumstrasse 3, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £81 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Pension Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing