We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location”
Review of Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Anna
Ranked #78 of 115 Vienna B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super location”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Super location. Just next to Mariahilferstr.
If you need a basic/clean room, just for a few night, without any additional requirements this is the right place. Parking place also possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
13
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I spent 1 night in this hotel with my family (including 2 kids) in 2nd week of Nov'11. I wanted a family room accommodating four of us and we needed it to be near Vienna Westbahnhof railway station as required by our tight schedule. From that point of view I found the hotel OK. It's located not very far off from Westbahnhof and very close to a metro station. Hence, any part of the city can be reached very quickly using the metro. Lot of eateries and supermarkets are available within a minutes walk. The room was also neat and clean. Few things one should know beforehand that the hotel is located at 1st floor and without any lift (I was told that the lift is under construction), so if you're travelling with lots of luggage, think twice. Reception desk is not operating round the clock (though you'll be given an emergency contact no). Very limited breakfast menu, not at all adequate in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADTravelerUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Well positioned family hotel situated in a side street just off the Mariahilfestrasse. It is very simple, but clean and fair value for the price. The rooms are basic, but very clean and the bathrooms have been modernised. The rooms on the Zieglergasse are rather noisy. If you are too sensitive to noise, ask for a room in the back side, but avoid the ones directly positioned on the back-yard parking place.
The breakfast buffet is generous with a large variety of food, also including fresh fruit salad. The breakfast room has a friendly atmosphere. The concierge is opened only from 7:00 to 21:00, but the personnel is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank recalmier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed two nights before touring eastern europe and one night on the return, different rooms, both times during the week about three weeks apart. Once learning the metro/tram system Pension Anna is not hard to find and easy to get to the city center. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, service good. Both rooms were located on the street side not courtyard side. Some street noise could be heard but with a room fan providing "white noise" we didn't notice it.. Lobby has a well stock refrigerator with a variety of refreshments for resonable prices. The owner/staff are very friendly and will accomodate requests for example while confirming our flight we found out the phone number had changed so staff made called and got the correct phone number, made the call and confirmed our flight. Pension Anna has internet but we were not able to connect to our laptop which has wireless, however, the owner tried and even called their computer person in to find out why it wasn't connecting. Price is very reasonable for Vienna and it sells out quickly. On our next visit to Vienna we will stay at the Pension Anna.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Pension Anna was overall a resonable choice in Vienna.
A few things to be aware of:
1. Middle Eastern Restaurant on First Floor - food was good. If you are in a room above the restaurant be advised they live music Fri / Sat nights until about 11:30 or midnight. If you are out and about at these times it won't bother you, but if you are expecting to sleep prior to midnite you might not be able to.
2. Rooms are generally good. Decor is a bit dated. A fresh coat of paint here and there wouldn't hurt, but in general the condition is OK to good. Nice closet to store things in.
3. Bathroom - everything worked fine, plenty of hot water, liquid soap / shampoo was provided.
4. Breakfast - typical pension. No hot food, but decent selection of other items.
5. Parking - available but please inquire before you arrive.
6. Laundrymat is within walking distance (waschsalon).
7/ Wireless internet was free and worked well in my room. My room was almost the furthest away from the transmitter and signal was fine.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank rudy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This pension tries very hard.

It is very clean. Staff is very helpful. The location is outside the main sights, but it makes up for that with a lower price than you would pay for a more central location. It is just a quick, barely two minute walk to the nearest U-bahn station and it is very, very convenient to take the U-bahn to all the sights. It is only 2 blocks from the one of main train stations, and a block from a big shopping street (that is like a shopping mall, which was not appealing to me but others may like that). A nice grocery store and the post office just a couple doors away, as well as several restaurants and a nice bakery.

My room was over the courtyard, which is actually a parking area. It was a little noisy with children noise during the day, and people coming and going at night. I also could hear noises from the bathroom, but not the room, next door - the toilet flushing and sink/shower running. I could also hear upstairs noise. Neither were that bothersome, especially for the price, the extremely helpful staff and the good location. Internet was very iffy in my room, so I would bring my computer to the dining room. Breakfast was adequate, fine for the price.

All in all, I would recommend staying here for the value, the service and the location.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Zolawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Pension Anna is a great bed & breakfast 5 minutes via UBahn to the heart of Vienna. Located on a safe, quiet street, it's a 5 minute walk to UBahn station and 15 min. walk to Westbahnhof train station. It's around the corner from the major shopping area. Excellent location.

Front desk was very helpful and accommodating. We were able to get into our room prior to check-in time. We left in the middle of our stay to go to Salzburg (and returned). It was no problem. Pension Anna allowed us pack up our luggage and leave it in our room. We also were able to keep our room key because we were coming back late (we were given the same room on our return). When we came back, our luggage was safely locked in the office which was retrieved immediately.

Breakfast consisted of typical European fare. A good variety and plenty of food. The rooms were ample in size and clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathrooms are small by American standards but adequate.

People need to understand what a Pension is and not compare it to an American 5 star hotel. Pensions are low key and charming. I don't need a plush hotel - I'd rather spend my time and $$ outside the hotel room! Vienna can be an expensive city and Pension Anna helped make my vacation affordable.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Nutttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#43 of 361 in Vienna
401 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Pension Arian
Hotel Pension Arian
#44 of 115 in Vienna
66 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
Hotel-Pension Lehrerhaus
#22 of 115 in Vienna
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Anna

Property: Pension Anna
Address: Zieglergasse 18/1, Vienna 1070, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing